Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incubus truly make themselves
i originally bought this album because my friend said that it was one of her favourite cd's of all time. she wasnt wrong! incubus present such a diverse and beautiful selection of tracks here, ranging from the loud and passionate 'pardon me', the acoustic tones of 'drive' (my personal favourite) and even the romantic 'i miss you'. it is incommon for a band as established...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by lust_and_lunacy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars like the other guy said... lacking a killer tune
Okay... in my opinion this is the lamest of Incubus' records.
There's less of a funky feeling on this album, and DJ Lyfe's absense from the band means not so many scratches like there was on "SCIENCE" and "Enjoy".
Still worth a punt if you can find it cheap somewhere, though.
Published on 25 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars incubus truly make themselves, 9 Jun 2005
i originally bought this album because my friend said that it was one of her favourite cd's of all time. she wasnt wrong! incubus present such a diverse and beautiful selection of tracks here, ranging from the loud and passionate 'pardon me', the acoustic tones of 'drive' (my personal favourite) and even the romantic 'i miss you'. it is incommon for a band as established as incubus to produce an album so different and diverse without alienating their fanbase, but this reaches out to the existing incubus fans and certainly created a lot of new fans. needless to say, this album is an absolute must for all music lovers. brandon boyd's vocals perfectly compliment the tone of each song and highlight the thought provoking lyrics in every track. just buy it, it really is worth the money, and plus there's a bonus cd of acoustic remakes of some songs. this album will have no problem achieving classic status.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. The best of it's 'genre', 7 Oct 2001
I say genre, but I think it's a little unfair to categorise Incubus as a 'nu-metal' band - what's on show here is far more diverse. Alright they certainly like loud guitars, but they also like to throw in some funky basses and samples that actually add something to the song. While I don't want to criticise other nu-metal bands, I think Incubus really need to stand out there on their own. The biggest reason - Brandon Boyd's superb voice and songwriting capabilities. He raises issues that many other bands do, (pressures of the world on young people, attempts to be moulded into society), but somehow deals with them in the right way, looking at it without hate but hope. (the hit single drive being the best example). That said my personal fave is 'Stellar' a chilled out rock ballad. Buy it enjoy it, whether you like nu metal or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make Yourself, 8 July 2005
Brilliant! This is a outstanding album from an outstanding American band. Their music is inspirational, and every track on this album is, in its own individual way, a gem.
The contrast between songs is something very rarely seen in modern day LP's, but these guys pull it off, and then some!
My favourite track has to be 'Make Yourself', possibly because as i am merely sixteen, little else interests me than heavy rock, but the song is well written and magnificently performed!
But there is something for everyone here unless you're a Mozart purist, in that case stay away!
But if you want to blow a tenner on something, and you want to blow it on something good; blow it on this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knock your socks off, 4 Jan 2003
By 
R. I. Allan-Smith "funkydivabex" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From the moment the opening chords of "Privilege" rip through the sound system, you know you're in for an amazing forty odd minutes of an album, and Incubus fail to disappoint. Each song has a completely different approach to music. The band embrace each note and release it harmonically, yet also with zest to the listener. "The warmth" and the intstumental piece are slightly out of co-ordination with the remaining tracks, but still capture the essence of Incubus. The musicians alter from album to album, and if you were expecting the encore of funk-metal previously produced on S.C.I.E.N.C.E, there are hints of it in tracks such as "Make Yourself" and "Out from Under", but don't be put off, because this album is probably what defines Incubus among today's society of up and coming bands. Songs which have made legendary trademarks, such as "Drive" and "Pardon Me" are the epitomy of the bands' roots, and probably lead on to the softer and possibly more volatile sounds of their recent release - Morning View. To all pure Incubus fans, this is a memorable and must-have CD to your collection, and you'll admire every sound Brandon, Mike, Dirk, Jose and DJ Kilmore produce. The only thing to bear in mind is the fact that there are five members of this band, it's so easy to focus on one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incubus At Their Very Best, 31 Aug 2004
I only just got this album about 2 weeks ago, but it hasn't been off my CD player at all, i think the great balance between rock and the more melodic harmonies really entwine to make a great rock album that every aspiring music artist should atleast try out. It all starts off with Privelege(9/10) which is a great start to this smashing album, Brandon's voice really compliments the great beats by Michael Einziger and Jose Pinillas on drums throughout the whole album.
Then things carry onto Nowhere Fast(8/10), which is pretty more of the same and then Consequence(8/10) make the beginning of the album very tasty. Then comes The Warmth(9/10), which is one of my favourites, and again the lyrics are sang confidently and beautifully.Then When It Comes(9/10)keeps the album upbeat and at a fast beat.Stellar(8/10) takes things a bit slow, but then to the the albums namesake Make Yourself(10/10) which couldn't be any truer a song about the world at the moment. Well known single Drive(9/10) is always a great song to chillout to, and the Clean(8/10) ain't half bad, with the kinda James Bond introduction. Then it all starts to go a bit wayward when Miss You starts(6/10) and the following that Battlestar Scralachtica isn't a corker(6/10) although DJ Killmore doesn't half know how to throw down rocking riffs! Then Incubus set back on track with the classic Pardon Me(10/10) which was as though it was written for Brandons voice. Towards the end it gets all experimental, but this has to be Incubus' best album, if not it must match A Crow Left Of The Murder.
Brandon on lyrics piercing and beautiful, Einzingers fantastic riffs on guitar, Jose' beating drums and Killmores bouncy beats amount to one hella of a band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and thoughtful stuff from Brandon Boyd and co., 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Yourself (Audio CD)
Deep and dedicated lyrics make this a fantastic album from Incubus. A step forward from their previous, it shows maturity and a unique individuality expressed in the music and the lyrics from Brandon. Using his UK girlfriend as a focal point for many songs, such as 'I Miss You' he demonstrates his ability as a great songwriter. Aside from the love numbers, 'Pardon Me', 'Make Yourself' and 'Consequence' address things on his mind. Great words.... "An ominous landscape of never ending calamity" In all it's a fantastic album, even if it is stripped down and mellow. Great to chill to, great to get your mind thinking, great to just listen to on repeat on the stereo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unclassifiable and Unmissable, 23 Sep 2001
This review is from: Make Yourself (Audio CD)
From the very start of this album, with the heavy, dirty chords and the high harmony in the vocals of "Privelige" you know that you've made the right choise in buying this album. Incubus vary the songs trememdously throughout this album from full on heavy songs (out from under), to slow songs (drive, the warmth) to 3 way DJ battles (Battlestar scralatchtica). The Highlight of this album has to be the astounding "pardon me", which finds a mixture of scratching, rapping, loud AND quiet guitar and amazingly good vocals.
This band are extremly talented, and this cross-genre masterpeice proves this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 9 Dec 2003
ok its 1999 and im in a noisecore group, the nsames dirty sdanchez fella an were gonna blow all this nu metal garbage away! our guitarist andy, comes into rehearsal an plays the intro chords to pardon me while we tune up, i start singigng along, well we played that song about 4 or 5 times in our sets and it always got a good reception, why? its incredible! brandon boyd has such a good voice i want to hurt him! he makes me look bad! and the rest of this album is just as good, its not metal, its not punk, its not even rock. you know something i would call this soul music. simply because it is executed with such conviction as to make any negative comments unfounded, nayone can relate to it, anyone can love this album as much as i do, it just needs a chance. its 2003 now- nearly 2004, and i still love this album, i still love brandons voice, his words, the light and shade on here, the everything which makes it a classic. buy this album, give it to everyuone you know, do the world a favour. make yourself love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funk-metal-madness, 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This genre of 'funk metal' was a complete new thing to me before i heard this cd, but when i heard it i was astonished. it was weird at first, with the vocalist singing his heart out to cheesy guitar tunes at some points, but the sound grew on me, and after a few listens i was hooked on the mad riffs, record scratching, and the deep lyrics on offer. perhaps the main reason i took to the album was precisely this, the fact that the songs were just so intelligent (?!). there were alot more heavier songs than i expected after hearing the song 'drive', for example, the song 'privelage' kicks open the cd with heavy tunes and catchy lyrics. my favorite songs are 'privelage' 'drive' 'pardon me' and 'make yourself' but all the songs have something to offer. even if you aren't into funk metal, give this cd a chance, because i'm sure as for me, it will instantly begin to grow on you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consider Myself Made, 27 April 2002
An album that was always one step ahead of its predecessors, Incubus have found the perfect musical concoction in what is their best album yet. Brandon Boyd's vocals are clear and very melodic, Mike Einziger's guitar riffs provide a decent contrast between clean and distorted, former Jurassic 5 DJ Chris Kilmore provides a subtle element as the "extra instrument", something which is used to his advantage, more so than on previous recordings, whereas the rhythm section of Dirk Lance and José Pasillas provides the suitable funk-inflected hard rock that Incubus are so good at on this album. The stand out tracks on "Make Yourself" are "The Warmth", "Consequence", "Stellar", "Privilege" and sleeper singles "Pardon Me" and "Drive". Incubus could hardly have done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Yourself [VINYL]
Make Yourself [VINYL] by Incubus (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews