Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, but collect carefully...
As with all popular commercially labelled compilations such as the famous MINISTRY OF SOUND collections, you get sucked into buying more than one volume and in the case of the awesome and somewhat eclectic eighties playlists that have now lent themselves to MOS stretched out over 4 volumes, you suffer from slight misleading repeats and dire tracks that the 80's forgot -...
Published 20 months ago by DJ Quinny

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More 80s pop, than 80s electronic - if you ask me
Ministry of Sound returns to its "Electronic" compilation series after a 2 year gap that they tried and failed to fill with Anthems Alternative 80s.

It's a case of the law of diminishing returns I'm afraid for what I would predict might be the last of this series. Volume three suffers more than the previous volumes from licensing restrictions apparently...
Published 21 months ago by Colin Mccartney


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, but collect carefully..., 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
As with all popular commercially labelled compilations such as the famous MINISTRY OF SOUND collections, you get sucked into buying more than one volume and in the case of the awesome and somewhat eclectic eighties playlists that have now lent themselves to MOS stretched out over 4 volumes, you suffer from slight misleading repeats and dire tracks that the 80's forgot - and for good reason.

As an 80's addict and DJ, I'm woefully compelled to buying this latest (and hopefully last) edition to happily conclude being a victim to the Anthems Electronic 80's journey.
By all means, buy this if you have the original and part 2, but be warned, if like me, you were coerced into eagerly buying the Anthems Alternative 80's album which sneakily perverts the same format and tweaked artwork from the original and it's excellent predecessor, you'll be miffed at the fact that some tracks exist on the Volume 3.

Talking Heads - And She Said and Kate Bush - Running Up That Hill springs to mind immediately. Also there are some real 'fillers' in here like 'Flash & The Pan - Waiting For A Train' that pad out the second CD making it a real coffee cup coaster at times. 'Jan Hammer's - Crockett's Theme' slows down the tempo and should of been the Miami Vice theme which would of added more balance.
Blondie appears with 'Heart Of Glass' which probably appears to be on nearly every 80's collection on the planet - even though my muso-mind forgives this song for being a 1970's classic.

All in all, the seductive shiny poolside skyscraper artwork this colourful packaging initially distracts the fact that mostly 70% of the album has been plucked from the 'usual suspects' of 'OMD' and 'Human League' and the introduction of 2 great songs from 'Erasure' and the belated introduction of the 80's Aussie rocksters - 'INXS'.
It remains for me to say this album is worth the cost of 2 pints of beer in your local pretentious bar, certainly worth nestling besides the others to complete a satisfying and let's hope, complete 4 Volume Electronic 80's collection from this franchise. I don't think there's much scope for Volume 4 since they've diluted most of the Electronic artists Greatest Hits already but never say never with MOS since I feel they could create a Anthems Electronic 80's Chilled volume if they thought about it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A happy customer., 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Anthems electronic 80,s 3 is an enjoyable mix of 80,s music. The CD was delivered on time and in excellent condition. The service I received was excellent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More 80s pop, than 80s electronic - if you ask me, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Ministry of Sound returns to its "Electronic" compilation series after a 2 year gap that they tried and failed to fill with Anthems Alternative 80s.

It's a case of the law of diminishing returns I'm afraid for what I would predict might be the last of this series. Volume three suffers more than the previous volumes from licensing restrictions apparently limiting the song selections. Plus, it seems to have been compiled by some sort of LastFM-type algorithm rather than a human. And as for the dude who wrote the liner notes, the less said about him the better: some sort of lame attempt to appeal to the Hollister generation, maybe? And he doesn't seem to have listened to the CDs either. He uses about 10% of the word-count reminiscing about a song that's not even on here (Simple Minds "Don't You Forget About Me").

What of the music? The usual suspects feature across the three discs: New Order ("Confusion" - Substance re-recording, not the original, sadly), Joy Division, Human League, Nu Shooz, Yello, Herbie Hancock ("Rockit"), Jan Hammer, Harold Faltermeyer, Visage, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Ultravox, Gary Numan, Erasure. Like these artists or not - you would expect to find them on an electronic pop compilation, so fair do's. Then there's the unexpected, though still worthy inclusions: Swing Out Sister, Joe Jackson, Talk Talk, The Dream Academy, Blondie, Go West, The Cure, Roxy Music, Tears for Fears, The Associates, Animotion, Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel AND Phil Lynott/Midge Ure's "Yellow Pearl" (an old "Top of the Pops" theme tune many will remember)...but, good though these artists are they're not exactly the first names that would spring to mind to feature on an episode of "Synth Britannia", are they? And then padded out with the likes of Wang Chung, The Thompson Twins, Duran Duran, King, INXS - well, you can see why this compilation lacks the character of the first two.

Whilst Anthems - Electronic 80s and Anthems Electronic 80S 2 largely satisfied, number three just makes me want to go and check out the Chromatics' LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
H. Newman (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars like 80s music, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
songs i 2heard when i was rolling skating.music was brilliant then.music is super all the time. . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad loves it, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Bought this for my Dad for Christmas 2012. He was delighted with the present at the time and even in 2014 he's still playing it from time-to-time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My era, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
This is the music from my teens and early 20s, it's just my era and it brought back many memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Becoming increasingly less 'electronic' - simply another '80s' compilation, 10 April 2014
By 
C. Hyams "ChrisHyams" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Another somewhat dissappointing outing from MOS, which has clearly been compiled by people who either did'nt live through the 80s or have no concept as to what electronic music is (or 'was' back then). Literally half of the compositions on here are certainly not what anyone would call electro or synthpop in any sense whatsoever, with the compilers simply throwing together a bunch of generic 80s hits onto three discs and hoping that the MOS name will 'shift units' regardless of relevant musical content. It's so shoddy that I'm surprised 'The Birdy Song' does'nt get an outing (at least it was synth-based !). Depeche Mode still don't feature for a third time so quite clearly some kind of rights issue is involved.

Would like to have seen the likes of The The (This Is The Day), The Assembly (Never Never), New Order (Technique, not Confusion !), PhD (I Won't Let You Down), Trans-X (Living On Video), Jon & Vangelis (I'll Find My Way Home), Japan (Methods of Dance or Life In Tokyo), PSBs (It's A Sin or Left To My Own Devices), David Sylvian-Ryuichi Sakamoto (Bamboo Houses), Bauhaus (Kick In The Eye), Bowie (Ashes To Ashes, not China Girl !), Siouxie ('Israel', not Dear Prudence !), Godley & Creme (Under Your Thumb), Peter Gabriel (Games Without Frontiers, not Sledgehammer !), Yazoo (Bring Your Love Down), The Cure (A Forest or Charlotte Sometimes, not The Walk !), Cabaret Voltaire (Just Fascination), H20 (I Dream To Sleep) and even the cheesy Aneka hit 'Japanese Boy'. the list goes on.

There are certainly around 30-odd genuinely good 'electro' selections on here so it's not a complete dead loss (so you are only getting around one-third's worth of 'electronic' 80s stuff). On the whole this is yet another missed opportunity by MOS and no doubt volume 4 (should it ever materialise) must strive to do a lot better then this, given the vast amount of relevant material out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great eighties, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loads of solid classics - two thirds brill which is a good percentage. I was boosting up my compliations for nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Anthems 80s 3, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Electronic 80s 3 (Audio CD)
Came on time and it sounded alright, but there was some i didn't know which i thought i did . I would recommend it if people like ministry of sound music like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthems Electronic 80s 3
Anthems Electronic 80s 3 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews