Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'feel good' film...
It's one of those 'snapshot of life' films where you love it, but you're not sure why!
Despite this film being such an early example of some great work by the cast, the acting is wonderful and the film itself, a very 'feel good' alternative to all the other films of a less idealistic genre in the late 80's.
Best watched on a rainy day with a barrel of biscuits!
Published on 2 July 2004 by StellaLou.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars chick flick
The film is as good as I remembered it. There is just one glitch at the start of the film. Otherwise good for a second hand one.
Published 15 months ago by Bird


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'feel good' film..., 2 July 2004
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
It's one of those 'snapshot of life' films where you love it, but you're not sure why!
Despite this film being such an early example of some great work by the cast, the acting is wonderful and the film itself, a very 'feel good' alternative to all the other films of a less idealistic genre in the late 80's.
Best watched on a rainy day with a barrel of biscuits!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MYSTIFIED!!, 10 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
One of Julia Roberts' first films and certainly not one to be missed. As the title of the film suggests, the film is about pizza and is set in ¨Mystic¨ a small town in America. You rapidly get to know all the characters and their many problems which adds to the charisma of this film. The only downer is that you never find out the secret recipe for the pizza! Appeals to both sexes- even my brother liked it!! Definitely one for the collection...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystic Pizza, 30 Jun 2005
By 
A good girlie feelgood movie if you needed one. (Although it is starting to look rather 1980's in places now!) A lot of fun to watch - Get a pizza and a bottle of wine, invite your girlfriends round and enjoy a night in reminiscing about times gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I love this film, it was probably one of Julia's first ... but i just love it!!! I'm a sucker for anything with a happy ending, a bit chick flicky!!

It always makes me wish i was there when i watch it too! It also restores your faith in men if you are going through one of those phases where they are just utter pigs ... Daisy thinks she has chosen one, but he proves her wrong in the most heart touching way. I've never been to Mystic, and it doesn't look like there is an awful lot there, but i'd love to go. I'd love to live somwhere where you can get fresh lobster all day everyday!! Jo-Jo is adorable too, she is your typical wanting to settle down girl, but is afraid of losing her independance, she is a little rebel, but Bill calms her down and she comes round in the end! Kat is your typical loner, but just as loveable! And unfortunately falling for the wrong bloke, we've all been there. And as for Charlie, mmmm he's fit in this!!! Don't think much of the blonde he takes into the bar before meeting Daisy!!!

Fantastic!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have a slice, 18 Aug 2009
By 
M. Farmer "Film-Mart" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I often enjoy taking movies on holiday that I have not seen but would not normally watch. This year amongst said selection was Mystic Pizza, mainly because I felt it would be one my wife might enjoy.

The film is a fun look at the lives and loves of 3 young women who live in the town of Mystic and work at the local pizza parlour with its speciality "Mystic Pizza". Each girl has her own issues. For JoJo (Lili Taylor) it is should she marry her sweetheart (Vincent Donofrio of Law and Order fame), Daisy (Julie Roberts) falls for a rich kid and has a feel of "Pretty Woman" about it and Annabeth Gish plays her sister Kat who falls for a married man.

The story twists and turns from point to point as the three stories intertwine.

A very enjoyable film that is surely worth passing a couple of hours with when you are at a loose end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's brilliant, 5 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
the film is basically the story of three girls who work in a pizzaria all having diffrent problems and all are easy to relate to i think the best part of the film is when julia roberts emtys a truck full of fish into her b/f's retro car and then finds out that he wasn't cheating on her after all it really is a good film and i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mystic pizza, 13 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I saw half of this film many years ago and was looking forward to seeing it whole.It was quickly delivered and was very enjoyable.It was clear from the film that Julia Roberts was destined for bigger things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice little weekend movie, 28 Sep 2009
By 
R. Chappelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
A fun movie, where Julia Roberts really bagan her career, sweet and easy-going, a good night in movie watching with osme tragic dress sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Light and enjoyable... rather like pizza, 17 May 2014
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
It’s the 1980s, and Jojo (Lili Taylor) has cold feet during her wedding, calling it off. She and her two friends Daisy (Julia Roberts) and Kat (Annabeth Gish) – sisters, but very different – work at the pizza parlour in a small town called Mystic in the USA. Daisy is wild and sexy, Kat is sensible and sweet… and during the course of the film, all three girls find themselves wondering about the future of relationships they’re in.

There’s not really a whole lot of plot, and its’ all rather predictable, but nicely done, with some amusing moments, and great rapport between the three friends. Not too deep, but enjoyable while it lasts; good for a Saturday evening in. Just like pizza, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Happy Husband!, 8 May 2014
By 
L. Coleman "AvidTVfan" (N.West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mystic Pizza [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Husband is a huge fan of Julia Roberts, and this is not shown on TV often enough. Bought it for his birthday as a surprise extra.

She is very young in this, as it was in the early days of her starring roles, but does a great job of getting right into the character and its a good rattling story.

One happy husband!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mystic Pizza [Blu-ray] [1988]
Mystic Pizza [Blu-ray] [1988] by Donald Petrie (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews