Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Die Hard for the new generation!!!
I really enjoyed this film. Great performances from Foxx and Tatum, but most of all a Die Hard style gripping action movie. This is an action movie, it is fast passed and dramatic, with subtle humor added in. Despite being over 2 hours long the film does not drag at all. I was either griped by the drama, or distracted by an explosion the whole time.

The story...
Published 21 days ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Whte House Down V Olympus Has Fallen
All told Olympus Has Fallen is the better all round film, however and I never thought I would find myself saying this but White House Down is more fun to watch than I thought it would be. A cheesey film but perfectly watchable.
Funniest Moment: Channing Tatum and Jamie Fox trying to escape by driving round and round the lawn in the "The Beast" or "Ground Force...
Published 7 months ago by S. Bell


‹ Previous | 19 10 1124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars good fun action, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good action movie if you ignore some quite bad continuity mistakes. good sunday afternoon switch off your brain film. Even I, as a girlie enjoyed it especially when Tatum was down to his vest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun,but J.F.is a mystery...., 3 Mar 2014
To my surprise this one is,as action movies go,better than "Olympus has fallen",which practically has the same story !
I refuse to comment on the story itself.It would be pointless.What I find,however, mildly surprising, is the use of Channing Tatum and Jamie Foxx as main characters.C.T. is a mediocre actor,at best.But J.F. is just a caricature as President of the U.S. He "delivers" his lines ,but his "acting" is getting poorer by the day.He is totally out of character.Offhand I can think of at least half a dosen black actors(...sorry,african-americans....!!!) who could have portrayed the part a hell of a lot better.Yet Hollywood keeps "pushing" an actor who cannot act to save his life.God only knows why ! Granted that Ronald Emmerich,the director,usually does not care much about "directing" actors-his forte is action-it is essential that the protagonists themselves should be able to portray their characters in some depth.This,regrettably,is not the case here.
Yet the movie is fast,full of action,a lot of noise ,plenty of shooting and enough corpses to make it "good fun".I suppose this ought to be enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Marks!, 3 Mar 2014
This review is from: White House Down (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this film. It is similar to Olympus Has Fallen but has the added bonus of the comedy and great chemistry between the two main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White House Down [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Good tongue in cheek action movie
Great for a Saturday night no brainer highly entertaining do not take it to seriously and you will enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better for kids, too common & sometimes a bit low level for adults, 3 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: White House Down (Blu-ray)
While it is an expensively made action film and action scenes are impressive and hold your attention, the bottom line is how many films are too similar to this one including the recent Olympus Has Fallen??? Let's Save the World theme is a bit OTT for me but i guess it is designed for children audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superbe action movie, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good film. well entertained from beginning til end. well done. will buy it in blue ray to add to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 20140301, 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: White House Down (Blu-ray)
shameless rip off of all those good action films, but very well done nonetheless one would say. glad to see woods is still kicking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars White House Down, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like this movie. It's a good summer blockbuster and has a bit of everything. It's pretty predictable but thoroughly entertaining. It's like the PG-13 version of "Olympus has fallen", with a slightly different plot. I like Channing Tatum, and Jamie Foxx, and they compliment each other pretty well. It's a bit like Die Hard in the White House, but made friendly for a younger audience :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars formulaic action movie, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just another father daughter bad guys movie been done before ie schwarzenneger willis etc still watchable glad i rented rather than purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ludicrous...... But in a good way most of the time., 1 Mar 2014
By 
D. MALTBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White House Down (DVD)
After viewing another title which is not too dissimilar in many ways, White House Down was obviously going to measured against it. Especially considering they were both released reasonably close together in a time when many say that Hollywood doesn't have any new ideas.

Anyhow, how does it compare and how does it stand on its own. In comparison....... A little less testosterone driven drama and a little more buddy cop comedy. Which is laced with some great action sequences devised to make you laugh as much as route for the good guys. So in a nutshell not a carbon copy but the same idea presented differently. On its own.... Nothing new to the mix in terms of an action film, but obviously with the ever increasingly use of CGI, the visuals are on a greater scale and what was once imagined can now be seen. The clincher is, do the other more important elements suffer as a result? Compared to some offerings from Hollywood White House Down doesn't do too badly in those areas.

It's not the greatest example of its class. But there is enough to enjoy from the character interactions of the two main leads to the madcap action sequences which don't take themselves too seriously. I wouldn't even say leaving your brain at the door is a requirement for total enjoyment. But maybe leave the top of your head unscrewed should some of the situations leave you with the inability to suspend disbelief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 1124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White House Down [Blu-ray] [2013]
White House Down [Blu-ray] [2013] by Roland Emmerich (Blu-ray - 2014)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews