Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (228)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product. great price
it was in great condition and at a really low price. Works absolutely fine and case is in great condition. A++++
Published 10 months ago by Joseph

versus
90 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or loathe it, i like my fence...
Another year, another call of duty sequel. Once again opinion swings erratically from person to person with some swearing blind to viewpoints which others see as ludicrous. This makes it enormously difficult to review. But i'm going to anyway.

I'll focus on the multiplayer here as thats the mainstream appeal of the franchise. Zombies and the campaign are what...
Published 23 months ago by Hooch


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product. great price, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
it was in great condition and at a really low price. Works absolutely fine and case is in great condition. A++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love it or loathe it, i like my fence..., 22 Nov 2012
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Another year, another call of duty sequel. Once again opinion swings erratically from person to person with some swearing blind to viewpoints which others see as ludicrous. This makes it enormously difficult to review. But i'm going to anyway.

I'll focus on the multiplayer here as thats the mainstream appeal of the franchise. Zombies and the campaign are what they are. I enjoy them and if you liked them from previous call of duty titles i fail to see how you could dislike the offerings of black ops 2. I'll say i enjoyed this campaign more than the original black ops.

So, the multiplayer. As always, the usual rocks are being thrown at a fresh CoD window. 'A field day for campers,' 'bad servers', 'terrible spawning,' 'bad connection', 'requires no skill', 'the same as last year,' 'cash cow', 'terrible maps' etc etc. As far as i'm concerned, pretty much EVERY call of duty experiences these issues. I'm not saying these criticisms are simply wrong. What i am saying is that these problems are not unique to black ops 2. Certainly for me Call of Duty is becoming increasingly stale as the years go by so these criticisms are becoming louder and more commonplace. No, it will never be the way it was in the good ol CoD 4 days. A shame, but inevitable.

Anyway, i'll kick off with the maps. It's clear from the off that every attempt has been made to compartmentalise larger battlegrounds. If you plan on camping, be aware you're going to have to do it damn well or as part of a team to pull it off because there are very few areas which involve a single area which needs watching. You'll need eyes in the back of your head and a rather dull philosophy on how the game should be played to succeed at sitting around. Maps like carrier and turbine are a large blend of open areas with indoor cover to offer variety, and contrast drastically in atmosphere. As does the distinctly WWII feeling standoff and the casual modernity of Plaza. Sure, there are places to sit but unlike previous CoDs you're highly unlikely to survive there for long. The graphics are sleek, but for me lack the realism and grittiness of the original black ops. Maybe thats to be expected from a futuristic setting.

As for spawning, I can't help but laugh. Its worse than previous titles. Much worse. But it seems intentional to me. If you charge off away from your teammates to an unoccupied area then black ops 2 will flip you the bird and spawn your opponents around you in abundance, pretty much behind you in some instances. Hint: work as a team! I see the idea behind this, but i dislike the result. Personally i find it very difficult to string any killstreaks together or even get a handle on where my enemies are during matches. Unless you're an absolute speed demon with a good internet connection, prepare to die. A lot.

On to the new loadout system. Ten slots to fill with what you wish, however you wish. Want more perks, you'll need to make sacrifices elsewhere, be it weapon attachments or grenades. For me, this is how create a class was meant to be. Black ops 2 doesn't restrict you in the way previous CoDs have with regard to how you want to play. What it does do is balance out the classes excellently. In previous titles, perks such as assassin/ghost have been greatly overpowered. If you want to be a stealth machine on black ops 2, you're going to need a plethora of perks to make the grade (cold blooded, ghost and blind eye are all seperate perks which you'll need to shell out a slot for.) Gone are CoD points and back is the unlock as you progress system. You also gain tokens as you level up to spend on newly available options to customise your loadout. So choose carefully!

I like the gun selection. There are new ones to use and new customisations to be put on them e.g. the new target finder sight to identify enemies with a specialised reticle. Gun levelling also makes a welcome return. I've noticed that a lot of people have identified certain guns/smgs as overpowered. Well, anyone remember the ACR/MP7 from MW3? Frankly, the people who use these guns are just as killable as everyone else. If all guns were the same/underpowered, then it would irritate me more to be quite honest. Personally i've been a fan of the SCAR since MW2 and i'm delighted to see it make a return. It serves me well and as such i pay very little attention to what other people are using. Frankly, i don't care.

Scorestreaks. Well, despite the fact i rarely get above a dragonfire, i think the principle is a step in the right direction. You are rewarded with points toward a streak for doing pretty much anything which benefits your team, from destroying a bouncing betty to suppressing an opponent with a guardian turret. Great. Mostly, these scorestreaks are revamped versions of existing killstreaks e.g. Lightning strike is simply a sexed up mortar team from the original black ops. Another minor difference is that care package rewards such as the death machine are now kept until the end of a match rather than your next death. A welcome bonus!

So, to conclude this slightly long winded review i'll clear up my rather ambiguous position. I like the game. It surprises me that they marketed this as a sequel to Black Ops. With the obvious exception of the campaign, it bares no resemblance to the original in my eyes. Yes, it has its flaws but no, these are hardly shocks to the system. If you're getting tired of CoD and buy this game with expectations of a brand new gaming experience then prepare to be disappointed. Personally, i find it very difficult to pick up this game and get into it from the off as i could with B Ops 1, hence the 3 stars. It is however a step away from both its predecessor and modern warfare as far as i'm concerned, or perhaps even a balance between the two at a stretch. Either way, a unanimous 'we love you' from CoD fans was never a viable possibility. I'm sure we can all agree on that at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Another good purchase. Meets the expectation of the reviews and well liked for it's intended audience but note the age label
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzzzzzzzzzzing, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The words used by my grandson! He had been begging us for this game for ages and then with the price doing a slight 'slump', we brought it for him. If you liked Black Ops I, then this is definitely the an excellent follow-up game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Best of the CoD games to date in my opinion. Good campaign, and the online player features are fantastic, bought this as a second copy so other members of my family can play online with me in another room !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought this game for my son and he loves it, one of his favourite games to play on line with others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best COD in years, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The hatred this game has received from trolls is totally unjustified. The visuals push the 360 to the limits and the levels set in the future are truly outstanding in terms of quality, originality and creativity. The one negative is that the levels set in the past feel more like bog standard COD fare and are not quite as impressive.
The multiplayer is the best in the series to date with excellent maps - my favourite being set at the foot of an erupting volcano.
For my money this is the best FPS released in recent years and certainly the best COD since MW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Advertised, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Arrived on time and in new condition although it wasnt for myself as far as I know it was everything it was advertised to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 30 Sep 2014
By 
Chris Smith "Chris" (Carmarthen, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The 2nd installment of the Black Ops series lets you play as David Mason, Alex Mason and Frank Woods. Majority of this game is set in 2025 where you play as David Mason or Farid (One Mission) to track down and kill Raul Menendez after Alex Mason failed too kill him after rescuing Woods from the barge. Unfortunately a turn of events results in Woods killing one of the most trusted characters in the franchise after being betrayed by Manuel Noriega. This turn of events really gets the game going afterwards as everything starts becoming true to David Mason. I found it incredible especially the multiplayer and zombies modes. Without these two options the game would lack behind the original Black Ops hugely. I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must own call duty for the multiplayer ..Single player game is awesome also., 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Brilliant story and single player game and there is no coop yet what makes this game a must own is the multiplayer games which at the time of release set a new bar..
Multiplayer is kinda like doom with tons of maps and options and different variants you can set to win.. Most first person shooters will have something similar its just call of duty 2 does if the best.
I Don't play the single player game that much any more but multiplayer is big favourite of friends and family with xbox gold online.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty: Black Ops II [Standard edition] (Xbox 360)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews