Customer Reviews


336 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (82)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blu ray IS better than the DVD and here's why :
Ok so some people did not understand the way this film was shot. It was SUPPOSED to be grainy and gritty. The film I will not review apart from to say I think its superb and a very different take on the story with the focus on the personal human desperation and emotions with the acting being top notch. The blu ray version offers one thing above the DVD in spades ( as they...
Published 21 months ago by Johan RF

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice SFX, pity about the story...
One day (he said hopefully) someone will make WOTW the way it was written, in Victorian England, with the British Empire at the height of its powers (but relatively primitive by today's standards) confronted with a vastly superior technology and without the imagination to cope (back then, science fiction as a literary genre was Wells and Jules Vernes and that was about...
Published on 1 Jun 2006 by Teemacs


‹ Previous | 131 32 33 34 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 27 May 2006
By 
This is one of my favourite films, its one of those films you want to watch over and over again. The special effects are awesome, the acting is great,this film has got to be easily 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
My wife and I have a yardstick for how bad a film is; we judge it against probably the worst film we have ever seen - Lost in Translation. War of the Worlds is on a par with it, although for different reasons.
It seems that the majority of the budget has been blown on the special effects, some of which are admittedly spectacular and probably a small home TV screen doesn't do them justice. However very little attention seems to have been paid to characterisation, acting or plot. The most laughable moment is when Tom Cruise's character says; "Listen, it's stopped", refering to the sound of the alien tripods marching across the landscape, and the sound actually continues for a couple of seconds after Cruise has stopped speaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars come back orson welles all is forgiven, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
a real waste of talent for tom cruise im sure he didnt need the money, even the pyrotechnics were pretty below standard in fact the play on radio directed by orson welles was so much more frightening, even allowing for the different time scale.
still i suppose stephen speilberg must be given some slack,,, he cant be a genius all the time . so try harder next time you know you can do it.get tom hanks to help you out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A typical Spielberg winner, 2 May 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'll admit first off that I'm not a Tom Cruise fan at all and usually avoid his films like the plague because I find his performances nothing short of wooden. I am however a Spielberg fan and feel I can usually rely on him to pop out a winning formula in a film. He definitely does this in War of the Worlds.

Tom Cruise plays Ray Ferrier, a recently divorced man whose kids come to visit him for the weekend. News reports start coming in of storms across the globe resulting in contact being lost with those countries affected. Then a storm whips up in New Jersey but it's unlike any storm anyones ever seen before. Shortly thereafter the ground begins to crack and machines start to emerge from underground. Bystanders stop and stare only to be killed where they stand as the machines start their quest to rid the Earth of humanity. Ray Ferrier picks up his kids and heads for Boston to reunite with his ex-wife and hopefully out-run the machines. For much of the film we don't even see the aliens, just their machines. The previews of the film kept their identify under wraps too and I think this added to the suspense.

All in all this was a fantastic thriller with amazing special effects and a convincing performance by Tom Cruise (did I really just say that?!). Dakota Fanning as always was amazing. I did however take one star away for the ending which I found somewhat lacking. It's also a bit scary to think that mankind could do nothing to save themselves and had to rely on nature to save it. All in all a first class film though and one I've already watched twice. I think I'll be adding it to my disaster collection alongside Deep Impact, Armageddon and The Day after Tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THAT HOT ., 2 Dec 2005
By A Customer
If your after a action/adventure ---- Don't buy
compared to the original BUY THE ORIGINAL
The film with good acting of fear/disbelief of aliens ACTUALLY being on/invading earth is good BUT ALL THEY DO IS RUN! ok any one who has seen the original knows that they can't beat the superior race but let's see them trying.There are two scenes where you see the army (one battle scene - 15 TO 25 SECS)and one scene where you see our hero blow one up through grief with grenades but... ITS LIKE THE LIGHTS ON BUT NOBODY AT HOME - OH BUT LETS RUN AWAY.....
MY ADVICE RENT IT FIRST/BORROW THEN DECIDE IF IT'S WORTH YOUR HARD EARNED CASH !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Worlds, 30 Nov 2005
Great remake of a classic! full of none stop action, wicked acting all round and thank goodness no silly sloopy stuff !!! very fast paced and edge of the seat stuff from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, moving and genuinely frightening, 13 Mar 2006
By A Customer
I am shocked by the number of negative reviews - this film is a real treat. Action that is character driven, believable relationships, real fear and emotion.
The film is faithful to HG Wells theme of the ordinary and mundane world threatened by extraordinary events. It is far more intelligent than the average blockbuster and I am sure that posterity will judge it as a classic of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Worlds, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Already got this film on D.V.D.
loved the film so got a copy on Blue Ray
Payed less for it than the origional not bad a ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Everyone's a film critic., 2 April 2010
By 
MJ Selwood (Tarn) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are lots of reveiws here but I can't understand why. The Blu-Ray has not been released yet so how can it have been reveiwed so many times? Well the answer is of course that it hasn't been reviewed. It's the film that's been reveiwed here. Why? Almost everyone reading these reveiws will already have seen the film and have formed an opinion. Everyone reading these reveiws are doing so because they like the film and may be interested in buying the Blu Ray.
I thought the idea was to reveiw the product on sale and thus give everyone an idea of how good the thing is that they are buying. The only thing at stake here is the quality of the picture, the sound and extras etc.

That's why I've given it three stars because I have not got a clue what the Blu Ray will be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, 2 May 2006
By 
M. Holloway "Ratty" (Down by the river, Deeping) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK so it doesn't follow H G Well's classic book, that said the film was very enjoyable and kept me in suspense, it had more than enough 'going on' and the special effects were excellent, as you would expect from Speilburg.

Overall, it's well worth a watch and nice up-date on the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 131 32 33 34 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews