Customer Reviews


173 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed meets Burnout Paradise
Before I start reviewing Need for Speed: Most Wanted, I feel I need to explain my views on some of Criterion's recent games. Burnout Paradise was the first ever Burnout game I ever played, and as a big fan of open-world driving games that encourage exploration, it very quickly became one of my favourite games of this generation. With a large, varied map, hundreds of...
Published 20 months ago by T. J. Woodhead

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new style of Need for Speed, but with some glaring annoyances
This review is fairly late in terms of the fact that most people who would want this game will have bought it by now, but I feel it's worth commenting on some of the strange aspects of this game that make it good, but somewhat aggravating. Having played this game, I come to the conclusion that good or 'addictive' games generally fall into two categories: 1) simply great,...
Published 16 months ago by Charlie Styr


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed meets Burnout Paradise, 17 Dec 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
Before I start reviewing Need for Speed: Most Wanted, I feel I need to explain my views on some of Criterion's recent games. Burnout Paradise was the first ever Burnout game I ever played, and as a big fan of open-world driving games that encourage exploration, it very quickly became one of my favourite games of this generation. With a large, varied map, hundreds of collectibles, a large variety of different races and events and dozens of vehicles, it was a long time before I even touched the online aspect of the game, but when I did, I found a treasure trove of hours more gameplay. Combined with frequent, game-changing updates, the game kept me entertained for months.

So when it was announced a couple of years ago that Criterion would be making the next Need for Speed game (Hot Pursuit), I was looking forward to getting my hands on the game. But while the game provided me with some entertainment for several hours, I found that the game quickly got old. While the world could be explored in free-roam, there was very little reason to do so. The map was large, with some interesting areas, but no reason to go out of your way to explore. And as for the different events, they didn't keep me entertained for long.

So I was sceptical when Criterion announced that they would be making another Need for Speed game, especially as I was still awaiting a follow up to Burnout Paradise. What I didn't realise was that the two worlds - Burnout and Need for Speed - would come crashing together into a single, beautiful game.

From the moment you pop the disk into your console and boot the game up, any fan of Burnout Paradise will feel right at home. The introductory cinematic is spookily similar to that of Burnout Paradise, and explains the set up of the new game: The city is Fairhaven, a place where 10 drivers rule the roads, constantly on the run from the police. It is your job to beat them one by one and move up the ranks to become... (wait for it) Fairhaven's 'Most Wanted'. In that sense, the plot is somewhat reminiscent of the original NfS: Most Wanted. But as soon as you start to play, you realise that a lot has changed. This is Criterion's spin on a classic Need for Speed concept, and it shines as a result.

Fairhaven is made up of a series of locations, the main part of which is the city itself. Twisting narrow streets, tall skyscrapers and wide highways make up most of the city, complete with shortcuts, alleyways, parking lots and railway tracks. As you continue to explore, you will find various other locations, including an industrial park, a shipyard, an abandoned airstrip, a large public park, and miles of highways that twist their way through the games moody mountain range.
Throughout this world are things that will be familiar to Burnout Paradise fans: security gates make a comeback (where you have to find and smash all the flashing fences across the world) as well as billboards (all of which - in the first product-placement-based-marketing-scheme that I've ever approved of - all feature the names of different EA development teams) which must be smashed through. In a nice twist, when the billboards respawn, they are complete with a copy of your profile (assuming you achieved the furthest jump as a result) on all your friends' games. There are also speed cameras dotted around the world, which you must find and... well... speed past.

Much like Burnout, there are various drive-through repair centres dotted across the map, where you can repair your vehicle on-the-fly, while also recovering your boost. However, instead of having to find a garage to switch vehicles, you switch by pulling up to a 'jack-spot' for the vehicle you want, and with a press of a button, you're driving that car. Of course, this being a Need for Speed game, all the vehicles are officially licensed, and handle appropriately. All vehicles can be damaged, both visually and physically, and Burnout's 'crash-cinematics' are present and waiting for you every time you fly off a highway and into the path of a lorry.

The events themselves are pretty straight forward. Each vehicle has five events associated with it (1 easy, 2 medium and 2 hard). Successfully coming first or second in a race grants you new customisation for your vehicle, allowing you to upgrade and change the tyres, chassis, gears and boost systems. Vehicle events vary between straight races (checkpoint race from A to B against opponents), circuit races (complete a certain number of laps against opponents), endurance races (drive from A to B while keeping your average speed as high as possible) and pursuits (escape the police as quickly as possible). On top of these events, there are Most Wanted events, unlocked when you have gained enough speed points to be noticed by that driver.

Most Wanted events consist of an unusually long A to B race, usually heavily involving the police. Upon successfully completing the race, the driver of the opposing car continues to drive around Fairhaven, waiting for you to shut him down - another feature lifted almost directly from Burnout Paradise. The police roam Fairhaven, and a pursuit against them can be started at any time by ramming them, driving quickly past them, or... basically anything else.

On a whole, if you're a big fan of Burnout Paradise, and you're waiting for the next part of the series, don't overlook Most Wanted. It's a spiritual successor to Paradise if ever there was one.

Graphics: 9/10
Combining Burnout's lush environments, Hot Pursuit's impressive graphics and Battlefield 3's 'Star Trek' inspired flare-lighting, the game looks absolutely stunning. There are occasionally small drops in framerate when there are a lot of police in pursuit, but apart from that, there's very little to complain about here.

Sound: 8/10
Engine sounds are very good, although there are occasional glitches when the police-sirens won't stop even when you're blocks away from any police cars. The game's soundtrack is good, with songs by Muse, and even some remixes of The Who tracks. Unfortunately, to hear the music, you have to turn the games sound effects way down - not really a problem, though. The game also supports listening to your own music, although this must be done by creating a playlist on your PS3 before booting up the game.

Gameplay and Controls: 9/10
The game plays extremely smoothly, with controls that are very easy to learn. The games also utilises EasyDrive, which was first introduced to Burnout Paradise, and allows you to select events, set satnav locations, go online and customise your vehicle, all without leaving gameplay.

Longevity: 9+/10
So much content here. Each of the games 55 vehicle has 5 races attached to it, and there are also 10 Most Wanted races, 3 sets of collectibles and endless opportunities to take part in pursuits. Plus the games boasts a robust online mode (similar to Burnout Paradise in almost every respect). Unfortunately, the game doesn't yet support local multiplayer. Additionally, if Criterion support this game in the same way they supported Burnout Paradise, then we could be seeing dozens of hours of content added in the coming months. It's not guarantee, but I'm certainly hoping for it.

Overall: 9/10
A great racing game, which will make any Burnout Paradise fan extremely happy. Need for Speed fans may be a little disappointed by the lack of visual customisation, but I truly think this is a fantastic follow up to the series, and is a true reflection of Criterion Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new style of Need for Speed, but with some glaring annoyances, 9 April 2013
By 
Charlie Styr (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
This review is fairly late in terms of the fact that most people who would want this game will have bought it by now, but I feel it's worth commenting on some of the strange aspects of this game that make it good, but somewhat aggravating. Having played this game, I come to the conclusion that good or 'addictive' games generally fall into two categories: 1) simply great, and a pleasure to play so you play through to the end, 2) aggravating and irritating so you keep playing almost to spite the game.

So, having lead with that lets move on to the game. I am a casual gamer who plays infrequently, just for reference!

The good things are this is a great game to just sit down with and play, it's quick and easy to just jump in a car and start some races. A new style of NFS, in that you don't have to work your way up from the 'cheap' cars to the super cars, you can just use anything.

The races are engaging, the physics generally enjoyable and the control system works well. It's easy enough to get drifting and balance you speed and cornering. Furthermore the graphics and sound effects are good, with a good atmosphere almost all the time, and I enjoy the sound twisting from using nitrous and other things. Engine notes are also decently varied.

The list of things I don't like is much longer, but I must stress that the good parts outlined above although small in volume are very important, and just (just!) outweigh these issues:

- The "crashed" system, and related cutscene. When you have a "bad" crash, the car stops for a moment and you watch a scene of your car wrecked, and usually all the other racers shoot by at that point, putting you at the back of the race. The problem here is that what determines a "bad" crash is extremely variable, sometimes you may smack into a non-racing car at over 100mph and nothing happens, other times you may scrape sideways along a barrier at less than 50mph and boom, crash cutscene! The cutscene takes a while and is frustrating to watch when what causes it is so incongruous. After you've had to watch the cutscene many times in a race, you can get extremely fed up.

- When you are in a race, or finish a race there is no quick way to restart the race. This definitely goes under the 'glaring omission' heading. If you have totally messed up a race you have to go through the (just about acceptable) menu system to get back out of the race, and then use the menu system to retry the previous event. This is an unnecessarily long route. Similarly at the end of the race it will load back out of the race before you have the option to retry. I've never played a racing game where you can't just pause and restart a race, nor even restart immediately at the end of a race - frustrating.

- Similarly, and adding to the frustration if you restart a race regularly; every time you start a race the game loads a cutscene video thing. Admittedly some of these look quite cool, but they take a while to load, and then once you've seen them once (or even if you haven't) you skip it. So, you have to wait for a race to end and load back into free roam before you can restart a race, and once you've done that the game then spends a good chunk of time loading a cutscene, starts the cutscene, and then eventually you can skip it, before you actually get to the beginning of the race. I fear 'frustrating' is getting overused here but it is the main accurate description!

The above are my main aggravations from the game, but there are a few niggles as well:

- your progress through the game is unclear, e.g. "how many races have I completed with that car?" is only checkable by going into the car (loading it...) and then flicking through to the race list for that car and guessing from the slither of colour by the race name what position you came.

- the music is limited, and also not that new. Dizzee Rascal - Bonkers again? really? I would appreciate things mostly current, and certainly a few more tracks. Surely there's some spare room on that blu-ray?! [edit: looking at a soundtrack list online, there appear to be some songs I haven't heard, perhaps UK/EU version has less? either way it could use at least a doubling of the soundtrack size]

- Music changes regularly when you do things with the menu system e.g. start a race, and at some points I found myself hearing the first 20-30s of songs repeatedly as I did things in the game which gets tiring.

- The game is a tad buggy, I've had it crash a few times, especially when mixing into multiplayer and single player. In fact one crash was so bad it corrupted my save file and I lost my progress entirely. Thankfully I had already completed the single player story line, and gotten most of the trophies. If you hadn't though that would be extremely frustrating. I recommend backing up your save game if you are trophy hunting.

---

So, despite a long list of negatives, I have to say I still overall enjoyed the game. I completed the story line and then got all the trophies in order to get the platinum trophy. It isn't excessively challenging, but it's decent fun. Particularly, the new 'instant accessibility' approach makes it quite quick and easy to have a lot of fun and mess around in all the cars which is nice.

The negatives overall made me frustrated with the game however, and by getting the platinum trophy I didn't feel a sense of accomplishment as much as I felt satisfaction in beating the game for all the mess it puts you through with excessive loading and cutscenes (and if you are unlucky total system crashes).

In summary the good qualities of the game outweigh the negatives, but only just hence my three star rating. I would recommend this game to a casual gamer who likes cars and racing games. If you are proficient with odd menu systems and don't mind waiting for loading times and cutscenes that would help as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Criterion Games do it again.. But don't pay too much for a Second Hand One!, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. S. D. Carroll "Tonedef Rockstar!" (Manchester, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
Criterion Games in my opinion do the best arcade car games.
If you love Burnout Paradise game which was one of the first car games put on the PS3 & a game that is still very active online so if you can find Burnout Paradise cheep I would recommend getting it even thou the graphics are not as well as other PS3 Car games now it has the just an amazing game play.

Then there is there Second PS3 Car game Need For Speed:Hot Pursuit this is a great game as you get chased by the Police on some of the races also the other good thing about this one is that you can be the Police in the game which I liked it reminded me of the Classic Arcade Game Chase HQ but you do it online against people taking turns in being the Racer & The Police in one of the online Games.
But it has not got the same come back appeal as Burnout has!

Right let's get to this one now this one has been set up like Burnout Paradise but with real cars! (Burnout is made up of made up cars that are look alike of other cars) So if you like to play Burnout this game is for you the only difference is you don't need to go a Junk Yard to change your car as the cars are hidden in the game all around and as soon as you find them you can drive it then if you change your mind and want to go back to your previous car you can ether drive to where you found it or just go back to driving it. The other difference is there are Police patrolling around the city & if you are speeding (which you will be) or bump in to one (Or the Police car bumps in to you!) then they chase you and it sounds like the chase games in Hot Pursuit, But there is something very funny about these Police in the game if you are not speeding but on the wrong side of the road you can just pass them which on the Motorway or Dual Carriageway is odd.

ONLINE!!!!!
Now here is why I have given the Warning about Second Hand Versions of the game if you like to play online and you get a Second Hand one you will be Charged 7.99 (so add this on your Second Hand Price) to do this but not only that if you get a NEW ONE & your PS3 has more then one login as I have a login my partner has a login & my two girls have a log in's on my PS3.

SO MAKE SURE THAT THE MAIN PLAYER OF THE GAME HAS THE ONLINE PASS!!!!

Lucky for me I am the only car game player on my PS3 but if my girls wanted to play the game I would have to pay 7.99 so that is 15.98 for them both to play online!

The Online game is set up in a smilier way to Burnout's online game you drive around and wait for the Host (that may be you) to select a challenge or a race to do but unlike the races on Burnout where they just start you have to race to the races start points and the first one there gets Online Speed Points to unlock the cars you use online & the upgrades for the cars (You have Speed Points in the main game to these help unlock the Online Cars but not the online upgrades) there are also challenges to do with your online friends to do to like everyone Jump a certain distance, Get so many near misses or Drifting so far like Burnout Paradise!

The only thing missing in the online game that may be add later is being able to be the Police online & maybe in the main game like in Hot Pursuit, But then you could always buy Need For Speed Hot Pursuit for that because that & Burnout Paradise to play online games, Second Hand as they don't have Online Restrictions so you can get the Second Hand One's to do that with!

Overall A Great Game With ONLY ONE DOWNFALL The Online Pass for all the PS3 users on YOUR PS3 to play it Online if other family members like to Play Car Games Too!
That is why I Gave It Four Star's in the Game Overall it would of been Five Stars (Which is why I gave it 5 Stars In FUN!) if EA was not so Greedy!

But that is there way of making money off the Second Hand Market Now!
But it also effects people who buy a new one with more then one Login on their PS3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need For Speed Most Wanted Burnout Style, 17 Jan 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
short and sweet on the matter.....

this games resembles too much like Burnout Paradise and not remotely what the first Most wanted was all about which is very sad as i don't fancy running around hunting billboards and security gates :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half Hearted, 31 Dec 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
I love the Need for Speed franchise for it's simplicity and the ability to just pick up and go. This game still has that, doesn't require you to worry about minute details like gear ratios and is all-round just fun to play. Upgrades on the cars are even simpler/less of them so you spend less time with a slow car and more time just racing for the fun of it.

The problem is that that's where it stops. The game has little in-line with a master-plan (10 easy Most Wanted races) and just simplifies and rehashes old concepts. There's probably about 10 different races/tracks in total, with each car you get 5 of these, then the races are recycled for each car. Once you get good at the game you spend about 30 minutes driving each car.

It feels like a half finished game and is quite buggy. Numerous times I "crashed" because the road didn't appear. To top it off, if you want to "unlock" further races/much sought-after cars (i.e. McLaren F1), you have to buy the "Ultimate Speed Pack".

All in all, the game would justify an arcade-game price 5-10, but doesn't qualify for the price I paid for it when it was new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 50% video game 50% advertisement for DLC, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Orri Tomasson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a pretty cool game in many ways.

But it doesn't feel like you're playing the full version of a game. It is some how like a cross between a demo and a full version. You are constantly comming across cars and stuff that you must pay more for in order to access.

I have nothing against offering DLC for sale, but it should absolutely not be integrated so much into the game itself. When you pay that kind of money for a game, you should get a complete game and when you play it you should have the feeling that you are playing a complete game instead of that you are not getting everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a patch on the original, 20 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
Right,

I am not a feedback troll. Heck I don't do many reviews at all. Have a look if you will.
But I feel I have to chime in purely because I feel that the average score for this game is way too high.

This review is for the benefit of those that loved the original NFS MW. Stop reading if you're too young to remember.

This game has some of the concepts from the 2004 original, but it's no way as much fun.

Yes, there is a blacklist you have to climb to become 'most wanted', but the game's focus isn't at all on climbing that blacklist. The blacklist is more of a side challenge.

You don't even need to challenge any of the blacklist events to climb the blacklist. You can roam around, antagonise the cops and do (and redo) random races and you *will* slowly climb that list.
All the way to the top if you want. Without having raced any of the blacklist drivers. In fact, you could 'do' the blacklist in any order at any time as long as you're higher up the list as the racer you wish to challenge.

I loved the fact that in the original, you had to achieve certain goals for you to get a look in to challenge the next blacklist driver.

In the original, you had a budget that increased with wins. You couldn't just free roam, find the fastest car and race it. You had to earn it. Or win it (pink slip) from a blacklist driver. This gave the original a nice progression where you started with an underpowered run-of-the-mill car and work your way up to the big league.
As you can guess, the reason I bring this up is because the new NFS MW allows you to drive *any* car straight from the get-go. I suppose quite a few people will disagree with me on this one.

Also, there are no characters in this game. There is no antagonist like Razor. No actual people occupying the blacklist spots. No cop with a grudge. No attractive woman that helps you along. No one. It's just you vs. faceless drivers.

The original was also more sim-like. You couldn't go full throttle drifting through the tightest bends. You also had to ease the car away from standstill to prevent wheel spin.

Another gripe. I LOVED the way you could lose cops in the original by collapsing structures in your wake during the pursuits. There's none of that now. The only thing between you and the bust is the car you drive and how you drive it.
Also, if you got busted more than three times your car would get impounded. That pretty much ensured that you would do anything to prevent you getting busted.
In the new NFS MW there are no penalties for getting busted. At worst you fail your ambush challenge.

I presume that most people who bought the criterion games drive the cars from the 3rd 'person' view. I like to call this the arcadey "daytona" viewpoint.
I, however, prefer to have the cockpit view. Now, you *can* switch out of external view in the new NFS MW, but to call it cockpit view would be an injustice. It's more a front-license-plate view. Basically way too low down and too much forward.
IIRC criterion did have this right for NFS HP, so exactly why their developers decided that people might like this 'in-car' viewpoint better is unimaginable.

In summary; the new NFS MW is a great game if you like previous criterion titles, but those who love the original should be aware that the 5 star reviews here don't mean the revamp does the original any justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun driving game, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
My son has only just started playing on the ps3 & being car mad thought he'd like a driving game. He loves it. Different areas to have races & he loves crashing the car & driving away from the police! For the price this was an excellent purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
Fantastic gaming. Exciting action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy again, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) (Video Game)
Loved all the need for speed games apart from 1. This is good how you can jump into any car if you find them dotted around town
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3)
Need for Speed Most Wanted (PS3) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation 3)
9.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews