Customer Reviews


558 Reviews
5 star:
 (413)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Phillips
So glad I pre-ordered this DVD. I watched it at the cinema when it came out and wasn't really that interested before it started, I just went because my boyfriend wanted to go. But once the film I had started I was hooked. the tension is fabulous throughout, your heart is constantly pounding in fright for the captain and his crew. The story is amazing and very accurate...
Published 5 months ago by Emma Lizzie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captain Hanks
The film does a reasonably good job of setting up the background of the pirates, and there's a few nice moments between their leader and Hanks. Hanks plays the heroic captain rather than all American action hero, and for me this left the film a bit lacking in bite. Definitely not a Willis/Seagal hostage romp, but equally falls short on building on the pirates character...
Published 3 days ago by JezB


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid and enjoyable movie., 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good. You can really feel the tension and desperation as the pirates get more and more desperate and are capable of anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captain Phillips, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So glad I pre-ordered this DVD. I watched it at the cinema when it came out and wasn't really that interested before it started, I just went because my boyfriend wanted to go. But once the film I had started I was hooked. the tension is fabulous throughout, your heart is constantly pounding in fright for the captain and his crew. The story is amazing and very accurate (when compared to captain Phillip's book about the incident) and Tom Hank's performance is just unbeatable. No one could have done it better. Please buy this film, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly convincing and gripping. Brilliant, 24 Jan 2014
By 
I. J. Davison "ianheadland" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is not often that I am gripped and on the edge of my seat with the content of a film but this proved that some films can still do this for me. As a son of an engineering officer I spent many times aboard ship, container ships particularly. This film showed the sheer realism of life aboard ship and the dangers, and for once we have a film set on board a ship that shows this realism correctly. The suspense will have you on the edge of your seat throughout the film, building gently and ultimately to a thrilling crescendo. The ending is handled skillfuly and the mixture of raw emotions is heartrending.
Tom Hanks proves yet again what a wonderful character actor he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips (DVD)
This movie doesn't disappoint, Tom Hanks is amazing, excellent supporting cast in the way of Bharkhad Abdi and the other Somali's and the wider cast in general. It was tense, from the start, believable and incredibly moving too. Excellent production too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense Story, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This movies really gets going after 20 minutes and then, hold on, the tension builds and lasts till the end credits. Fantastic film, strong story, wonderful acting from all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks Brilliant, yet again, 26 April 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips (DVD)
We weren't sure what to expect with this film, but it was absolutely gripping from start to finish. Hank's performance was brilliant as the Captain, as were the rest of the cast in their roles. Even my 13 year old son enjoyed it. Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true story that is believable., 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Tom Hanks gives an excellent performance as the captain of a container boat who has to go through the famous area off the coast of Somalia riddled with pirates.
This is an incredible ride of a film from the pirates managing to get on board to them capturing the Captain and trying to escape.
The actors are extremely believable and deserve the plaudits for their parts in this film. The story does not appear 'hollywoodised' in that everything isnt blown out of all realms of plausibility and flows along in a manner that keeps you on the edge of the seat wondering how everything is going to unfold.
As an aside, it was nice to see a small part from the Somalians point of view and does not attempt to demonise them.

Finally a film that isn't a rehash/remake as so many seem to be recently.
Kudos to all involved. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another good tom hanks film, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
even if it had not been done on reality it would have been a good film tom plays a very good part scary to think that it actually happend very well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific performance from Tom Hanks, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Captain Phillips tells the story of a ship captain played by Tom Hanks who himself held captive by a group of pirates after his ship is taken hostage. This is a movie that has some truly great performances, particularly from Tom Hanks and his emotional breakdown at the end just shows how great of an actor Tom Hanks really is.

I do recommend this film, especially if you are a Tom Hanks fan; but I'm not sure if I would recommend watching it more than once, as it is a film that can be difficult to watch, and it does drag a little towards the end as the pirates find themselves surrounded by the U.S Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From beginning to end - A modern great, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Glyn Morris (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
One cannot begin to explain to someone who hasn't yet seen this movie just how gripping they will find it, and the exceptional movie experience that they are in for.
Tom Hanks is spell binding throughout but his performance after the end game is mesmeric.
After watching the film, read about what has since happened to the ship at the centre of the story following the portrayed events and rest easy that you don't have a life on the ocean waves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
Captain Phillips [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by Paul Greengrass (Blu-ray - 2014)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews