Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please
I read all 4 of these books in the space of a few weeks, one after the other, finishing this one only a few days ago - and I am already missing Fronto and his adventures with his wine-drinking mates!! All 4 books are set in the 1st century BC around Julius Caesar's campaigns in Gaul (for those with a weak disposition, please note that some of the battle narrative is...
Published on 13 May 2013 by Suey.B

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The mules march on
Having read the previous books in the series I was looking forward to this one. However I felt the characters were a little two dimensional and could have been developed more. At times it felt more like a narrative than a story.
Published 20 months ago by Willibobs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars conspiracy of eagles, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
once again ,these books are still a good read, cant wait for the next one, keep them coming. +they get better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book IV, 18 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
This book has been a joy to read, a criticism, if you can call it that, it was to long a period before returning to Rome following the kidnapping.
I shall read the other two books in the series.
I think without recounting, I have read 63 books from different Authors on Rome. In 6 months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
M. J. Campbell (Ayr Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
The Marius Mules series is up with the best i have thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope there is more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. W. Rathbone "fourcandles" (Middlesbrough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
Really great read Will read more of this author's books. This was more complex than I would normally like but enjoyed it anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
I've just finished this and am about to crack on with part 5.
The series to date has been completely enthralling and once you get your head around the sheer volume of characters (about 1/4 way through book 1 for me),the fun really begins.Everybody plays their part and even those on the periphery are fleshed out convincingly and satisfactorily enough to do their bit ,without appearing 2-dimensional.
I'm a fan of Anthony Riches but I think Simon Turney's 'Fronto' is a more interesting character than 'Corvus'and I found Riches' supporting cast more interesting than his lead,but that's neither here nor there.
I guess an ageing, injured, drunk legate,always pushing the boundaries by poking Caesar with a stick, is more interesting to me than a blue-eyed,duel-wielding ,Jedi like pretty boy.
Come !! Come with mighty Caesar as he races all over Europe and Britannia clobbering everybody that stands in his way ,Celtic and Roman!!
You'll be glad you did.
Ave atque vale!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MM 4, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book and would highly recommend this series to any fan of this genre.

The story is fast paced with some great characters, overall very hard to put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good ending to a four book saga, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed all four books about Frodo, the legate of the 10th legion and his wars in Gaul, Belgia and Britannia. This book was a little different in that his age began to show and he bacame distanced from his general. The conspiracy was good and as always the battle scenes were excellent in their description. A good read and a good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still an excellent read., 12 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
The storyline fragments quite well and shows the overall pressure that Ceasar is under. It also clearly describes the difficulties in not having suitable senior officers. Fronto's story is well put together, just felt it is not as strong in places as earlier books. Still an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 17 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
The story continues with some characters leaving for one reason or another, those left are developed further and some new characters emerge to take up the story. The author does not disappoint in his developing series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles (Kindle Edition)
S J A Turney now rivals authors such as Simon Scarrow and Anthony Riches. The Markus Mules series has gone from strength to strength. Book 4 Conspiracy of Eagles is a vast improvement over book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules IV: Conspiracy of Eagles
£1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews