Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little scanner
I suddenly had the urge to declutter and found this. I decided for the price I couldn't go wrong, even though it wasn't a recognised brand. As others have said the lo resolution should suffice.

If scanning close to the top edge of documents, or obscured lumps (ie staples) the rollers may get caught and stop the scan. I would recommend obtaining a larger sheet...
Published 12 months ago by thefireflies

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It okay for a mobile scanner!
This device is okay. It's neither fantastic or crap. The device reminds me of my days in secondary school using a rolly ruler instead of a T-square at Tech. Drawing. Like the T-Square (aka a normal scanner) you will get the sharpest quality 99% of the time; whereas, the rolly ruler (aka the Mini Skypix Cordless Scanner) you will get a local sharpest less than 50% of the...
Published 8 months ago by cathal


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It okay for a mobile scanner!, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
This device is okay. It's neither fantastic or crap. The device reminds me of my days in secondary school using a rolly ruler instead of a T-square at Tech. Drawing. Like the T-Square (aka a normal scanner) you will get the sharpest quality 99% of the time; whereas, the rolly ruler (aka the Mini Skypix Cordless Scanner) you will get a local sharpest less than 50% of the time. How steady is your hand? A shake will blur the image, if you move too slowly you blur the image, if you move too fast you get errors. If the rollers had a built in motor to move at a constant speed, then you’d be onto a winner with this device. Another pain is you don’t know if the image you scanned is good or bad until you connect it to your computer. It is best to take 3-4 scans of the same page to ensure you capture one good image. I bought this device to scan 100’s of old photos. I wouldn't be happy with the quality. Sometimes I scan the photos and they are perfect but a lot of time a shake in my hand, the surface is not smooth, I move my hand a little too slow and the image is blurry and distorted. On a positive, the devive scans text every well and that combined with the OCR software you can scan books and magazines and then edit them on your computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little scanner, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
I suddenly had the urge to declutter and found this. I decided for the price I couldn't go wrong, even though it wasn't a recognised brand. As others have said the lo resolution should suffice.

If scanning close to the top edge of documents, or obscured lumps (ie staples) the rollers may get caught and stop the scan. I would recommend obtaining a larger sheet of clear film or a side opening document wallet, so as to minimise these issues.

Almost 1000 scans done already... Haven't as yet tried the OCR software.

I was a bit of an idiot and didn't read the spec. closely enough and didn't realise it needed a MICRO-SD card. Don't make the same mistake.

Pro:
Small, so can be stored easily in a draw. Price. Can scan way more pages (1 per 10 secs), way more quickly than an HP Officejet I have (1 per minute+). No Pwer leads, runs on Batteries.

Con:
Page edges, staples, etc.. can interfere with scanner rollers, but sort out your set-up and this shouldn't be too much of a problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skypix hand scanner, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
I'm in the process of digitising lots of old family records and photos. I was looking for a way of getting a decent image of some very old oil paintings which are too big to fit on a flatbed scanner and being framed canvas pictures could not be taken out and pushed through a large format scanner either. Photographing them was a nightmare even with my Canon EOS which is fairly high spec. Thought I'd give this a try for 49 and was amazed. Took it straight out of the box, popped in some batteries and a memory card and walked up to one of the pictures hanging on my wall. 2 swipes and plugged it into the computer which recognised it immediately. Then put the two scans through a free microsoft photo stitching program called ICE (image composite editor) and there was the whole picture stitched together! The 900 dpi image created captures right down to the brush strokes. Far better then a photo.

Oh. And you can use it to scan stuff out of books etc. too but that you will have known from the description.

Couple of hints: Can be a little tricky to get the scan speed right but you can practise easily enough first. It helps if doing multiple swipes of a large picture to use a straight edge to guide it.

The manual/guide leaflet doesn't match the specification of the scanner I got but I only read that afterwards (I'm a bloke!).

All in all, for 49 its a great bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful tool, 3 Nov 2013
By 
S. GRAY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
Pretty easy to use and set up. I hope to use it a lot in the future. It is a tool that I will use more and more as I become more familiar with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant fast accurate almost as good as a scanner from a printer, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Aijaz Ahmad "aijazahmad" (Seven Kings) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
brilliant simple to use when set excellent images good price at thirty and quick to process only a camera is a lot faster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent idea!!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
Ive got rid of my bulky space taking flatbed scanner after getting used to using this. At first I was skeptical as while trying to scan it would either catch on staples or folds in paper or the start of a page but to alleviate this, use some picture frame glass over what you're scanning and you'll get brilliant results, if you want better or perfection especially for photo's use a steel ruler to use as a guide to keep the scanner straight and sweep steadily, the lower the resolution the faster you can scan a page. At lowest resolution you can scan an A4 sheet in 3 seconds, at highest its around 6-9 seconds for best results. The CD that it comes with has no drivers, its just software that has no instructions or help with use or installation at all. But in all honesty thats just the character reader for text input so you don't have to type pages of text into an editor. For basic use, use with the SD card (which you have to buy it doesn't come with one) and once scanned onto the card, pop it into a card reader and load up as jpegs just like a digital camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hand held scanner, 9 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. Susan Mciver (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
This hand held scanner is wonderfull. Portable, easy to use, space saving. Why clutter the house with a big printer / scanner. When you've got a working printer allready, why bother to get a new printer / scanner. One of my best purchases. Up there with purchasing an ishuffle + downloading all my old tapes / records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
Makes a great present for the gadget person in your life. The scanner is very easy to use. :) A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent scanner, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
i love it now i dont have to hold on to all those computer magazines i just scan the pages i wont and store them on my computer would recommend it to any one. quality is great and also got a 4gb card thrown in with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mini Skypix, 10 Feb 2014
By 
R. F. Strutton (Maidenhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mini Skypix Cordless Handheld Scanner 900DPI Resolution - A4 Photo Handy Scan TSN410 Primier
Arrived in 2 days despite being initially told 5-6 days (always seems faster if you use the locker delivery option and I am fortunate to have 400 yards away)
Scanner takes some practice, I bought it to scan some old documents that were longer tha A4. Did not like creases so I put some clear material over the top, prpblem solved. Nice clean scans. The only thing I would like to improve it is to be able to scan direct into my PC, you can download from the unit and this seems fast enough, but you dont know if the scan is OK until you go through the download process. Seems well made and comes in a nice slip case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews