Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (82)
3 star:
 (51)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray IS better than the DVD and here's why :
Ok so some people did not understand the way this film was shot. It was SUPPOSED to be grainy and gritty. The film I will not review apart from to say I think its superb and a very different take on the story with the focus on the personal human desperation and emotions with the acting being top notch. The blu ray version offers one thing above the DVD in spades ( as they...
Published 20 months ago by Johan RF

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice SFX, pity about the story...
One day (he said hopefully) someone will make WOTW the way it was written, in Victorian England, with the British Empire at the height of its powers (but relatively primitive by today's standards) confronted with a vastly superior technology and without the imagination to cope (back then, science fiction as a literary genre was Wells and Jules Vernes and that was about...
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by Teemacs


‹ Previous | 131 32 33 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone's a film critic., 2 April 2010
By 
MJ Selwood (Tarn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are lots of reveiws here but I can't understand why. The Blu-Ray has not been released yet so how can it have been reveiwed so many times? Well the answer is of course that it hasn't been reviewed. It's the film that's been reveiwed here. Why? Almost everyone reading these reveiws will already have seen the film and have formed an opinion. Everyone reading these reveiws are doing so because they like the film and may be interested in buying the Blu Ray.
I thought the idea was to reveiw the product on sale and thus give everyone an idea of how good the thing is that they are buying. The only thing at stake here is the quality of the picture, the sound and extras etc.

That's why I've given it three stars because I have not got a clue what the Blu Ray will be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, 2 May 2006
By 
M. Holloway "Ratty" (Down by the river, Deeping) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK so it doesn't follow H G Well's classic book, that said the film was very enjoyable and kept me in suspense, it had more than enough 'going on' and the special effects were excellent, as you would expect from Speilburg.

Overall, it's well worth a watch and nice up-date on the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars War Of The Worlds, 2 Jan 2006
By 
MRS H ROWLEY (Plymouth, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I enjoyed this film, but it was not as great as I was lead to believe. I found it confusing at times, and the ending was unclear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Signs with special effects, 22 Oct 2005
The story is a small thing set on an epic canvas. Effects to die for and solid acting. A great family movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars qaulity film, 31 Mar 2006
By 
R. Wilson "the dude" (leeds, yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a class film, probably one of speilburgs best films. it's gripping and intense. cruise gave it his all and past with flying colours,cast and story was ace. nice one speilburg another masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 17 Feb 2006
By 
The Man from the Ministry (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After reading a lot of negative reviews of this film, I watched it with pretty low expectations and was pleasantly surprised. The film is an exciting rollercoster ride with brilliant special effects and if some people find the plot implausible or the characters unconvincing, I think they're probably watching the wrong movie.
This isn't a film to watch for dazzling insights into the human condition. It barely even qualifies as science fiction. It's a good old-fashioned disaster movie with lots of scary alien spacecraft blasting people and buildings to bits. If you like big explosions, this is the film for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AWWWWFFFUULLL!!!, 2 Sep 2005
Why are people rating this movie as any good??!?!.......It's RUBBISH!!
Does'nt follow the book accuratly has some awful acting by Cruise,..bad set pieces which actually turn out to be hilarious!! Stupid plot twists and general crap all round. Only decent bit is when you first see the tripod things and it's all down hill after that. AVOID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The usual hollywood rubbish, 22 Aug 2005
By A Customer
The usual story of America been threatened by an enemy of some sort. Not worth watching if you want to see a good movie.
If you fancy seeing special effects give it a try...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Question, 30 April 2010
By 
Hugh Kim - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Does anyone know if this blu-ray is region free? Will it play on the U.S. PS3? This is actually a better deal than the North American single disc version, and it's cheaper. I'd prefer to get this over the state side version. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Sci-Fi, 3 April 2006
By A Customer
Spielberg and the cinematographer seem to have wanted to create an ultra real feel to the movie, so from the start the washed out look creates a sense of reality much like the reality we get from watching our home movies recorded on a camcorder.
That's one of the films great achievements. The way Spielberg was taking the idea of battle footage off the news and planting the idea in War of the Worlds.
I think this adds to the tension of the film a lot.
Check this movie out. you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 131 32 33 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews