Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This things conned me again., 4 April 2013
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
5 stars for this film , but I already had this teamed up with the remake ,which I bought from Amazon when the price was £7-87 on the 8th Oct 2012 , after reading the reviews I noted one reviewer says 200 minutes ,and Amazon lists 200 mins ,I paid
£9-75 in the Easter sale ,only to open the steel tin ,and find that you have the identical Blu-ray disc in the stand alone plastic box edition ,in a nutshell I have paid £9-75 for a steel box, and it doesn't say 100th Anniversary Edition anywhere on the box ,and I did the same with American Werewolf in London ,bought that in the Steel box edition ,and its the same disc that I have in the copy I bought from H.M.V.
a few years back ,still this is a cracking film ,and now I own this Thing in five editions
'Steelbook' standard plastic edition ' John Carpenter box set DVD)two disc edition DVD ,and U.S Edition DVD ,There's mention of this 200 mins Edition ,(I WONDER??)
This release for 2013 ,is packaging only ,you would think ,they would give you a collectors booklet or cards ,but no you will do what I did ,and think ,WOW! longer edition?? or something new ,like another reviewer says ,even the artwork isn't from the film ,at least you get the same picture on the reverse of the tin .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cult Classic, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
One of John Carpenters best movies, underrated on its initial release (summer of 82) is considered to be one of the finest and scariest horror movies of all time, with top notch directing, acting, an eerie synth score and wild special effects that put to shame today's bland CGI, this is a cult classic( a modern update of the 1950s film " The thing from another world") that shouldn't be missed.

On the minus side of this version I have to say is the cover art, for those that collect these steel-book cases I assume "outside looks" also plays a part too in buying these "limited" editions. The cover art here is just..bad. In the movie there is no green blue eyed "thing" as is so proudly shown to us on the cover art..plus its sort of a giveaway for those who haven't seen the film. Better stick with the original cover art next time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great steelbook, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
Image: 5/5.
Rob Bottin's creatures are wondeful. Watching this movie in HD is a blast.
It is a great steelbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So glad to have all the extras, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
Great picture and sound quality, I imported this for the extras and the steelbook case. Great product, well worth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic film and now with breath taking picture quality, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
Received this extremely quickly, was very happy with the steelbook blu ray case. The picture is crisp when watching it through 1080p! A very good collectors edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iluminadokubrick, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
Muito lindo esse stellbok,recomendo a todos que colecionam filmes excepcionais como esse.O stellbok do the thing prequel 2012 também recomendavel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Horror movie, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
what can you say about this movie other than it is the perfect horror movie. i owned it on vhs, dvd, and now blu. if you are even thinking of sticking with your dvd and not trading up to the blu ray you are really missing a treat.

the colors throughout the movie are amazing. rob bottins special effects, which are spectacular in any format, shine thru like they are living on your screen. simply a beautiful job done on this for blu.

while the steelbook cover art isn't spot on to the movie, which is flesh tone for the faces, i do think it looks cool, which is why i ordered it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great refurbishing!, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
A classic that got it's credits when released and even today, it get's the reward it deserves.
Now on Blu-Ray and even better experience than in the cinemas when originally released.

Absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wowww Directors Cut 200 min in one Disc...., 1 Mar 2013
By 
Andreas Kulus "midge ure" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982] (Blu-ray)
Wowwww finally the Directors Cut 200 min.......? Awesome or did somebody stuffed up.....? Finally the 200 min Directors Cut...? Does it really exist.....? If discription still says 200 min for this Movie do not Buy it till they really fixx up the Proper running Time without any more information.....? Maybe its an Attempt to buy it straight away and in reality MAYBE its only the normal 120 min Version of the Movie but in 3D ? ( my Advice....? )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thing - Steelbook - Universal 100th Anniversary Edition [Blu-ray] [1982]
£32.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews