Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film
Barbara Niven & Jessica Clark give amazing performances Jessica Clark specially was UNBELIEVABLE, and she's absolutely gorgeous. very beautiful film and have great on screen chemistry between them only down fall is the very poor sound quality
Published on 17 Feb. 2013 by julie

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM, SHAME YOU CAN'T HEAR THE DIALOGUE
Overall I am frustrated with this DVD. The actors and storyline are strong and there is definitely a lot of chemistry between the lead characters. However, I could barely hear / understand the dialogue as the audio quality was so poor. I turned the volume up to maximum but then the audio track became deafening and I still struggled to make out what was being said. In the...
Published on 5 April 2013 by JACKIE B


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOOD FILM, SHAME YOU CAN'T HEAR THE DIALOGUE, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Overall I am frustrated with this DVD. The actors and storyline are strong and there is definitely a lot of chemistry between the lead characters. However, I could barely hear / understand the dialogue as the audio quality was so poor. I turned the volume up to maximum but then the audio track became deafening and I still struggled to make out what was being said. In the end I had to watch it on my lap top, using headphones and still found it hard to make out the audio!

NEWSFLASH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After checking on PECCAPICS website I found the following information regarding the audio on this DVD:

NOTE IF YOU HAVE PURCHASED THE DVD:

To all Nicole Conn fans who have purchased A PERFECT ENDING in the UK and Ireland, the audio default is Dolby digital 5.1. If you do not have this facility, please change the audio selection to stereo 2.0 - This will sort out any sound issues! :) Happy Viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Barbara Niven & Jessica Clark give amazing performances Jessica Clark specially was UNBELIEVABLE, and she's absolutely gorgeous. very beautiful film and have great on screen chemistry between them only down fall is the very poor sound quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy - but great love story for a night in, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
The film is a love story or 'making love' story about Paris (Jessica Clark) who is a young, incredibly beautiful and charasmatic, good-natured, dark-haired woman who works as a high-priced escort but who is also a creative artist by day. Rebecca (Barbara Niven), a blond, straight up, aging middle-aged typical Stepford wife. The initial voice-over also narrates a cancer affliction that has grown beyond hope. The film tries to highlight more serious points than it has time for. For instance it tries to hint at first that the cancer is growing in Mason (John Heard).

Rebecca has lived a Stepford wife existence in creating a perfect family with her husband Mason Westridge (John Heard). The only signs of troubles are their hostility towards each other and a differing in opinion that Jessica (Kerry Knuppe), their only daughter, does not get stock shares of the family business. I watched this film several times to understand the issues raised in it. I felt that the deeper issues of rape, step children's rights and paternal hierarchical power imbalances were not addressed enough. Why raise them ? It was almost like having crumbs left on a plate of what should have been cordon bleu fayre.

Rebecca feels an emptiness and confides in her two lesbian 'besties', Sylvie and Shirin, that she has never climaxed during the act of sex and that she and Mason only do it once every six months, which suits her well. One of her friends suggests that she try a very discreet escort service run by her own cousin Valentina (Morgan Fairchild).

It is then that Rebecca meets Paris and through a series of very discreet meets in a fancy hotel room. At first the very nervous Rebecca tells Paris to leave. The scenes of how Rebecca builds up confidence to see Paris is hilarious. The build up to this is very entertaining.

Although on the surface the 2 women look like they are very together they are both losing the battles of life in getting to a point of satisfaction in life. Paris who is well appreciated by other male clients for her services, seems to be in quiet agony over a past mistake that had led her to this profession. It's implied that Paris' husband died after being hit by a car shortly after their wedding day. It is Rebecca who later helps Paris to let go of the past and heal.

That's the whole point of the film. Much of it is centred around implications. The chemistry between the 3 children who are depicted in their 20s I think is great. They are awkward as a group, almost teenage like but bonded. I thought the capture of the group dynamics for them was good. At the height of all these, the three Westridge children finds the medical document that certifies the melanoma cancer in an inoperable stage that Mason Westridge has been hiding in his office desk. They confront Rebecca and ask if she had known about it all along. The implication is that Mason is the one suffering.

The film tries to use 'Pointelism' as a backdrop for imagery and story telling. Although it is predictable and sometimes cheesy in places. As well as this it glorifies the escort agency industry however you cant help not wanting to spend time with either of the 'heroines' in this. Barbara Niven's character Rebecca who you just want to shake let alone help her to climax and Paris who you just want to stare at as the film is worth it even if you just want a glimpse at what an amazing body Jessica Clarke has !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Film, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
What a brilliant film, both Barbara Niven & Jessica Clark give amazing performances & their chemistry is awesome. The characters are believable which makes it feel even more realistic. Has to be my all time favourite lesbian themed film. Niocla Conn & Marina Rice Bader have created an absolute masterpiece. 10/10 is not enough. Can't wait for the DVD to arrive so that I can watch again & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missed a lot..., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Was so looking forward to watching this film after reading many reviews. Glad to say that the content didn't disappoint.
The film I thought, had a believable plot which at times made us laugh out loud and also cry. Not going to put any spoilers in here though.
I too initially had an issue with the quality of the sound, but sorted this out by choosing a different audio setting. However, I only buy DVDs that specify Subtitles as my partner is Greek and sometimes the dialogue is a little hard to follow (even more so until we fixed the audio). The 'tech' info above says that they're there but honestly they're nowhere to be found. Checking the box again, I found in VERY small print, "Subtitles available on PAL television". It was disappointing that had to watch without, but I guess it just means we'll have to watch it again and again to make sure she didn't miss anything.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memorable, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Loved A Perfect Ending. The chemistry between Barbara Niven and Jessica Clark is powerful. Loved also the role played by Mary Jane Wells. Definitely one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely film, 14 April 2013
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
The idea that we are all dots, is so right. The story is about linking dots and the hapiness as a result thereof.
Love scenes are a bit long and would be nicer without music, giving them more intensity.
Subtitles would be welcome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
Very emotional and touching storyline, would recommend to others, especially female couples. Can be quite upsetting towards the end, but a beautiful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good love story, well made, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
It just happens to be about a couple of women.

It's no "Imagine Me & You", but it's pretty good. If you find the issue of it being about women distasteful then I wouldn't suggest trying to open your mind with this, as the lesbian side is a bit in-your-face - I'd suggest "Imagine Me & You", not just a better film all around, but an outstanding film regardless of the sex of the protagonists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect film., 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Perfect Ending [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful film, especially the music! The two ladies are super actresses, especially Barbara Niven! I am very happy to have this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Perfect Ending [DVD]
A Perfect Ending [DVD] by Nicole Conn (DVD - 2013)
£6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews