Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film
This is a hilarious film, a must see, I would recommend to anyone, if you loved the first one you will love this.
Published 12 months ago by karen adsett

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S A RAFT IN THERE?
The sequel comes with very little plot. Our foursome all have their child issues. David Spade suddenly has a long lost son so he doesn't miss out on the fun. There is an 80's theme party with a ridiculous townies vs. college boys fight.

The humor is still crude, but perhaps a bit less than before as I found it tolerable. The film mostly relies on one liners and...
Published 22 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THERE'S A RAFT IN THERE?, 28 July 2013
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The sequel comes with very little plot. Our foursome all have their child issues. David Spade suddenly has a long lost son so he doesn't miss out on the fun. There is an 80's theme party with a ridiculous townies vs. college boys fight.

The humor is still crude, but perhaps a bit less than before as I found it tolerable. The film mostly relies on one liners and insults as is typical in a Sandler production. This film also highlights the talents or lack thereof of many Hollywood larvae including the Sandler clan, Patrick Schwarzenegger, and Paulina Gretzky. Team Jacob fans can watch Taylor Lautner in an uncredited role as Fratboy Andy. My how they have fallen.

Will work as a rental. No hurry to rush out and see it.

Parental Guide: Brief male rear nudity. 1 f-bomb. No sex. Sex talk and general crudeness including urination, feces, and fart humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but that's all, don't expect it to be like the first, 12 April 2015
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I'll start by saying I loved Grown Ups 1, so maybe I was just expecting more because I liked the first one.

I think the main problem is Grown Ups 1 has something of a plot and theme; nostalgia, and modern childhood life vs 'the good old days' childhood life. Trouble is, Grown Ups 2 loses this. It doesn't have a plot. Just people randomly going about their day doing silly or funny or just weird stuff. Where as 1 had a plot/theme to hold the comedy together, this film just felt like a collection of 'funny' stuff someone went 'wouldn't it be funny if' and then just cobbled it together into one film.

The other problem is Grown Ups 1 had, mostly, realistic(ish) characters that just happened to find themselves in funny situations or doing funny things, which is what made it funny.....Grown Ups 2, however, seems to rely on what you saw a lot in old Adam Sandler films, and that's over the top and completely cartoony/unrealistic comedy characters that are meant to just be funny because of how they are generally odd. So it shifted away from (kind of) realistic(ish) comedy to slap stick silly cartoony comedy.

Having said that, for the price listed at the moment (£3), it's a bit of silly fun to have on while having a few drinks or with friends when you're likely to be chatting a bit anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 9 April 2015
By 
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Some days Sandler is engaged. Some days he is not, and on those days, he usually brings his friends along for the ride. Today, Sandler is unengaged.

Grown Ups 2 has no plot. It wouldn't surprise me if they had no script. It has some funny moments, because with this many comedians in one place (particularly Kevin James, who is so likeable that he tends to somehow bypass terrible material and make it funny) there are bound to be. Taylor Lautner as a villainous fratboy is perfectly cast and sinks his teeth into the role brilliantly.

Nothing really happens. Some of them have marital problems. Some of them have no problems. Some of them barely have character traits. The film squeaks by as being just about watchable, although at times it's offensive - the female bodybuilder who David Spade falls for is the butt of a lot of very distasteful, mainly transphobic jokes.

Ultimately, it's just barely watchable, but paying money for it would be insane unless you're a Sandler completist. I watched it on Netflix and I still felt like I wanted my money back.

I'll say this much though. Somehow, despite a plot, it's better than the first one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a match for the first film. No Rob Schneider and mostly cheap simple jokes and no cute factor., 1 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Not as good as the first film but still with some funny moments. It was a shame there was no Rob Schneider in this follow up because I find him funny. The jokes in this movie were a bit mostly cheap jokes, not smutty as such but its like the writers tried less hard believing it would all just work out.

We watched it as a family and then put it in a box to go in the loft. We have watched the first film a few times and this one just doesn't compare. It doesn't have the cute moments and the fun factor of being away from it all for a few days.

If it had been more than £3 I wouldn't have bought it. I did get an Ultraviolet code with this DVD though. So I can not watch it again from my Flixster account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for kids, personally wouldn't recommend for adults either!, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 (Amazon Instant Video)
My son (10) really wanted to see this. It shouldn't have been a PG. Neither of us actually found much of it funny and much of the 'humour' was offensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK for what it is, 21 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
First things first.
This should not be watched unless you have seen Grown Ups as it will likely make no sense whatsoever. Even then this is quite a strange film, it's like a really long sketch show with very little in the way of coherent story. It's almost like deleted scenes from the first film stitched together to make a sequel! Still, there are certainly a few laugh out loud moments but you'll be probably watch it just the once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a hilarious film, a must see, I would recommend to anyone, if you loved the first one you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Like most sequels only half as good. but still a laugh., 24 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It has some very funny moments but not as good as the original.
im waiting till the price goes down to £3.00. Its worth a watch a few times.
But the original was an instant classic. The original 5 stars this one 3.5 stars.
If they do make grown ups 3 please bring back Rob Schneider and they should return to the lakehouse.
or water park as there's where all the funniest scenes where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort, 21 Jan. 2015
This movie was such a disappointment! I loved the first one, but this one was no where near as good! The cast was good again, shame Rob Schneider didn't make an appearance though.
It was just a string of dumb jokes, and slapstick comedy, with no real story to tie it all together. Probably best to have it on in the background while you're doing something else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best American comedy films in years, 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's very rare when a sequel is better than the prequel. Grown Ups 2 however in my opinion was so much better than the first film. Not that it wasn't good, I just thought the second one gave us more scenes to laugh at and were more entertaining. Taylor Lautner and WWE star Stone Cold Steve Austin were also brilliant in the film as well. Really enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013]
Grown Ups 2 [DVD] [2013] by Dennis Dugan (DVD - 2013)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews