Customer Reviews


214 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (47)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works as described
It's hard to write an in depth review of this, as it's a fairly simple product, but the highest recommendation I can give to anything is to simply say it works. It allows connection of 2.5 and 3.5 inch hard drives, and the transfer rate is acceptable. The majority of people will probably use this in case of emergency, to recover a hard drive for example, so it may get...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. Damian J. McGrath

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good multi-purpose docking station
This docking station is ideal if you have some spare internal drives and need the extra capacity. It supports any 2.5" or 3.5" SATA drive, and can also support many IDE drives in the second bay with the aid of an adjustable power connector; however, not all IDE drives will fit (due to the lack of consistent standards among them) so you may need to keep an IDE...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. I. Simms


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good multi-purpose docking station, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
This docking station is ideal if you have some spare internal drives and need the extra capacity. It supports any 2.5" or 3.5" SATA drive, and can also support many IDE drives in the second bay with the aid of an adjustable power connector; however, not all IDE drives will fit (due to the lack of consistent standards among them) so you may need to keep an IDE cable and 4-pin power connector handy just in case. Drive performance over eSATA is excellent, leaving plenty of speed for the integrated card reader and USB 2.0, two-port hub.

This dock also includes a multi-function button that can be used for one-touch backups and/or disk cloning using the included software, however this is Windows only so I was unable to test it. The included English instructions are also largely indecipherable, so I can't comment on the "offline" (standalone, no computer) disk-cloning functionality either.

However, it is important to note that this dock has serious performance and compatibility problems when using USB only; if you do not have an eSATA port available (or cannot affordably add one) then this dock is not ideal, as drive performance will suffer greatly when the hub and/or card reader are in use (even if devices are simply connected), and there is some kind of major problem with how disks are identified by the dock over USB, resulting in incompatible block sizes if you remove the disk and insert it into another dock or computer.

So, if you have an eSATA port then for the price this dock packs a lot in with both a SATA and IDE dock, and an integrated card reader and two-port USB hub. However, if you only have USB then you will want to look for other, USB only docks for greater compatibility and performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works as described, 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Damian J. McGrath (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
It's hard to write an in depth review of this, as it's a fairly simple product, but the highest recommendation I can give to anything is to simply say it works. It allows connection of 2.5 and 3.5 inch hard drives, and the transfer rate is acceptable. The majority of people will probably use this in case of emergency, to recover a hard drive for example, so it may get limited use. As a result, the build quality and transfer rate don't need to be amazing. Most of the time, you're just happy to have recovered the data!

My one and only criticism is that this product does too much. It has too many connections and options, which is the reason for the fairly high price. Most people buying this will only need one of the connection options, so you may be worth searching on Amazon for a dock that does that one job, which will probably be for a cheaper price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: not suitable for Western Digital drives., 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Will not work with Western Digital IDE drives, see http://www.onsite-computers.co.uk/hard-drive-docking-station.html and http://www.techrepublic.com/forums/discussions/hdd-docking-station-problem/. Since I wanted a USB dock to extract data from 2 WD drives from an old PC with failed power supply this item proved useless. A Dynamode 3.5" External hard disk enclosure I subsequently purchased from Maplins works perfectly with the WD drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not good not working, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Bought item and once delivered excited as to the nice looks etc.
Also by using the slider on the underside which allows the user to adjust the power Molex plug for the ide type drive (which a lot of other buyers seem to have not used or realised is there) and have problems with ie ide bad fit, also quite happy with it.
Now the bad thing....When powered up both lights (red and blue) remained on (static) only one light should be on and the other should flash when hhd is plugged into it. Item was obviously faulty. This was manufactures fault and not Amazon's.
Has a lot of things from China are mass produced so are a lot of faulty goods.
Amazon were really helpful and allowed me to return with no costs to myself for a full refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I was stupid enough to ignore the bad reviews for this item, 20 Oct. 2014
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Don't go near this. I was stupid enough to ignore the bad reviews for this item. I tried to get this to work for a week and have finally given up. I'm returning it to Amazon today. The hard drives disconnect at random which have caused data to be lost. The SD card with photos which I plugged in the socket also disconnected at random and made it impossible to copy anything from the SD card to the hard drive. Incidentally the SD card has to be inserted upside-down for some strange reason. I would never trust another of these docking stations, even if this was just a faulty one. I would rather pay a bit more and get something I know I can trust to keep my data safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It works, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Been using this for a month now with no problems.

Plastic feels cheap and led lights are too bright.

But I didn't buy it for aesthetics, it's been reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nearly set my house on fire, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Seriously this product nearly set my house on fire, I bought this product in march and though at first looks nice will do was quite happy. although it is quite plasticy . After 2 months I was using and it and it was smoking never dangerous plastic electric smoke. It poured smoke my room filled up with smoke. Luckly I unplugged it.THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PRODUCT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Windows compatibility issues, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Although the product was delivered on time I had mass amounts of problems as after lots of online research found out it was not compatible with Windows 7 and had to return for my money back - should be written in the description about compatibility issues !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheaply made China product which isn't fit for purpose, do not buy!, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
Simply avoid this product! This is a cheaply made China special. The power plug which comes with it is so badly made it doesn't fit a UK power socket. The wording on the side says it all, "This product does not match with the graphic, please kind prevail!" Apart from the awful grammar, the product feels like something out of the Pound Shop, however I think even they have some standards which this would fail to meet!

Save yourself the hassle and buy something better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke after 5 months, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2.5" 3.5" SATA/IDE HDD 2-Dock Docking Station e-SATA Hub
This is a poor docking station Usb ports packed up after 3 months. Don't buy not recommended. Try and find another make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews