Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More beautiful stories from A M Smith
As a reader of nearly all of Alexander Mcall Smith's previous books I found this a departure from his usual style. However, very soon I found myself enjoying his usual skill of writing his characters with detail and compassion. The book contained stories told by four totally different people who met on a train journey. Each one had a beautiful and very different story...
Published 20 months ago by Ms L

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Trains & Lovers: The Heart's Journey
Although I enjoyed this book it was not up to the usual standard of McCall-Smith's work. The storyline did not hold my interest and the characters were not in the same league as the 'Scotland Street' series.
Published 19 months ago by Aileen Blackett


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as usual, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
Alex Mc-S always writes great prose, even when there is limited plot like here or in 44 Scotland Street stories, the writing is still very enjoyable. I enjoyed this immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trains and Lovers, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
Totally different style from all the other books of his that I've read. A beautifully seamless read, moving from one situation to another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read but I would expect nothing less from Alexander Mccall Smith. Book came promptly & in excellent condition, slightly smaller in size than a normal book, easier to hold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental Journey, 24 Dec 2012
By 
P. Moore "Janus" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am an unashamed Alexander McCall Smith fan. His capacity to remind us - gently always - that love and kindness are all that matter in getting us through our allotted span is unequaled. His writing is beautifully structured. and his consistent belief in the innate decency of ordinary people shines through as an antidote to today's endemic cynicism and schadenfreude.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Stories, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
McCall-Smith' s writing has s fluid quality that captures my head and my heart. Each character had s special voice I could hear. I enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trains and Lovers, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trains and Lovers was easy to read shades of Maeve Binchy . Would very much like more of the same. Anne Marie Mc Laughlin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ONE OR MANY, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
Not one of his best, nevertheless I find Alexander McCall-Smiths work of tremendous value.
All lighthearted and generally fun. One of many books by this author I have read and will continue to support his work.
He is an excellent writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
I love all of Alexander Mcall;Smith's books and Trains and Lovers ; The Heart's Journey was more than I had hoped for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey (Kindle Edition)
Having only read two other books from this author being the ladys detective agency this was quite a heart felt novel encapuring the lives of the four travellers on boad a long train journey. Some very interesting and some sad moments of each travellers life. Well written and quite absorbing would recommend this, perfect for a long journey yourself or a holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey
Trains and Lovers: The Heart's Journey by Alexander McCall-Smith
0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews