Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good version of the old "found footage" genre.
I'll be honest, I watched this film because Sam Stockman (James) and Matt Stokoe (Scott) were in it. I was a bit apprehensive about the film though, because it so easy with films of this style to be obvious and bland.

I was pleasantly surprised with this film. As a horror fan, I've seen lots of films like this and this was definitely one of the best. It was...
Published 11 months ago by Miss Hogan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollow
I didn't like it as it was a very low budget, badly produced, bad acting and a very predictable, typical film!
Published 5 months ago by Dimitrios Giannoulis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good version of the old "found footage" genre., 8 Sep 2013
By 
Miss Hogan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
I'll be honest, I watched this film because Sam Stockman (James) and Matt Stokoe (Scott) were in it. I was a bit apprehensive about the film though, because it so easy with films of this style to be obvious and bland.

I was pleasantly surprised with this film. As a horror fan, I've seen lots of films like this and this was definitely one of the best. It was refreshing to have fairly steady camera angles (I can't stand the ones that make you feel sea sick) and the relationships between the characters was believable (it helps that Sam and Matt are best friends). The ending was a little obvious once James' ran off so you could pretty much work out from there what was going to happen, but the tension came from when and how he was going to get them. It was refreshing to see a British version of the genre as there are far too many 'small town in America' ones. The scenes between Sam (James) and Emily (Emma) were some of my favourites. I loved the portrayal of James' vulnerability and how it was written for Emma to try to be supportive of his mental health issues whilst still trying to keep boundaries. The psychology in this film is well thought out.

The only question I was left with was how the fox disappeared once it had been run over because you can tell from the camera angle that James was nowhere near it.

Altogether, I'd say it's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hollow, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Dimitrios Giannoulis "JJ" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollow (Amazon Instant Video)
I didn't like it as it was a very low budget, badly produced, bad acting and a very predictable, typical film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As hollow as the title suggests, 5 Mar 2013
By 
A. Roberts (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in a perpetual search for 'supernatural' films that are actually frightening or unsettling etc. Very very few do what they say on the cover blurb and this is one of them. The 'found footage' genre has been done to death and is a very poor way of telling a story. Here it is again, this time with 4 cardboard cut out stereotypes, all of whom you wish would die in the first five minutes. The plot is risible and the realism of the film is non existant.

What wuld you do if you found yourself in a cottage with no electricity? Go to the nearest village and buy torches? These idiots don't and instread try to navigate their nocturnal terrors with candles and the light from their ever presenr video cam. Drug taking - 'bad Charlie'- is appallingy and wrongly represented (has *anyone* ever acted like that on coke, however bad?) and the last 30 minds, in which they are sat in a car which won't start represent a new nadir in examples of time taken from your life that you'll never get back.

What happens? Oh, yeah- one of the troubled quartet falls under the spell of an old tree, his bad thoughts take him over and he eventually hangs the other three before topping himself. The whole thing is as scary as biscuits. Obviously I can't tell you what to do with your money but I would suggest you save what you would spend on this film, give it to charity and think yourself lucky you haven't had to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well at least they got the title right, 23 April 2013
By 
D. Krol "deano76" (bradford) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be the most unenjoyable, souless, miserable, found footage (horror) film I have ever sat through.

Basic plot: 2 couples go to spend the weekend in an old monastery, to uncover a legend, that an old hollowed out tree on the land has the ability to make young lovers commit suicide for no apparent reason, by hanging themsleves from the trees branches.

Sounded interesting, if not overly enthralling and I am a sucker for found footage horror movies.

Problem is, for over an hour, all you get is 2 couples looking through old photographs, getting drunk and smoking dope and arguing over nothing. Absolutely NOTHING even remotely scary happens. One of the girls is terrified just by the look of the tree with no explanation why (It's a tree for heavens sake, it looks like any other tree, in any other field you will ever see)

Then for the last 20 minutes one of the group walks off and vanishes, the other 3 go looking for him, and we get the tent scene from the Blair Witch Project, only in a car and far less creepy.

Honestly, I am not exaggerating when I say that nothing happens in this film. You hear a few distant shrieks, the camera gets passed around the group so that they can run a few yards, and we get 20 second views of thier hushpuppies (must be a sponsorship thing), we see one of the group get dragged out of a car by an arm and then....

***Don't read this next part if you really do want watch it, on your own heads be it***

....All 4 of the cast get hung from the tree with no explanation as to why and the film ends.

It is abysmal. The acting is not the worst I've seen but neither is it the best, the camerawork is dire and half the time you find yourself looking at someones feet or the grass, the scares...Well there just aren't any, I don't even think it would make pre-adult teenage girls scared and that's the unforgivable thing about it.

It's 90 minutes of complete boredom.

Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Empty [rental], 16 May 2014
This review is from: Hollow (DVD)
One of the actors was in The Dylatov Pass Incident. Watch that instead.

End review.

Oh alright, basically the antics of these people were funny at one point. Despite the time spent with these people the characters aren't really established, rather, they alternately act like morons and go on about this tree,

Eventually, nearly one hour into the movie, there's one or two scenes that give the characters' interactions some substance - I mean writing-wise, they were seen taking drugs way earlier in the film. And then, with one or two attempts at portraying actual people, the movie heads for a finale.

Seriously. You'd think they would've tried giving these characters personalities BEFORE the hour devoid of... well, anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Gives trees a bad rep, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Hollow (Amazon Instant Video)
The premise of this film was not that engaging but I thought what the hell, let's give it a go. I think it is time this genre was officially designated closed as it has been done way too many times. This one adds nothing to the horror genre and has so many elements of daftness it creaks like a hanging rope...
For instance how come the camcorder battery holds out and yet they have to poke about in the dark all the time? You keep telling them to pack up their stuff and go home but of course when they finally do... they can't. Ho hum hokum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Plot but could improve alot, 9 April 2014
This review is from: Hollow (Amazon Instant Video)
The plot was good, but there was a lack of background information that would have made the film much more enjoyable for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars hollow and boring, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
this film is absolute rubbish,all it is is screaming ,a strange shaped tree and more screaming,another waste of money,iDO NOT recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, effective albeit predictable, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike so many of these 'footage found features' this film has easily supplanted more costly endeavors such as Cloverfield with a more earthy and realistic feel. The characters, whilst not particularly developed, do come across as very natural, and for most of the film, this strongly lends a more engaging experience. The pacing by which the relationships are revealed work particularly well, and is surprisingly, completely pivotal to the surprising conclusion of the film. Recommended with the sound up, the roughness of the audio helps to bring about uncomfortable edge to the climatic proceedings The conclusion will I suspect have seemed an anti-climax to many other reviewers, however it is certainly no deus-ex machina, and for the most part enables the film to transcend beyond typical horror film requiring a suspension of disbelief. In short, strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor and worthless, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollow [DVD] (DVD)
So much has been written about lazy found footage horrors and this is one of its greatest exemplars. The writer/director clearly knows nothing of the tropes of Horror as there is little use of unease, dread and terror - instead you get endless running about in Suffolk or Norfolk. The characters have no depth to entertain us and there is no sense (partly because it is all shot on cheap DV) of any composition or interesting shots. The cover is the best thing about it. Sorry - but AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollow [DVD]
Hollow [DVD] by Emily Plumtree (DVD - 2013)
2.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews