Customer Reviews


273 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (38)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good sci fi film with political undertones
This film by the South African director Neil Blomkamp is set in 2154, in an Earth that has become a planet wide slum. The wealthy classes has migrated to a space satellite called Elysium, which looks like a gigantic gated community, who is protected from the invasion of illegal immigrants by the ruthless Jodie Foster. Matt Damon stars as Max, who lives in a completely...
Published 9 months ago by Andres C. Salama

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Builds Promise, Then Collapses Into Disengagement.
Starts off promising with good pace and visual immersion. An impressive hi-jacking scene and clever use of futuristic weaponry. Then half way through the film it goes stale rather quickly as the death toll goes manic and pointless for shock factor. It isn't shocking and the immersion evaporates right up to the cringe inducing ending. And it started off so well.
Published 2 months ago by Solar Fox


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bleak, 24 Aug 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
"Elysium" is more of an action film than a thoughtful piece of science fiction and I didn't really enjoy it. The film is set in a particularly dystopian future where the rich and beautiful have moved off Earth to live in an Ian M Banks style orbital called Elysium, while everyone else is left to survive on a polluted,overcrowded and poor Earth. On Elysium there are machines which can cure all known diseases and that is the main reason why the Earth's sick want to go there. Matt Damon plays an ex-con who gets sick and along with the ill young daughter of his childhood girlfriend they go to extreme lengths to get to Elysium to get cured. There is a lot of violence and action in the film and not too much in the way of an interesting plot. The film looks good visually but it was hard to feel empathy with any of the characters who were all mostly tough,cold and unappealing. I can't say that "Elysium" created much of an impression with me and it is fairly forgettable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elysium, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
The film overall is rather predictable and doesn't offer many, (if any) surprises at all. Matt Damon plays the lead character very well, as does Jodie Foster playing her role in this film.

The film is about Max, (played by Matt Damon) who still lives on Earth, (2125?), where the planet is now in ruins and breakdown. He has a love interest with a woman, who he has known since a child, and he promises one day to take her to 'Elysium', a large man-made space craft turned ecosystem. Elysium is a paradise place, no one is ill thanks to special medical machines that can heal whatever ones illness or ailment may be; and it's largely this reason that the people of Earth want to go so much, even risking their own lives. Max becomes ill and so ends up needing to go to Elysium in the hope of being cured. However, it's not that simple thanks to people on Elysium having all the power.

I noticed that the main character from 'District 9' was in this film playing the bad guy.

Overall this film makes for an enjoyable watch. A highly recommended rent, or a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hell...ysium, 19 May 2014
This review is from: Elysium (DVD)
Boring long winded good cast poor film it went downhill after thirty mins abs in the end i stoppes caring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
By 
Ms S Allan (Near Whitby, North Yorkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium (Amazon Instant Video)
excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium (Amazon Instant Video)
Good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Top notch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Nigel Turver (Sheffield, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I simply hated this film how or why I lasted out the full lenghth is beyond me ? I felt I should say something on the review as its awful !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Matt Damon choosing a poor film to star in!, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
First of all i obtained this film by other means (have a guess) and I'm super glad I did...

This film is very similar in plot and atmosphere to which District 9 was filmed in. I went to see District 9 at the cinema's and was equally as disappointed with the plot as I was with this film.

The first half of the film is quite gripping and builds up quite nicely, then the 2nd half of the film starts and I asked myself "what is this film actually about?"

The South African character in the film is given a meager part for the first half then all of a sudden is pitched as pretty much the main character... Confusing and his character is quite annoying!

All in all I finished watching the film thinking both Matt Damon and Jodie Foster shouldn't have bothered as this film has undoubtedly done them no favours!

I would tell people this film isn't worth your money and to use it on a different film instead as I definitely wouldn't watch this again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Its Just a Flesh Wound!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Richards "yourbiteall" (Weston Super Mare) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elysium [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Three years ago, a movie called District 9 came from "out of nowhere" to grab our interest, despite an absence of stars and famous film makers. It put many higher-priced Hollywood blockbusters to shame and confirmed Neill Blomkamp as a writer-director of marvel and substance.
Oh how i wanted to adore this movie but alas Neil Blomkamp's dystopian class war movie is nothing like his debut District 9 and its still poor even without comparison. Quite possibly the most disappointed i have been about a blockbuster movie for some time. It looks gorgeous with stunning visuals at times and Sharlto does a brave job with the villianary but not enough to keep you from nodding off. Normally when i am engaged in a film i do not notice the plot holes..this has plenty!
Some are saying this has current relevance to todays world but its political message is non apparent for nearly all the movie. no allegorical musings this time around just lazy story telling involving 'robin hood' tactics and how to rob the rich. Elysium also does not try and evoke classic sci-fi which is probably a good thing it just doesnt channel a decent action thriller either.
It is a shame that Blomkamp has let his creativity slip a bit and it seems like he has had to compromise or even sacrifice to gain a larger budget. unfortunately it ends up stuck in some form of limbo and never really thrills as an all out actioner or tantalizes us as an emotive, thrilling parable. Not awful and some brilliantly executed lines of dialogue from Sharlto's grim bad guy, but even lovers of the genre will struggle to muster enthusiasm for this one. Lets just all prey that a mooted District 9 follow up is not going to suffer the same fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013]
Elysium [Blu-ray] [2013] by Neill Blomkamp (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews