Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andrea's story, 30 July 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, if you've been waiting for 'Magic Gifts', the Kate Daniels story promoted at the end of The Magic Graves anthology and have been disappointed to find it unforthcoming: don't be! The story is here, in the shape of a 100+ page novella included at the back of this book. 'Magic Gifts' - told from Kate's perspective - overlaps with the timeline of the first part of 'Gunmetal Magic', and has a plot which feeds into it. This being the case, you might prefer to read it first... if so, skip to page 329! 5/5

And for the main event... 'Gunmetal Magic', which sees shapeshifting former Knight of the Order Andrea Nash handed the narrator's role is generally an entertaining, action-filled, fantasy yarn. Andrea has lots of issues to resolve: her own shapeshifting nature, her discomfort with the idea of Pack status, and of course the wreckage of her relationship with Raphael Medrano - the Alpha male of the bouda pack.

Everything you could ask from Ilona Andrews is present - action, adventure, mythology, humour... shapeshifter courtship rituals! Andrea has had enough of being beaten down and trying to hide from herself. She's back, and she's kicking butt.

However, while Andrea makes an interesting narrator and has a clearly different voice and outlook, Kate (cast in a secondary role) is hugely diminished - relegated to little more than a few wisecracks for many of her appearances. Much as I enjoyed Andrea (and Raphael)'s story, I did find the vision of Kate a little disappointing. Even so, overall there's much to enjoy. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 17 Aug 2012
By 
A. REYNOLDS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of the Kate Daniel's series of books - the humour of Kate's thoughts and her interactions with Curran et al always makes me snigger, and this was mostly missing in this book, because Gunmetal Magic is about Andrea and the various life choices she needs to make, with Kate only making an odd appearance.

From the end of the previous book in the series (Magic Slays), and the hype, I had expected there to be much more regarding Raphael's competition in the love stakes - Roman. But there wasn't and in fact he makes 3 appearances in total, and none of them really noteworthy, even the "love scene" was just a few lines long. In Magic Slays Roman had shown quite a quirky personality, someone willing to fight for the lady of his choice. This book we got a wet rag in the love department (ripped body but still a wet rag!), so I was terribly disappointed with how both he and their relationship progressed in the book. Don't get me wrong, I knew who she was going to choose, but still I was expecting there to be more suspense regarding it, rather than blatantly obvious all the way through.

Having said that, the book is a good read. the Ilona Andrews pairing pulling their skills together to create completely different personalities to write about - unlike other book series by different authors where all the stories and characters feel the same, just the names are changed. As I like Andrea, it was great to see her point of view on the world and her friends, plus it was fun to see more of Ascanio and see his character develop further.

The saving grace for me was the mini story at the end - Magic Gifts - I know some fans got to read this some time ago on Ilona Andrews' website so for them its nothing new, but for those who missed it (like me) it was a wonderful bonus and a glimpse of Kate, Curran and the crew. Even better reading it straight after reading Gunmetal Magic, there are various parts in both stories where the two books coincide, so seeing the conversation from both sides (something Ilona Andrews always does well - fans will know of the Curran Points of View and this has that feel about it) is great.

Overall, it is a really good read, but doesn't have that "I cannot sleep until I finish the book" feel about it I got from all the other Kate Daniels books, although I still read it fairly quickly (2 days to read instead of 1!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great development of Andrea Nash, 12 Aug 2012
By 
N. Fallon (Northants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gunmetal Magic gives the reader a chance to get to know Andrea Nash with Kate Daniels taking a cameo role in the main book although she takes front stage again in the novella Magic Gifts at the back of the book.

I absolutely loved this book and have enjoyed the development of other characters which makes for a more rounded experience of the World of Kate Daniels. In fact I've already downloaded Magic Dreams about Dali and Jim which I will be reading next :o)

The writing of this book is as good as I always expect from this fabulous husband and wife writing team including their wonderful sense of humour :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ilona Andrews def one of my top 5 fav Authors, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An absolutely brilliant series, if you read one you'll have to read the rest. I can't get enough of Kate Daniels and her beast lord (here kitty kitty ) lol. A strong female lead with attitude who tries not to draw attention to herself but has little choice being dragged into events that do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would give this book more stars if I could. I've read it twice now and the only reason I haven't read it more is because I insist on reading it in order with the rest of the Kate Daniels series. Technically this is a standalone book from the rest of series but because Andrea and Raphael feature so strongly in the main series, it's worth reading it in order. It's brilliant. The authors are not a one-trick pony, they have created just an interesting story with lots of character-depth for Andrea as they have for Kate. And this is a stand-alone book so technically it's not like they really needed to. But it is so worth it!

Andrea is interesting, her back-story is brilliant (if gruesome) and the story-line is well thought out and well written. If you are a fan of the Kate Daniels series, definitely buy this book (but you probably already have!). If you have never read any of Ilona Andrews before then this is a good starter book. Even though you'll be reading it out of order with the main series, it still stands alone just fine, so it would be a good way of finding out if you liked the author's style before starting another new series. I discovered this author by reading a short in an anthology, all it did was made me want to read the whole back-catalogue! Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a backseat Kate Daniels because Andrea's back, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An offshoot of the "Kate Daniels" series, this book is set several months after the events in "Magic Mourns". Andrea has been kicked out of her beloved Order after it is discovered she is a shape shifter but has ended up working with her best friend Kate. She's also split from Raphael following a massive misunderstanding that had him questioning her loyalties. When Andrea is asked to investigate the deaths of 4 shape shifters she hopes to steer clear of Raphael; only he has other plans which include flaunting his new fiancée in front of her.

There is plenty of explosive action and drama as Andrea and Raphael find themselves taking on a God, yet Andrea may have to make the ultimate sacrifice to ensure those that she loves survive. There is also a lot more focus on Andrea accepting her Beastkin persona, her relationship with Raphael and accepting her role in the Hyena community. Andrea has plans for her future and I can totally see her achieving the goals she sets herself. This is another great addition to the magical world IA has created and Andrea proves to be as kick a** a heroine as Kate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great a new heroine, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Ilona Andrews this combination husband and wife team never fail to produce will written and exciting material. I am always on the lookout for a new book from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trip into the seriously weird, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a world I would not like to live in, Armageddon by magic and set in one city with survivors. You can have some sympathy with the principle character, her ruthlessness at times, understandable in the context of the moment, gave me a bit of a shudder. It is not without its lighter moments and the tone is generally up beat, but Kate is dangerous to know. An antidote to dull and insipid fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andrea is a brilliant sideline to take., 10 Dec 2012
By 
Kelly "I am a busy mum of 2 under 3's, audio ... (Paulton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a big fan of the writing team that is Ilona Andrews. The Edge series now concluded nicely and the Kate Daniels series being thoroughly addictive and action packed, this spin off within that series has continued the action packed roller coaster of an Urban Fantasy.

Andrea has always been a great side character and we've gleaned more about her beginnings as she has developed alongside Kate, she also has her secrets and bad family life. I really loved having her up front, but still with Kate behind the scenes and other characters from the main series.

I devoured it in a few days, a long time for me usually, but a toddler doesn't allow for quiet reading time. It was fab reading and can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE these books, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Please don't be put of with reading this one, yes Kate is not the voice of the main character but the story is just as quick, action packed and well written.

It is really a gr8 story and fab read. If you have not read a Kate Daniels series book before. U can read this before the others but to love the characters and to understand kates world, it would be best to start at the beginning of the series. Really well worth the wait Ilona Andrews is a real dream team (husband and wife authors) when it comes to writing action packed, romantic, kick ass original storys. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gunmetal Magic (Kate Daniels Book 1)
£4.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews