Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Roll Away Your Stone" and buy this superb live recording
If you are thinking about buying this DVD,you will need no introduction to Mumford and Sons who in a relatively short space of time have developed into one of the best and most popular bands in the world.This is their first official live recording, made over two nights at Red Rocks, a large tilted natural ampitheatre at Morrison, Colorado which has been played by many of...
Published on 29 Nov 2012 by Roger Boon

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
It took a long time to arrive. Also the case was cracked. I love the actually CD but I wasn't thrilled with the service.
Published 23 months ago by Jennie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Roll Away Your Stone" and buy this superb live recording, 29 Nov 2012
By 
Roger Boon (Llandudno,Wales,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
If you are thinking about buying this DVD,you will need no introduction to Mumford and Sons who in a relatively short space of time have developed into one of the best and most popular bands in the world.This is their first official live recording, made over two nights at Red Rocks, a large tilted natural ampitheatre at Morrison, Colorado which has been played by many of the greats in rock music history including the Beatles and U2. The good news is that it captures the raw energy and essence of this remarkable band:romanticism tempered by strength and power balanced by wonderful harmonies and beautiful and often spiritual lyrics. A recording that shows that they deserve their place in such illustrious company. The recording lasts 88 minutes and includes twelve songs from across their first two albums. The camera work and editing is excellent giving us an intimate view of the band,almost as if we were on stage with them and occasionally looking out over the vast Red Rocks audience.We can clearly see the fun they are having and how much they enjoy performing and being with each other.
The performance is broken up with reflections by and footage of the band recorded at stopovers on the Gentleman of the Road Tour at places like Monterey and Portland, Maine.Some fans will enjoy this, I am sure,although personally I would have preferred a gig of around an hour and twenty minutes to have been continuous and the rest available in extras. During these breaks Marcus comments on how much the band has improved since their first visit to the USA and this is reflected in the performance. They are now a very tight and relaxed unit and the brass and violin augmentation works very well producing an even richer sound.You hear them singing with such passion that you could almost believe their lives depended on it. The power of their harmonies and the clearly articulated lyrics go straight to the heart and feed the spirit. The audience respond enthusiastically and although many of them clearly know the words you cannot hear them as the audio focus is almost entirely on the band's performance.( This was in stark contrast to their much more intimate yet raw gig last night in Llandudno, Wales where the audience frequently joined in with great gusto and where there was a real feeling of joy in the house with fans linking arms with total strangers.)
This is nevertheless a very good recording and a must for all Mumford fans and for all lovers of great music. I recommend you go out and buy it.You won't be disappointed!
TRACKS:Lovers Eyes,Little Lion Man, Below My Feet,Roll Away Your Stone,Lover Of The Light,Thistle and Weeds,Ghosts That We Knew, Awake My Soul,Whispers In The Dark, Dust Bowl Dance, I will Wait, The Cave.
The American band,Dawes, who many of you will have enjoyed supporting them on tour appear with them on stage for one song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
As soon as i heard that there was a DVD of one of their concerts i couldn't rest until i had it, and after watching it i can't blame myself. Not only does this DVD have you singing along to all the songs, but it also had me kicking myself for not being at one of what seems like the greatest concert I've ever seen. honestly if you are a fan of Mumford & Sons, BUY THIS. You will not be disappointed i assure you. As well as a variety of songs, sung perfectly of course, it has pictures and snips of interviews. As a 17 year old i can honestly say i'm ashamed that my generation of music is not all about this genre of music, it holds so much emotion! - can honestly say now i will not rest until i've seen them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there that night! Incredible set!, 6 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was there that first night in red rocks Colorado while working in Denver. This was my last night in the states before flying home. Forever I will remember this amazing concert Mumford were incredible I have been to 5 Glastonbury's and never felt a atmosphere as good as this! A truly iconic and historic setting for what has to be held as a historic and iconic music event. A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everthing about Mumford is great, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Liked this immensely - I had the whole Glastonbury set they did last year recorded on my Freeview box but changed to Sky so cannot access it at present. Great to be able to watch the lads. I would like liked a little more interviewing rather than the breaks with some weird unknown people on the DVD but can always fast forward. Can't wait for their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mumford and Sons the road to Red Rocks Dvd, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A first class dvd from Mumford and Sons from the USA the four musicians gave a hundred percent performance for the whole
time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like Marmite - you love them or hate them....., 9 Jan 2014
By 
Veronica Lyons (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I LOVE them! They are just so good on this only music DVD recording available. I have read they are taking some time out at the moment so at least I have this to fall back on when I feel withdrawal symptoms coming on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the best, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Would buy any DVD or CD of Mumford & sons they are a Fab band. Don,t think anybody could dislike them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't seen them live this is the next best thing!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
An absolute must for any Mumfordite! Bought it to relieve their tour gig I went to and it did not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mumford and Sons, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am pleased with the dvd but would have been happier with just them singing, and in England, but the DvD is nice to have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic DVD, 25 Oct 2013
By 
G. J. Kingston "GJK" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We all love Mumford and after seeing a bit of this concert, wanted to see the rest.

The venue is stunning, hope to get the one day, but will have to settle for watching this great band perform there on the screen.

As usual, great service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Road to Red Rocks [Live in Concert] [DVD] [2012]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews