Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars46
2.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2013
It is easy to see why this book got such bad reviews when first released. It reads like a cross between a mills and boon special and a cow boy. Being ex forces and believing apache pilots to be hero's this book does them a great disservice. If this book is accurate then I know some people that should be on war crime charges
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
Good little read giving insight into AAC Longbow Ops life in the Stan. Shame there was typo's on almost every page!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Good insight into life as an Apache pilot in Afghanistan. Sometimes difficult to read due to extremely bad grammar, punctuation and spelling. This book really should have been proof read before publication to eliminate these errors, but still a good story nonetheless.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
Didn't like it . One minute he is a Guards Officer in Afghanastan next minute he is an apache pilot, no mention of training which is very difficult. I was looking for a book similiar to Damien Lewis's Apache books.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
Very poor. Neither good documentary nor good novel and written in poor English. Unconvincing narrative and does not come anywhere near books like Dead Men Risen or Sniper One, which have the ring of authenticity
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
A so-so read, spoilt by large numbers of simple, basic spelling and grammatical mistakes. The ending appears to have been rushed as though the author had got bored with the book and wanted to finish as quickly as possible.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
From an Apache Pilot:

It takes a lot for me to write a poor review. I'd rather not comment. However...some things must be said....on the first page is says the Apache was first deployed in February 2007 with at total of 8 Apaches!Then to go on and describe Ed Macy's book Apache quoting Jan 2007! Confused? ...It was May 2006 and 8 were not deployed.

There are fundamental mistakes which 'every' Apache pilot, Apache Arming and Loading Point Commander (ground crew) or Apache Technician would know. Imagine a pilot getting these wrong:

Factual Mistake 1 of 189 (I'm not kidding and I stopped when I couldn't stomach anymore!) " As each APU started!" So Mr Kemp, how many APUs do you think an Apache has? More's to the point, how many 'didn't' Mr Bowler really start or switch off? Pilot...really?

Factual Mistake 2 of 189: "The cannon could be set to allow a number of rounds to be fired in each squeeze of the trigger, but could not be set from the cockpit." Yes it can and its taught on day 1 of week 1 of gunnery. Apache Gunner....really?

Factual Mistake 3 of 189: "Firing at a 120 degree angle" The maximum angle of the cannon when firing is 90 degrees. I'm flabbergasted as this is clearly fiction...and bad fiction at that!

Don't invite me or entice me to continue. Please...

Ugly
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
It's good to hear about the bravery of those who risk their lives to save our soldiers. An excellent informative book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
This clearly illustrates the problem of "e-book" publishing, there are typos on every page, the writing style its not structured and its poorly finished. Such a shame as the story is both courageous and inspiring, it should have been a modern Chickenhawk Chickenhawk, but it isn't. Very disappointed, I would question whether this product is of merchantable quality.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
This book is a must-read for aviation enthusiasts and for those who enjoy reading wartime stories. The book is action-packed and will not disappoint even those who know nothing about helicopters. It is written without too much technical jargon and so is easy to understand for those who are not familiar with aviation terminology. The blend of action and insight lends itself to a well-written, modern-day portrayal of war.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)