Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, I quite liked it!
This is an extreme film, and a glance at the many reviews on here will demonstrate that it provokes extreme reactions. All these people comparing 'Baise-Moi' to 'Thelma and Louise' and finding it wanting by comparison are missing the point. 'Baise-Moi' has much more in common with films like 'Natural Born Killers' and Rafal Sielinski's 'Fun', and viewers who won't enjoy...
Published on 23 Sep 2005 by Swarfinger

versus
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking
"Baise-Moi" is all about testing the boundaries of what is acceptable in mainstream (ie. non-porn) cinema . It sets out quite deliberately to shock and disgust the viewer and break as many on screen taboos as possible. It certainly achieves that and at times it has more resemblance to a hard core porn movie, featuring as it does, real, unsimulated sex scenes. Combined...
Published on 16 Jan 2006 by L. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 16 Jan 2006
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
"Baise-Moi" is all about testing the boundaries of what is acceptable in mainstream (ie. non-porn) cinema . It sets out quite deliberately to shock and disgust the viewer and break as many on screen taboos as possible. It certainly achieves that and at times it has more resemblance to a hard core porn movie, featuring as it does, real, unsimulated sex scenes. Combined with a bloody killing spree unleashed by the two female protagonists , "Baise-Moi" is a film to be approached with caution by the potential viewer. It is not an ideal date film for example. Apart from trying to shock it's audience , I'm not convinced that "Baise-Moi" has anything particularly profound to convey, other than that it is understandable that some prostitutes might like to torture and murder their pick-ups. It is certainly a film that rabidly feminist men haters would enjoy. However I had mixed feelings about it; I did like the way the film went OTT in it's attempt to stretch the boundaries of acceptability, and the two female leads were particularly attractive, but for me "Baise-Moi" relied too much on gratuitous sex and extreme violence and not enough on plot and character development for it to be as enjoyable a viewing experience as ,say, "Irreversible" or "A Ma Soeur" with which it has certain similarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking and even titillating, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Baise-Moi [VHS] [2000] (VHS Tape)
The box doesn't actually let you in for what's inside. Nowhere does it sayon my copy that the film contains extremely graphic sex or violence, so bewarned, it contains both of those in very large quantities. The violenceis actually not that shocking since it is done quite 'cheaply' and is nottoo convincing [my copy doesn't include the gun up the bum scene] but thesex is an eye opener because you can see that it's real. There wereobviously ejaculations in the original movie because my copy just showsthe aftermath but the message of the movie was essentially that the womenare in control, which is why they choose to have loving sex with some guysand to kick the heads in of others. One of the characters is intomasturbation, she likes watching porn movies and in one scene she doesn'thave sex with a guy but gets off by watching him get off. This is indeedrole/gender reversal and the comment is made by one woman to the pornmovie watcher 'It would be okay if you were a guy'. Point taken. I don'tthink this film is crap at all, I think it's very daring and I do find thesex bits quite titillating if I'm honest. And it can't be compared to pornbecause the sex is included in a 'real' movie so it absolutely surprisesyou, whereas in a porn movie there either isn't a plot or you can spitthrough it. Either way, you're waiting for the next sex scene and in thisfilm there isn't any graphic lingering over the actual penetration likethere is in porn movies. In fact, the most lingering we see is in the oralsex scenes which these women who humiliate and kill for fun are stillhappy to perform, proving that it is the women who are in control at suchmoments, not the men. Yes, the quality isn't brilliant but that all addsto the film's character. I think if I had just turned 18 and discoveredthis, it could easily have become one of my favourite cult movies of alltime. But since I'm in my 40s, I'll just say that it was definitely worthwatching the four times I've seen it and I will watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, I quite liked it!, 23 Sep 2005
By 
Swarfinger (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
This is an extreme film, and a glance at the many reviews on here will demonstrate that it provokes extreme reactions. All these people comparing 'Baise-Moi' to 'Thelma and Louise' and finding it wanting by comparison are missing the point. 'Baise-Moi' has much more in common with films like 'Natural Born Killers' and Rafal Sielinski's 'Fun', and viewers who won't enjoy the nasty music, nasty violence and nasty sex should stick to safe, predictable Hollywood production-line films. 'Baise-Moi' is a crude but exhilarating walk on the wild side which definitely won't be to most people's taste, and that's fine. For those with stronger stomachs, this will be a cult film to watch repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uk Version Is Cut, 7 April 2009
By 
Mr. A. Clement "alzmail" (Milton Keynes/UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this film..

Yeah it's a little bit extreme for some folks and the plot does tend to wonder a bit,but i really liked it

I didn't want to put up a whole review as there are plenty of versions out there but if you really liked this..pick up the french version.

This u.k version has been cut,and the french onehas little extra bits like the gun actually being inserted in the guy before they pull the trigger.

I prefere uncut stuff so if you wanna see the whole thang..get the french version..

Al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mixed opinion, 9 Aug 2008
Baise-Moi [2002]

I watched this DVD having not realised until I had done my research, that one of the lead actresses Karen Bach had commited suicide exactly two years to the day that I watched the dvd in January 2007.

The rape scene in the early part of the movie was quite disturbing, but realistic. The first 45 mins of the movie kept my interest, with the seedy scenery, flittering camera shots and in particularly the inner city multicultural settings in Paris. (Both actresses were from a North African background) My interest changed afterwards during the last 30 minutes of this movie,where it became comical with the killing spree and chases. I wasn't sure where the producer and director of this movie was going with this at that point.
However, I respect Virginie Despentes and Coralie Trinh Thi for at least having the balls to put this movie out in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A graphic novel on film, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Baise-Moi works because of the excellent chemistry between the two female leads. Their performances are outstanding,
but the viewer must understand the nature of the film to appreciate the excellence of the work. Some might not feel that
a graphic novel could ever be the basis for an "excellent" movie. Baise-Moi is clearly not for everyone, as the extreme and
foolish censorship by some French bureaucrat has illustrated. The explicit sex is extremely brief, in my opinion, and
not pornographic at all. The violence is very tame, consisting of gunshots like small firecrackers and quick "deaths",
similar to a character shown lying face down in one frame of a graphic novel.

The movie is a visual presentation of scenes from the genre of adult comics, but the relationship of the two female leads
becomes quite powerful and carries the movie to a second genre of female friends road picture. This is outstanding,
and the personal backgroud of each actress, ( it seems to me), gives them a unique and powerful ability to become the
characters they are portraying.

Watch the features section. You will see that the two leads in real life are strikingly similar to their characters in this movie.
You will also meet the second pair of female friends who wrote and overcame all obstacles so that this movie could be produced.
In fact, all four of these women seem remarkably similar, which is fascinating. And each is also quite unique.

I am very pleased to have had the full range of experiences available on this dvd. I cannot say more about the film without
giving away too much information to those who have not yet had the pleasure of watching Baise-Moi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baise Moi...Grim Start..Then a joyride of excess., 3 Mar 2014
By 
Dave Henderson (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well i was first introduced to Baise Moi through its reputation, ''Banned'' and '' Too Shocking'' even ''Awful'' but in truth these sort of titles only make me more curious to see what the fuss is about. I watched the dvd with an open mind (i can be impatient) what i first saw was the rape scene at the begining my thought was its started nasty and excpeted it to get worse...the scene was shot quite blatant to hit you straight away, i felt for the characters being subjected to this ordeal by these thugs...the sex scenes are all real no pulling of punches here..

once the rape scene is finished the film moves to the uniting of the two main characters who go on a joyride of sex and murder, now it sounds way worse than it is, but some of the scenes have humour (sex club) rather than repel. By the end of the movie i was questioning myself for enjoying it so much especially after the grim start... so yes the sex is real, there are some uncomfortable moments and it was the movie you could never watch with your parents, but overall i enjoyed the artistic approach to the revenge joyride, give it a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant,sexy, very watchable, 18 Jan 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can you say about the French? Good wine and food? Lovely countryside? The Eiffel Tower? What about some of their films. Yeh, very good some of them. Very good!
This one excels.
2 attractive women on the warpath. Bloody revenge. Graphic scenes of both violence and sex.
Not for the fainthearted.
Thoroughly enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rape, robbery, sex, violence and murder, 8 Sep 2010
They say that Thelma and Louise was based on this movie, but without the sex and violence. So, if you want a burst of European sex and violence, this is one to watch. However, the underlying premise is a serious one. Two women are at their lowest ebb, with no apparent prospects for anything. They meet, agree to drive across France and create various events of their own choosing; robbery, sex, violence and murder. The journey's end is almost predictable. For me, the interesting dimension is to imagine two males as the protagonists (and the viewing public's reaction) compared with the two women in the film (and the too often, contrasting reactions!). If you have a sensitive disposition concerning the depiction of sometimes violent sex and other related matters, do not watch this tale. If not, then watch it and `think about it'.

Ian Hunter.
Author of The Early Years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's a Hard Core Life...", 13 Oct 2006
Last years tragic suicide of actress Karen Bach at the age of 31 served as, perhaps, an inevitable endgame to the media shadowplay that rendered Biase Moi one of the most powerful and controversial films ever made.

Outraging international audiences with its release in June 2000 Baise Moi did that rare thing which musicians and artists once seemed to do on a regular basis, that is, become a social issue and push the parameters of the status quo to boiling point. Elvis did it and was seen as a communist plot, Breton did it and was accused of anarchy and Stravinsky's Rite of Spring had 1913 Parisians rioting in the streets. But now that the entertainment industry has finally perfected the art of all-out homogenisation; creative endeavour, with very few exceptions, continues to flounder behind the zeitgeist. Baise Moi seized it and buried it in its own blood.

Based on the novel by ex-prostitute Virginie Despentes, who co-directed the film with Coralie Trinh Thi, Baise Moi tells the story of two young women runaways who race each other to oblivion and mean to take anyone who gets in their face with them. The two leads are played convincingly by ex porn stars Raffaella Anderson and the aforementioned Karen Bach. If you can imagine Thelma and Louise on a PCP comedown, you're nearly on the money. This is essential viewing but bear in mind that few profound experiences are happy ones and watching Baise Moi is a perfect example of what this means. This is real and unashamed punk cinema, and to see it on the shelves of HMV in the `3 for £20' bin must have definitely given a fair few casual punters a bit a jolt once they'd settled in with a bottle of Merlot for a Sunday evening viewing. Believe - as far as commercially available films go - this should carry a government health warning. It barely helps that this is a female led production and thus avoids the cheap and easy `female exploitation' charges as it graphically depicts those staples of the cinematic experience, sex and violence, at a level rarely seen in mainstream cinema.

Baise Moi is the result of a specifically female rage and although Karen Bach's sad exit was not a direct result of having made this film, the road she walked was a dark one - and when you make that journey there will be casualties.

Adrian Stranik
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Baise-moi [DVD]
Baise-moi [DVD] by Coralie Trinh Thi (DVD - 2013)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews