Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, really enjoyed it.
I thought this was well directed, atmospheric and very creepy. A good story and I wasn't expecting the final twist. I don't know why some people are going on about poor acting - I couldn't see anything wrong with any of the performances. Recommended!
Published 11 months ago by KittyG26

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, it's one of THOSE types of horror films
Over the last few years - and possibly spurred on by such bit hits as The Ring - there has been an influx in these types of horror films. Let me explain...

Step 1: Take a parent (normally a single mother) who lives with their child. Step 2: Child starts behaving oddly. Step 3: Disbelief. Step 4: Acceptance that something supernatural is happening. Step 5:...
Published 24 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, really enjoyed it., 15 May 2014
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
I thought this was well directed, atmospheric and very creepy. A good story and I wasn't expecting the final twist. I don't know why some people are going on about poor acting - I couldn't see anything wrong with any of the performances. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, it's one of THOSE types of horror films, 1 May 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
Over the last few years - and possibly spurred on by such bit hits as The Ring - there has been an influx in these types of horror films. Let me explain...

Step 1: Take a parent (normally a single mother) who lives with their child. Step 2: Child starts behaving oddly. Step 3: Disbelief. Step 4: Acceptance that something supernatural is happening. Step 5: Consult expert who just so happens to live locally. Step 6: Confrontation and conclusion.

Basically, Fairytale is one of those types of horror films. If you're a horror fan in general then you have probably already seen a dozen more like it. All these types of films follow the above plot points with only a few minor changes here and there. This one falls somewhere in the middle of them all. You'll have seen worse and you'll definitely have seen better.

One major downside to Fairytale is the acting. First of all the child is not a good actress. I know it's harder for kids to act and they should be given a little more leeway that adults, but she was just so unbelievable it didn't help an already shaky film. The lead actress isn't much better and the school teacher (thankfully only briefly in it) is the worst of all.

I can't really recommend Fairytale on account of it being so formulaic. Yes, there are a few scary/creepy scenes which pop up every twenty minutes or so, plus the odd plot twist, but there are so many better films like this out there, this one simply hasn't got the momentum to really stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deadful Acting, Great Idea, 14 April 2014
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
I watched this thinking it was something else and decided to suffer through the awful acting and give it a chance. A very predictable horror film, some nice gory bits in places and a couple of frights, but you'll have seen it all a million times before.

The subject matter i.e. the story of the scary ghost is actually quite novel (if you've never told scary stories under torchlight in a tent), but they don't make enough use of it.

The acting is pretty shocking. Possibly the most horrific thing of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I'll tell you the tooth...the whole tooth and nothing but the tooth - It'll make your jaw ache as you cringe at the bad acting, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
Ok so a lame pun to a lame film. I'm always suspicious of films that are less than 90 minutes long, that I've never heard of and have glowing reviews on the front. At 83 minutes long I should have gone with my gut instinct.

The idea or plot is nothing new - woman and daughter move into an old creepy house with some creepy furniture holding a creepy ghost.

However what makes a film like this work is the script, tension and believable characters but the acting is so atrocious...and I mean atrocious!!!

The lead character is so emotionless and wooden and the child character is awful too. I've watched loads of horror films and this has to be some of the worst acting I've seen - really it's that bad!

The creepy guy warning the mother to get away from the house is hilariously bad!

Couple this with an awful and predictable script and poor direction, really don't waste your time on this. I watched it for about 40 minutes and then switched it off.

If you want a similar style film that does it well then watch The Grudge - that to me was a masterclass in direction and had some terrifyinging moments but this is terrifyingly bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars you will never see your teeth in the same way again, 24 Mar. 2014
By 
David Spanswick (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
A very stylish small scale (domestic?) horror yarn with a great mythology = back story and many twists and turns, enough to keep any fan quite content for an hour and a half.

This was definitely a step up from the run of the mill horror film possibly due to its European origins and that it is not a remake ~ so rare these days!

Definitely worth a look, I feel that many reviewers here were expecting something more and their negative reviews are definitely misleaing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful! Awful! Awful!, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
Please save your hard earned cash and don't buy this DVD! The acting is atrocious but still not as bad as the storyline! I love scary movies but this was more of a cringe fest it was so bad! Sorry to be so negative but I wouldn't want you spend your money to be very disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrific., 6 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
The child is possibly the worst actress I have ever seen, painful to watch. The rest of the cast are terrible actors too. Couldn't even sit through half an hour of this film it's genuinely terrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommend it as a must watch, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
Despite an earlier negative review, this film seemed to tick all of the boxes. Sure, there are certain parts of the storyline that lack originality but this does nothing to detract from the deep atmospheric presence that the film generates. Despite the criticism that the film lends itself to other films, it nevertheless has a well thought out script. It may not appeal to all those horror fans that demand more deranity blood violence and gore but it will appeal to the less hardened horror and mystery fans who lean more toward a supernaturally based storyline. I am one of the latter fans and as such, recommend it as a must watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wheres my teeth, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fairytale [DVD] (DVD)
a mother and daughter hit a moving wagon and are pushed through the barrier into the river,however the girl is obsessed with the tooth fairy and as mum and dad have split up he does what he can,after two mri scans everything shows up clear but an old sanitarium seems to be reopened leaving the mother wondering in a dream state while her daughter collects teeth.an film that you have to make your own mind up, but one you have to really watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Erm, 1 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Fairytale (Amazon Instant Video)
It's ok, the acting is not the best, in fact the best acting comes from the ghost but that is because she doesn't talk. However it is bearable to watch, but don't be expecting to be scared out of your wits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fairytale [DVD]
Fairytale [DVD] by Matt Patresi (DVD - 2013)
£5.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews