Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars95
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 April 2013
Overall I am frustrated with this DVD. The actors and storyline are strong and there is definitely a lot of chemistry between the lead characters. However, I could barely hear / understand the dialogue as the audio quality was so poor. I turned the volume up to maximum but then the audio track became deafening and I still struggled to make out what was being said. In the end I had to watch it on my lap top, using headphones and still found it hard to make out the audio!

NEWSFLASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After checking on PECCAPICS website I found the following information regarding the audio on this DVD:

NOTE IF YOU HAVE PURCHASED THE DVD:

To all Nicole Conn fans who have purchased A PERFECT ENDING in the UK and Ireland, the audio default is Dolby digital 5.1. If you do not have this facility, please change the audio selection to stereo 2.0 - This will sort out any sound issues! :) Happy Viewing!
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Barbara Niven & Jessica Clark give amazing performances Jessica Clark specially was UNBELIEVABLE, and she's absolutely gorgeous. very beautiful film and have great on screen chemistry between them only down fall is the very poor sound quality
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
The film is a love story or 'making love' story about Paris (Jessica Clark) who is a young, incredibly beautiful and charasmatic, good-natured, dark-haired woman who works as a high-priced escort but who is also a creative artist by day. Rebecca (Barbara Niven), a blond, straight up, aging middle-aged typical Stepford wife. The initial voice-over also narrates a cancer affliction that has grown beyond hope. The film tries to highlight more serious points than it has time for. For instance it tries to hint at first that the cancer is growing in Mason (John Heard).

Rebecca has lived a Stepford wife existence in creating a perfect family with her husband Mason Westridge (John Heard). The only signs of troubles are their hostility towards each other and a differing in opinion that Jessica (Kerry Knuppe), their only daughter, does not get stock shares of the family business. I watched this film several times to understand the issues raised in it. I felt that the deeper issues of rape, step children's rights and paternal hierarchical power imbalances were not addressed enough. Why raise them ? It was almost like having crumbs left on a plate of what should have been cordon bleu fayre.

Rebecca feels an emptiness and confides in her two lesbian 'besties', Sylvie and Shirin, that she has never climaxed during the act of sex and that she and Mason only do it once every six months, which suits her well. One of her friends suggests that she try a very discreet escort service run by her own cousin Valentina (Morgan Fairchild).

It is then that Rebecca meets Paris and through a series of very discreet meets in a fancy hotel room. At first the very nervous Rebecca tells Paris to leave. The scenes of how Rebecca builds up confidence to see Paris is hilarious. The build up to this is very entertaining.

Although on the surface the 2 women look like they are very together they are both losing the battles of life in getting to a point of satisfaction in life. Paris who is well appreciated by other male clients for her services, seems to be in quiet agony over a past mistake that had led her to this profession. It's implied that Paris' husband died after being hit by a car shortly after their wedding day. It is Rebecca who later helps Paris to let go of the past and heal.

That's the whole point of the film. Much of it is centred around implications. The chemistry between the 3 children who are depicted in their 20s I think is great. They are awkward as a group, almost teenage like but bonded. I thought the capture of the group dynamics for them was good. At the height of all these, the three Westridge children finds the medical document that certifies the melanoma cancer in an inoperable stage that Mason Westridge has been hiding in his office desk. They confront Rebecca and ask if she had known about it all along. The implication is that Mason is the one suffering.

The film tries to use 'Pointelism' as a backdrop for imagery and story telling. Although it is predictable and sometimes cheesy in places. As well as this it glorifies the escort agency industry however you cant help not wanting to spend time with either of the 'heroines' in this. Barbara Niven's character Rebecca who you just want to shake let alone help her to climax and Paris who you just want to stare at as the film is worth it even if you just want a glimpse at what an amazing body Jessica Clarke has !!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
What a brilliant film, both Barbara Niven & Jessica Clark give amazing performances & their chemistry is awesome. The characters are believable which makes it feel even more realistic. Has to be my all time favourite lesbian themed film. Niocla Conn & Marina Rice Bader have created an absolute masterpiece. 10/10 is not enough. Can't wait for the DVD to arrive so that I can watch again & again.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Loved A Perfect Ending. The chemistry between Barbara Niven and Jessica Clark is powerful. Loved also the role played by Mary Jane Wells. Definitely one to own.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
The idea that we are all dots, is so right. The story is about linking dots and the hapiness as a result thereof.
Love scenes are a bit long and would be nicer without music, giving them more intensity.
Subtitles would be welcome.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Was so looking forward to watching this film after reading many reviews. Glad to say that the content didn't disappoint.
The film I thought, had a believable plot which at times made us laugh out loud and also cry. Not going to put any spoilers in here though.
I too initially had an issue with the quality of the sound, but sorted this out by choosing a different audio setting. However, I only buy DVDs that specify Subtitles as my partner is Greek and sometimes the dialogue is a little hard to follow (even more so until we fixed the audio). The 'tech' info above says that they're there but honestly they're nowhere to be found. Checking the box again, I found in VERY small print, "Subtitles available on PAL television". It was disappointing that had to watch without, but I guess it just means we'll have to watch it again and again to make sure she didn't miss anything.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
The story of the film was great , but how ever I or my partner could not hear what the actresses were saying most of the way through the film , as the soundtrack music was way to loud . We were really straining our ears to listen
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sexually repressed and frustrated housewife whose kids are almost ready to leave the nest and whose marriage is on the rocks takes advice from her lesbian best friends and decides to try an affair with a woman. She books an appointment with a professional agency and after some initial misunderstandings and awkwardness, she tests the water with the beautiful and much younger Paris (Jessica Clark) who has a story of her own.

Barbara Niven is convincing as the uptight and sexually insecure, but socially perfect, housewife and most of the other actors are also doing a good job although some of the conversation and acting is somewhat contrived and ham. It is at times clichéd and heavy on the symbolism and metaphors, but entertaining and pretty sexy with an interesting pairing in Niven and Clark.

One thing that really annoyed me, though, was the music drowning out the conversation in many of the scenes. How could they have failed to notice that when editing?? Especially when there are no subtitles!!!

Extras:
Deleted scenes
Comments from the actors about Nicole Conn's direction
Comments about the actors by the director and the other actors
Comments about pointilism (an effect I thought was overdone)
Comments about the White Room
Trailers for many other lesbian themed films.
33 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
I get the concerns about the poor audio quality. It spoiled a dialogue I strained to hear, and distracted from the believable passion between the characters excellently portrayed by Barbara Niven and Jessica Clark.
Can I laud Niven for her body, and showing us all that there are many forms of beauty? She should be proud of the beautiful woman she is. And of course Jessica Clark is delightful, and such a good actor she has convinced me that I could enjoy a performance by a gay actor in any role they undertook.
I have long held the view that racism will never be eradicated until we have black and other non-Caucasian actors in roles where their ethnicity is not the reason for them getting the part. The same is true here. For true sexual equality films like this have to be considered mainstream, the message reaching and persuading those who would discriminate.
For me this is less a "lesbian" film, rather it is about the developing passion between two people no matter how they came to meet.
Like the excellent film Room in Rome I will watch this movie many times. It is already a favourite.
As the author of Kindle novel Women 'n' Love, I love this film and wish it had been me who wrote it.

I consider this film should be labelled mainstream. Because the message in it is for all of us. It is not about lesbianism, it's about love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.