Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars247
4.2 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Change
Price:£12.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2013
This review is fairly late in terms of the fact that most people who would want this game will have bought it by now, but I feel it's worth commenting on some of the strange aspects of this game that make it good, but somewhat aggravating. Having played this game, I come to the conclusion that good or 'addictive' games generally fall into two categories: 1) simply great, and a pleasure to play so you play through to the end, 2) aggravating and irritating so you keep playing almost to spite the game.

So, having lead with that lets move on to the game. I am a casual gamer who plays infrequently, just for reference!

The good things are this is a great game to just sit down with and play, it's quick and easy to just jump in a car and start some races. A new style of NFS, in that you don't have to work your way up from the 'cheap' cars to the super cars, you can just use anything.

The races are engaging, the physics generally enjoyable and the control system works well. It's easy enough to get drifting and balance you speed and cornering. Furthermore the graphics and sound effects are good, with a good atmosphere almost all the time, and I enjoy the sound twisting from using nitrous and other things. Engine notes are also decently varied.

The list of things I don't like is much longer, but I must stress that the good parts outlined above although small in volume are very important, and just (just!) outweigh these issues:

- The "crashed" system, and related cutscene. When you have a "bad" crash, the car stops for a moment and you watch a scene of your car wrecked, and usually all the other racers shoot by at that point, putting you at the back of the race. The problem here is that what determines a "bad" crash is extremely variable, sometimes you may smack into a non-racing car at over 100mph and nothing happens, other times you may scrape sideways along a barrier at less than 50mph and boom, crash cutscene! The cutscene takes a while and is frustrating to watch when what causes it is so incongruous. After you've had to watch the cutscene many times in a race, you can get extremely fed up.

- When you are in a race, or finish a race there is no quick way to restart the race. This definitely goes under the 'glaring omission' heading. If you have totally messed up a race you have to go through the (just about acceptable) menu system to get back out of the race, and then use the menu system to retry the previous event. This is an unnecessarily long route. Similarly at the end of the race it will load back out of the race before you have the option to retry. I've never played a racing game where you can't just pause and restart a race, nor even restart immediately at the end of a race - frustrating.

- Similarly, and adding to the frustration if you restart a race regularly; every time you start a race the game loads a cutscene video thing. Admittedly some of these look quite cool, but they take a while to load, and then once you've seen them once (or even if you haven't) you skip it. So, you have to wait for a race to end and load back into free roam before you can restart a race, and once you've done that the game then spends a good chunk of time loading a cutscene, starts the cutscene, and then eventually you can skip it, before you actually get to the beginning of the race. I fear 'frustrating' is getting overused here but it is the main accurate description!

The above are my main aggravations from the game, but there are a few niggles as well:

- your progress through the game is unclear, e.g. "how many races have I completed with that car?" is only checkable by going into the car (loading it...) and then flicking through to the race list for that car and guessing from the slither of colour by the race name what position you came.

- the music is limited, and also not that new. Dizzee Rascal - Bonkers again? really? I would appreciate things mostly current, and certainly a few more tracks. Surely there's some spare room on that blu-ray?! [edit: looking at a soundtrack list online, there appear to be some songs I haven't heard, perhaps UK/EU version has less? either way it could use at least a doubling of the soundtrack size]

- Music changes regularly when you do things with the menu system e.g. start a race, and at some points I found myself hearing the first 20-30s of songs repeatedly as I did things in the game which gets tiring.

- The game is a tad buggy, I've had it crash a few times, especially when mixing into multiplayer and single player. In fact one crash was so bad it corrupted my save file and I lost my progress entirely. Thankfully I had already completed the single player story line, and gotten most of the trophies. If you hadn't though that would be extremely frustrating. I recommend backing up your save game if you are trophy hunting.

---

So, despite a long list of negatives, I have to say I still overall enjoyed the game. I completed the story line and then got all the trophies in order to get the platinum trophy. It isn't excessively challenging, but it's decent fun. Particularly, the new 'instant accessibility' approach makes it quite quick and easy to have a lot of fun and mess around in all the cars which is nice.

The negatives overall made me frustrated with the game however, and by getting the platinum trophy I didn't feel a sense of accomplishment as much as I felt satisfaction in beating the game for all the mess it puts you through with excessive loading and cutscenes (and if you are unlucky total system crashes).

In summary the good qualities of the game outweigh the negatives, but only just hence my three star rating. I would recommend this game to a casual gamer who likes cars and racing games. If you are proficient with odd menu systems and don't mind waiting for loading times and cutscenes that would help as well!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
Criterion Games in my opinion do the best arcade car games.
If you love Burnout Paradise game which was one of the first car games put on the PS3 & a game that is still very active online so if you can find Burnout Paradise cheep I would recommend getting it even thou the graphics are not as well as other PS3 Car games now it has the just an amazing game play.

Then there is there Second PS3 Car game Need For Speed:Hot Pursuit this is a great game as you get chased by the Police on some of the races also the other good thing about this one is that you can be the Police in the game which I liked it reminded me of the Classic Arcade Game Chase HQ but you do it online against people taking turns in being the Racer & The Police in one of the online Games.
But it has not got the same come back appeal as Burnout has!

Right let's get to this one now this one has been set up like Burnout Paradise but with real cars! (Burnout is made up of made up cars that are look alike of other cars) So if you like to play Burnout this game is for you the only difference is you don't need to go a Junk Yard to change your car as the cars are hidden in the game all around and as soon as you find them you can drive it then if you change your mind and want to go back to your previous car you can ether drive to where you found it or just go back to driving it. The other difference is there are Police patrolling around the city & if you are speeding (which you will be) or bump in to one (Or the Police car bumps in to you!) then they chase you and it sounds like the chase games in Hot Pursuit, But there is something very funny about these Police in the game if you are not speeding but on the wrong side of the road you can just pass them which on the Motorway or Dual Carriageway is odd.

ONLINE!!!!!
Now here is why I have given the Warning about Second Hand Versions of the game if you like to play online and you get a Second Hand one you will be Charged £7.99 (so add this on your Second Hand Price) to do this but not only that if you get a NEW ONE & your PS3 has more then one login as I have a login my partner has a login & my two girls have a log in's on my PS3.

SO MAKE SURE THAT THE MAIN PLAYER OF THE GAME HAS THE ONLINE PASS!!!!

Lucky for me I am the only car game player on my PS3 but if my girls wanted to play the game I would have to pay £7.99 so that is £15.98 for them both to play online!

The Online game is set up in a smilier way to Burnout's online game you drive around and wait for the Host (that may be you) to select a challenge or a race to do but unlike the races on Burnout where they just start you have to race to the races start points and the first one there gets Online Speed Points to unlock the cars you use online & the upgrades for the cars (You have Speed Points in the main game to these help unlock the Online Cars but not the online upgrades) there are also challenges to do with your online friends to do to like everyone Jump a certain distance, Get so many near misses or Drifting so far like Burnout Paradise!

The only thing missing in the online game that may be add later is being able to be the Police online & maybe in the main game like in Hot Pursuit, But then you could always buy Need For Speed Hot Pursuit for that because that & Burnout Paradise to play online games, Second Hand as they don't have Online Restrictions so you can get the Second Hand One's to do that with!

Overall A Great Game With ONLY ONE DOWNFALL The Online Pass for all the PS3 users on YOUR PS3 to play it Online if other family members like to Play Car Games Too!
That is why I Gave It Four Star's in the Game Overall it would of been Five Stars (Which is why I gave it 5 Stars In FUN!) if EA was not so Greedy!

But that is there way of making money off the Second Hand Market Now!
But it also effects people who buy a new one with more then one Login on their PS3!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Before I start reviewing Need for Speed: Most Wanted, I feel I need to explain my views on some of Criterion's recent games. Burnout Paradise was the first ever Burnout game I ever played, and as a big fan of open-world driving games that encourage exploration, it very quickly became one of my favourite games of this generation. With a large, varied map, hundreds of collectibles, a large variety of different races and events and dozens of vehicles, it was a long time before I even touched the online aspect of the game, but when I did, I found a treasure trove of hours more gameplay. Combined with frequent, game-changing updates, the game kept me entertained for months.

So when it was announced a couple of years ago that Criterion would be making the next Need for Speed game (Hot Pursuit), I was looking forward to getting my hands on the game. But while the game provided me with some entertainment for several hours, I found that the game quickly got old. While the world could be explored in free-roam, there was very little reason to do so. The map was large, with some interesting areas, but no reason to go out of your way to explore. And as for the different events, they didn't keep me entertained for long.

So I was sceptical when Criterion announced that they would be making another Need for Speed game, especially as I was still awaiting a follow up to Burnout Paradise. What I didn't realise was that the two worlds - Burnout and Need for Speed - would come crashing together into a single, beautiful game.

From the moment you pop the disk into your console and boot the game up, any fan of Burnout Paradise will feel right at home. The introductory cinematic is spookily similar to that of Burnout Paradise, and explains the set up of the new game: The city is Fairhaven, a place where 10 drivers rule the roads, constantly on the run from the police. It is your job to beat them one by one and move up the ranks to become... (wait for it) Fairhaven's 'Most Wanted'. In that sense, the plot is somewhat reminiscent of the original NfS: Most Wanted. But as soon as you start to play, you realise that a lot has changed. This is Criterion's spin on a classic Need for Speed concept, and it shines as a result.

Fairhaven is made up of a series of locations, the main part of which is the city itself. Twisting narrow streets, tall skyscrapers and wide highways make up most of the city, complete with shortcuts, alleyways, parking lots and railway tracks. As you continue to explore, you will find various other locations, including an industrial park, a shipyard, an abandoned airstrip, a large public park, and miles of highways that twist their way through the games moody mountain range.
Throughout this world are things that will be familiar to Burnout Paradise fans: security gates make a comeback (where you have to find and smash all the flashing fences across the world) as well as billboards (all of which - in the first product-placement-based-marketing-scheme that I've ever approved of - all feature the names of different EA development teams) which must be smashed through. In a nice twist, when the billboards respawn, they are complete with a copy of your profile (assuming you achieved the furthest jump as a result) on all your friends' games. There are also speed cameras dotted around the world, which you must find and... well... speed past.

Much like Burnout, there are various drive-through repair centres dotted across the map, where you can repair your vehicle on-the-fly, while also recovering your boost. However, instead of having to find a garage to switch vehicles, you switch by pulling up to a 'jack-spot' for the vehicle you want, and with a press of a button, you're driving that car. Of course, this being a Need for Speed game, all the vehicles are officially licensed, and handle appropriately. All vehicles can be damaged, both visually and physically, and Burnout's 'crash-cinematics' are present and waiting for you every time you fly off a highway and into the path of a lorry.

The events themselves are pretty straight forward. Each vehicle has five events associated with it (1 easy, 2 medium and 2 hard). Successfully coming first or second in a race grants you new customisation for your vehicle, allowing you to upgrade and change the tyres, chassis, gears and boost systems. Vehicle events vary between straight races (checkpoint race from A to B against opponents), circuit races (complete a certain number of laps against opponents), endurance races (drive from A to B while keeping your average speed as high as possible) and pursuits (escape the police as quickly as possible). On top of these events, there are Most Wanted events, unlocked when you have gained enough speed points to be noticed by that driver.

Most Wanted events consist of an unusually long A to B race, usually heavily involving the police. Upon successfully completing the race, the driver of the opposing car continues to drive around Fairhaven, waiting for you to shut him down - another feature lifted almost directly from Burnout Paradise. The police roam Fairhaven, and a pursuit against them can be started at any time by ramming them, driving quickly past them, or... basically anything else.

On a whole, if you're a big fan of Burnout Paradise, and you're waiting for the next part of the series, don't overlook Most Wanted. It's a spiritual successor to Paradise if ever there was one.

Graphics: 9/10
Combining Burnout's lush environments, Hot Pursuit's impressive graphics and Battlefield 3's 'Star Trek' inspired flare-lighting, the game looks absolutely stunning. There are occasionally small drops in framerate when there are a lot of police in pursuit, but apart from that, there's very little to complain about here.

Sound: 8/10
Engine sounds are very good, although there are occasional glitches when the police-sirens won't stop even when you're blocks away from any police cars. The game's soundtrack is good, with songs by Muse, and even some remixes of The Who tracks. Unfortunately, to hear the music, you have to turn the games sound effects way down - not really a problem, though. The game also supports listening to your own music, although this must be done by creating a playlist on your PS3 before booting up the game.

Gameplay and Controls: 9/10
The game plays extremely smoothly, with controls that are very easy to learn. The games also utilises EasyDrive, which was first introduced to Burnout Paradise, and allows you to select events, set satnav locations, go online and customise your vehicle, all without leaving gameplay.

Longevity: 9+/10
So much content here. Each of the games 55 vehicle has 5 races attached to it, and there are also 10 Most Wanted races, 3 sets of collectibles and endless opportunities to take part in pursuits. Plus the games boasts a robust online mode (similar to Burnout Paradise in almost every respect). Unfortunately, the game doesn't yet support local multiplayer. Additionally, if Criterion support this game in the same way they supported Burnout Paradise, then we could be seeing dozens of hours of content added in the coming months. It's not guarantee, but I'm certainly hoping for it.

Overall: 9/10
A great racing game, which will make any Burnout Paradise fan extremely happy. Need for Speed fans may be a little disappointed by the lack of visual customisation, but I truly think this is a fantastic follow up to the series, and is a true reflection of Criterion Games.
55 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
I love the Need for Speed franchise for it's simplicity and the ability to just pick up and go. This game still has that, doesn't require you to worry about minute details like gear ratios and is all-round just fun to play. Upgrades on the cars are even simpler/less of them so you spend less time with a slow car and more time just racing for the fun of it.

The problem is that that's where it stops. The game has little in-line with a master-plan (10 easy Most Wanted races) and just simplifies and rehashes old concepts. There's probably about 10 different races/tracks in total, with each car you get 5 of these, then the races are recycled for each car. Once you get good at the game you spend about 30 minutes driving each car.

It feels like a half finished game and is quite buggy. Numerous times I "crashed" because the road didn't appear. To top it off, if you want to "unlock" further races/much sought-after cars (i.e. McLaren F1), you have to buy the "Ultimate Speed Pack".

All in all, the game would justify an arcade-game price 5-10, but doesn't qualify for the price I paid for it when it was new.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
short and sweet on the matter.....

this games resembles too much like Burnout Paradise and not remotely what the first Most wanted was all about which is very sad as i don't fancy running around hunting billboards and security gates :(
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
It's a pretty cool game in many ways.

But it doesn't feel like you're playing the full version of a game. It is some how like a cross between a demo and a full version. You are constantly comming across cars and stuff that you must pay more for in order to access.

I have nothing against offering DLC for sale, but it should absolutely not be integrated so much into the game itself. When you pay that kind of money for a game, you should get a complete game and when you play it you should have the feeling that you are playing a complete game instead of that you are not getting everything.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you are into racing games of the arcade variety, then NFS Most Wanted is certainly worth a go. It is similar to other NFS games in that the pace is fast, lots of great looking cars that can be customised and enough content to keep you going for several hours without getting too bored.

The game takes place in an open world USA-a-like city and allows free roam so you have to drive to race locations, you can discover new cars (jack them to drive them), smash through billboards and ram fences. It is all tied together by the Easydrive menu, so you can use the sat-nav to track down the next race easily. It is very similar to Burnout Paradise, so if you are a fan of that game (or any other Burnout games) then I reckon you'll like it.

Graphics are amazing for a last gen game (though the PS3 does suffer a little with frame rate issues), the weather effects give the city a sense of realism and the cars, of course, look great. Gameplay is well done as the cars drive well, though more arcadey than simulator. The races are a mixture of styles - circuits, point to point etc so there is a good amount of variety. There isn't a difficulty setting (unless well hidden) but the level is pitched pretty well so it may take one or two attempts to get first place, but once you get used to the route and skilled at avoiding other traffic it is quite rewarding.

Like previous NFS games, police are present and will chase you down if you break traffic laws (i.e. all the time) - and evading them can get a bit tiresome and annoyingly as your car is sent back to the jack spot if you get busted. But this is a minor gripe in a thoroughly enjoyable racing game.

There is plenty of (fairly expensive) DLC, new cars, new races and new areas of the city so the game can last you for a good while. I'd thoroughly recommend it as a kick back switch off bit of high speed fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
So I purchased Need for Speed because I hadn't played my PS3 for ages and fancied a racing game. I love the racing games I had in the past where you could customise cars with vinyls etc and buy awesome cars.

I found that you just pick up cars as you drive along instead of starting with a rubbish car and then earning points/money to buy the better cars. Instead you just pick up awesome cars straight away without any skill required.

I only got it yesterday and haven't yet found anyway to choose a colour for your car (you can go in a paint shop and it randomly sprays it), put vinyls on it and customise it etc. I wanted my own 'Garage' where I had my own cars and can view them whenever and mess about with them, instead they are just scattered across the city.. not very enjoyable.

The graphics are quite good, scenery nice..

- The races themselves: I find that if you crash just once (which is very easy to do because there are so many cars driving about) if you crash just once you basically can't win the race. You have to race almost perfectly to win, which is extremely frustrating.

Bit like an arcade game in terms of all the pop ups on the screen etc, I suppose some people like that.

It's awkward to compare your cars abilities as you have to open different menu's and then go into the cars themselves to have a look (as i said a garage where you can quickly scan would be better)

There isn't a story too it really, well I havent found one yet. (I know there isn't really supposed to be for racing games but still.. kind of just jump in from the go and have to figure it all out for yourself) Not got to grips with the upgrades yet but as I said only got it yesterday.

Also, can't remember the old N4S games very well but Gran Turismo has 2 player single player so you can race your friends. This doesn't have that for some reason.

Overall very disappointing, my previous N4S games were a lot more enjoyable and I loved the way you could customise your cars.

Summary:
- Should have chosen Gran Turismo instead
- Worst N4S game I've played.
- Not tried multiplayer yet but I presume this is where it has gotten good reviews, because the single player is terrible and boring.
- I made a mistake getting this game!
- Also: EA seem to have done their usual extra content rubbish on this game which is even more annoying.
- Need to not crash whatsoever to stand a chance of winning the race.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
First of all , from the moment EA had started to create Need For Speed , I used to buy every single game of N.F.S. and N.F.S. Most Wanted is one of the best games I have ever played.

When N.F.S. Hot Pursuit was announced, I was almost the first to buy it. This game was more entertaining than the previous one ( N.F.S. Shift ). The longevity of this product was not so good. The fact that you could drive around the city was interesting. But there weren't some many cars to drive and the races were few.

Now, N.F.S. Most Wanted is something more than polices chases and races ( " Hot Pursuit "). In this game you can feel free to do whatever you want such as drive new cars whenever you want , race the Most Wanted cars or enjoy multiplayer experience.

Scenario > 10/10 : The scenario of this game couldn't be better. You, a racer , must beat all the Most Wanted racers one by one to become ... the " Most Wanted ".As you reach the 3 most wanted racers the game becomes a litte bit difficult and during the game, you unlock a extensive selection of vehicles.

Graphics > 9/10 : The graphics of this game is absolutely awesome.Although some glitches exist in the game such as when the car stucks while doing a jump or when it falls into the rooftop of some buildings, I would say that this is just a detail .The cars are great, the city is amazing.

Sound > 9/10 : By having a 5.1 sound, you can experience a different level of gaming . For example, the sound of the car's engine is very cool and you can also play your own music before the game starts as the game supports that .By the way , the police sirens will never stop even if you are miles away from the police.

Longevity > 10/10 : You are sertainly going to play this game for a lot of time !!
Each of the 55 cars has 5 races where you can play plus the multiplayer experience plus the add-ons that can be downloaded from the Playstation Store .So , you can spend a lot of time having fun with your friends or race .

Overall > 9/10 : In conclusion, I believe that this game is spectacular. A great fan of N.F.S. and Burnout would be very happy buying this game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Platform: PlayStation 3|Edition: Standard Edition|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Criterion chief Alex Ward recently hinted that Most Wanted will be the last racer to come from the revered developer as it seeks pastures new. After playing this most recent entry in the Need For Speed franchise, I think I know why...

There's a conspicuous absence of pedestrians on the streets of Fairview. It's only to be expected when the police force consists of overzealous psychos flinging their cars at anyone who looks at them the wrong way. These guys are at the centre of Most Wanted. And I wish that weren't the case.

I hate these cops, these FASCIST PIGS. Their purpose in life is to slow my game progress down, to hinder and constantly ruin my races and do more damage to the city than anyone they're trying to shut down. Frame rates crumble as the cop cars pile on the game's performance as well as your vehicle. One wrong move and an army of them are on your tail. And it's difficult not to make a wrong move when the traffic is all too frequently magnetic to your vehicle. Once the heat is on, it's difficult to cool it down. And this is what they're like before you even start street racing!

Most Wanted is mightily familiar to anyone who's played Criterion's Burnout Paradise. Fairview looks like a cousin of Paradise City's. To look at it from afar, you could easily mistake it for Burnout in Need For Speed's clothing. It's not. The handling sees to that. This is very much Need For Speed territory and impacts in a big way on anyone expecting to play it like Burnout. And there's all the modifications to contend with. Burnout is all about the simplistic joys of arcade raving. Most Wanted is by no means a sim but far less forgiving and loses some of the carefree nature of the great Burnouts in translation.

Needless to say, the biggest similarity with Paradise is the open world structure it adopts. You drive around the city to find new cars and races on non linear tracks in more or less whatever order you fancy. In this regard Most Wanted fixes one of the bugbears of its ancestor. Paradise gave you so much freedom that it was all too easy to get lost during races. Most Wanted kindly provides big checkpoint markers to lead the way to the finish line.

And then there's the goal of the game: to become the 'most wanted' street racer around. Except notoriety and attention from the police were my least wanted things during play. The Most Wanted races that see you take out rivals and climb the ladder of infamy are a bit of a swindle. Lots of AI rubberbanding saw me lose unfairly time and time again. Even when I wasn't getting shunted all over the shop by the boys in blue, my rivals magically transported from nowhere on the mini map to a position where they could overtake on the home straight. And even when you beat them in the race, you still have to chase them down and ram their car off the road while the fuzz does its best to get in the way.

The music doesn't add much to the experience either. The track selection is on the paltry side and I die a little every time that track from Green Day's new album comes up. Which is a lot. As for online, which is admittedly a major selling point. Sorry, I don't care. Well, I would have had I not been asked to download a 2GB patch before being able to access it. Life is too short. You're going to get a pasting if starting out this late in the game anyway.

There are good times are to be had and there's plenty of meat on the bones but it's lacking the delicious taste that we've come to expect from this developer. An ill-fitted Burnout/Need For Speed hybrid that fails to make the best of both worlds. Criterion proved they could work wonders with the NFS licence with Hot Pursuit but, for all its competence, this one is missing a soul. So with Most Wanted potentially the end of the road for Criterion's racing portfolio, I look forward to them tackling a new genre where their best days aren't behind them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)