Customer Reviews


226 Reviews
5 star:
 (170)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nano 500mbps powerline (pack of 2)
it was simple to set up and works well, no problems at all, good buy and I would buy again this make of powerline
Published 22 months ago by eddie carlin

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100mbps NOT 500mbps
The first thing you should know about these powerline adaptors is that they are only capable of sending 100mbps through the Ethernet port, not 500mbps as advertised and printed on the box, this is very misleading. What this actually means is the total amount of bandwidth possible if you had 5 or more adaptors plugged into your network would be 500mbps combined...
Published 11 months ago by MC - Manchester


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works surprisingly well..., 2 Sep 2013
By 
Pez (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
Having never used an Ethernet via power adapter I was always slightly sceptical, but at £20 I couldn't really quibble, and decided to take a chance.
I'm very glad I did, they work seamlessly, from the moment I plugged them both in, they paired up and I can work in my office as if nothing had changed, but without the half mile of Ethernet cable running through the middle of the house and hanging down the stairs.
No difference to performance, can transfer files around my home NAS and the Internet much as before, very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best purchases, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
This item helped greatly expand my network. Speeds on it are amazing. Can't wait for gigabit ones to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
This item is very good and does everything i expected. just plug and play and i had a home network!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the doctor ordered, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
Have had problems with the wireless connected tv in the sun-room, whenever I use my pc down there at the same time. So by using these guys, no problems now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do the job well, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
Good mid range option that work well. Easy to set up and use and speed seems fine. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now wired up, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. B. W. Molley "Cheshire boy" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
Had a new Cisco router with extra adsl sockets, and our smart TV is now hard wired throught the electric sockets giving a better connection. It was so easy to install, took about 5 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just works, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
Plugged it in, connected it up and it worked. Nothing else to say.

It also included to ethernet cables, that was a pleasent surprise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100mbps NOT 500mbps, 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: TRENDnet 500Mbps Nano Powerline Ethernet Adapter - Pack of 2 (Accessory)
The first thing you should know about these powerline adaptors is that they are only capable of sending 100mbps through the Ethernet port, not 500mbps as advertised and printed on the box, this is very misleading. What this actually means is the total amount of bandwidth possible if you had 5 or more adaptors plugged into your network would be 500mbps combined.

The first pair were faulty and returned for exchange.

The second pair seem to be working fine, although disappointed having much lower speeds than expected and because they are used to connect the upstairs router port to a gigabit switch in the lounge they create a bottleneck, although they replaced a pair of old netgear 54mbps powerline adaptors that we're not much slower although quite inefficient.

What drawn me to these adaptors was the assumed bandwidth power, connected to a gigabit switch downstairs sounded ideal.
The compact design is excellent, they are great looking and appear to be well made.
The security and software is a plus point (note: software is clunky and probably confusing to some)
The efficient power saving features, although apparently buggy, to be confirmed.
They were on special offer at the time.

If you are happy with the lower speed and they are priced less than £20 it's a yes, but if you are looking for super fast these are not not for you.

Three stars for the misleading advertising on the packaging, if they were advertised as 100mbps each then I would still buy them and give 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Mains signals carrying network traffic may not work on a complex mains ring, 12 Nov 2014
By 
D. A. Juett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The device is being used on a separate mains ring for one floor .
Four rooms are serviced by the ring, two of them are small laboratories.
The area covered is approximately 12 x 25 m The ring has a large number
of extension blocks and power points on it.

There are typically 10 computer workstations and 5 printers on this ring
plus a range of laboratory power supplies and test gear.

The remote data unit in room 3 tends to lose sync after a few minutes.
By relocating the sending socket in room 1 it is possible to get a strong
Wifi signal in room 3 but the actual data rate is very low (<1Mbps).

If a 25m MAINS extension from room 1 to room 3 is used for the device
it works well with both Wifi and ethernet connections. Wifi data rates are then
20 to 30 Mbps in room 3.

Complex mains wiring (ones with many branches and stubs) makes a very
poor transmission line. In the 1990s RS232 over mains wiring was offered
and like the Trendnet worked fine over a simple ring, say in a home, but not
along a corridor with several laboratories all on the same physical piece of
mains cable.

The results are disappointing and I will have to solve my problem of network
access in room 3 by running an actual Cat 6 ethernet cable to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have to change the network to match your home SSID, 7 Nov 2014
The product itself is very good. Providing a wireless bridge through my house, to create an additional access point on another floor. The setup though, is pretty flippin' complicated to enable me to have a single, seamless network in my house. Here is what I did...

You plug in the two pieces as explained in the basic booklet (fine so far), which creates a second network, but with a basic SSID for the network which is the default, and also on a 192.168.10.x network. Now my home router is on a pretty standard 192.168.0.x network with a specific SSID which I wanted throughout the house. Which required:
1. Connect to the access point with an Ethernet cable.
2. Change my PC to be a static IP address in the 192.168.10.x range by: Settings -> Change Network Adaptor -> Properties -> Set IP Address (enter, for instance, 192.168.10.10).
3. Connect to the management console through a browser (http://192.168.10.100).
4. Change all the settings for the SSID of the device, password, and network settings (I changed mine to 192.168.0.99 - as a memorable IP which I could administer on afterwards).
5. Save the settings and let the adaptor reboot.
6. Change the PC IP address to be automatically set again.
7. Test out the wifi.

Blimey - pretty hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews