Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (75)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this movie!
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, can't understand the negative reviews. Story by Will Smith, and directed by the famous M. Night Shyamalan. The story goes like this...... in the future, humans have polluted Earth so badly, they are forced to leave for another planet. Then far in the future on that other planet, Will Smith plays a soldier called a 'Ranger' who fights a...
Published 5 days ago by Shaun Carter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fear is the key
A movie from director M. Night Shyamalan. Which is his first major release to be a film of a script that he hasn't written himself.

It is a science fiction film, and it stars Will Smith and his son Jaden. Who play father and son in the film.

After Earth starts with a spaceship crash. Shows Jaden's character in the aftermath. Then gives us a quick...
Published 29 days ago by Paul Tapner


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this movie!, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Shaun Carter (Birmingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, can't understand the negative reviews. Story by Will Smith, and directed by the famous M. Night Shyamalan. The story goes like this...... in the future, humans have polluted Earth so badly, they are forced to leave for another planet. Then far in the future on that other planet, Will Smith plays a soldier called a 'Ranger' who fights a species of deadly alien creature who also lives on the same planet as all humans. The Rangers learn to remove their emotion of fear, but I wonder if they all lose other emotions too.

Will Smith's character is a good soldier, but not such a good father as his relationship with his son is very strained. So father and son decide to take a trip together to bond. They are travelling on a spaceship along with other Rangers who are escorting one of the deadly alien creatures to a training base. The ship becomes damaged and crashes on Earth. The only survivors are the father and son, and also the alien creature which is now loose.

The father is badly injured and cannot move. So his son has to travel a distance to find part of the ships wreckage, which has a beacon in to send a distress signal home to get help. They soon discover that Earth has recovered from the pollution, and all life has flourished since humans left. Life has even evolved into animals that would try to kill and eat the son while he travels to the ships wreckage. The son also has to face the alien creature which is hunting him.

This is a brilliant sci-fi movie which shows what Earth would look like without humans. The technology is extremely advanced, but still cannot make up for the emotions of humans, nor the relationship between a father and his son. It is also a story of survival in a hostile place, where a person will do and say anything to survive. No matter what technology exists, the only way to survival is to look deep into yourself and change as a person to adapt to the situation.

Does the son reach the beacon? Do they both survive? Do they get home? You'll have to watch this action packed sci-fi adventure yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fear is the key, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A movie from director M. Night Shyamalan. Which is his first major release to be a film of a script that he hasn't written himself.

It is a science fiction film, and it stars Will Smith and his son Jaden. Who play father and son in the film.

After Earth starts with a spaceship crash. Shows Jaden's character in the aftermath. Then gives us a quick expository narration. Humanity left Earth after making a mess of the place. An elite international military group called the Ranger corps organised that. But we came under attack from strange beasts on our new homeworld. Beasts who can detect pheromones. So don't get scared and they won't see you.

A fact discovered by Ranger Cypher Raige [Will Smith]. His son Kitai [Jaden Smith] wants desperately to follow in his father's footsteps. But doesn't get accepted to the Rangers. An attempt at a father son bonding trip leads them to where we were at the start. This is an annoyingly overused device on tv shows, so it's a pain to see it in a movie as well.

Where the ship crashed is Earth. One thousand years after we left it. And where everything has evolved to kill humans. Cypher is wounded so can't leave the wrecked ship. Kitai has to make a long journey to find a rescue beacon. He has to travel through difficult and dangerous terrain and face hostile creatures to get to it. Can he face his fears, and finally make his old man proud?

Will you care if he does?

There are some decent ideas in here. All about facing up to fear. And it's the kind of story about growing up and becoming responsible and accepting responsibility that certain science fiction writers of days of yore might have done. But those writers were good at creating strong characters, and unfortunately this is where After Earth rather falls down.

Cypher has conquered fear. But seems to have gotten rid of every other feeling as well in the process. And it's ironic that Kitai is adjuged to not be ready, since Jaden Smith doesn't seem to be either. His reading of the opening narration isn't great, then after he gets stuck with a thankless role of a teenager desperate to live up to his father's reputation, and be occasionally broody as well. This isn't really something that showcases anything acting wise from him. Whilst Will Smith did fund the project via his production company and come up with the story as well, thus he probably has the right to cast who he likes, perhaps it might have worked better if he'd cast a non relative via an audition process.

Not that Cypher is that great a role either. He spends the bulk of the film stuck in the crashed spaceship. Whilst the arc of a father son story of this kind is predictable from the off so you can tell what the characters will be like come the end, there's precious little to make him likeable. It's a film that does take itself far too seriously.

And yet, although the biology of this strange new Earth will give you plenty to nit pick if you wish, there are things on the screen that do catch the attention. The design work is pretty good and very original. The landscapes are stunning at times. And the music is very good, particularly right for some of the emotional moments in the final quarter.

But the whole film does hinge on the relationship of the two main characters, and that's where it falls down.

This is slightly better than it's reputation. But ultimately it's not something that will stick in the mind for too long.

The dvd contains the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, French, Italian.

Subtitles: English, Arabic, Dutch, French, Hindi, Italian.

The disc begins with an anti piracy advert, which can be skipped via the next button on the dvd remote.

Extras are:

Previews. A generic blu ray trailer, plus three unrelated movie ones. Which can only be watched all in a row.

A father's legacy: an eight minute feature about the Smiths on and offscreen. This is best described as somewhat self indulgent.

1000 years in 300 seconds. Five minutes worth of footage from the production of the film. All short and speeded up.

The nature of the future. Five minutes worth of footage of just the locations. Some stunning footage. Actually quite worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 181 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Atrocious Science Fiction, 16 July 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
General Cypher Raige (Will Smith - I, Robot) is one of the first 'ghosts' - men trained not to fear the abominable beasts that have been bred to detect and hunt human fear. They strike terror into most Rangers [read: Soldiers] and so consequently demolish armies; without ghosts there would be no survival. Kitai Raige (Jaden Smith - The Karate Kid [2010]) is his son, training for the Rangers but not quite at the level where he can control his emotion. In need of some Father & Son bonding, Cypher takes Kitai on a training exercise that goes awry and forces them to crash-land on the original, abandoned & quarantined Earth. With the ship destroyed and Cypher mortally wounded, it is up to Kitai to activate the beacon to get them rescued. Can he control his emotions? Time will tell...

After Earth is a shocking film to include some big names on both the production (M. Night Shyamalan) and the front-of-house (Smith) - the CGI is shoddy at points, the scenery is nonsensical, the geology positively laughable; the whole planet freezes at night, yet despite this point during the day is a lush, steamy tropical jungle. I know what you are thinking; "it's a film, that's the idea" but it's paradoxical in its own canon to the point where you just don't care any more. There are troops of howler monkeys that have exactly the same biology as us (98% dontcha know) yet Kitai has to use some sort of breathing fluid to breathe Earth's air where they are fine - a plot-hinging point. Apparently, everything has evolved to eat & hunt humans yet there have been none left on the planet for some 1,000 years according to the wafer-thin preamble that sets the film up. It just doesn't hang together, I appreciate films introduce fiction as that is often where the story comes from, but this was actively proving itself wrong, and that's OK in some genres but Sci-Fi fanboys like to get all up in a fictional universe and this was just phoned-in.

Jaden Smith is just too young to hold the 1hr40mins bit, his emotional range is laughable as his pubescent voice wavers from a gruff baritone ranger ("Yes Sir!!") to a squealing soprano during his rage-out about halfway in. His voice is evidently breaking, that's fine, we all went through it we won't judge for that but then why is he the lead? Bearing in mind the hugely talented Will sits in a chair and has about six lines, during which his role is to play an emotionless robot. He even grimace hugs his wife and son - it hardly inspires compassion and contains literally zero character development. It's almost as if Will went "Here son, I'll let you take this one" in some sort of familial charity case.

There is a digital copy of the film included with this disc - with Ultraviolet codings (UV is a digital locker for your media, you have to register an account and upload your unique product code, but then you can stream it or download it anywhere on the planet on any medium).

I apologise for whinging at length in far too much detail, but I just wanted to point out that this will be a headache for anyone who actually appreciates Sci-Fi and most definitely not worthy of anyone's money. Extremely disappointing for Will Smith and a non-starter for Jaden. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice tale, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Danger is real, fear is optional. Little Jayden works well with his dad, it was a delight to see them both together, the film although set in the future, space craft blah blah, could equally have been set in 1950's it wasn't about the set, it was about the trust of a father for his son, and vice versa, and how sons feel as though they Have to live to...and exceed their fathers feats (why are males so competitive) Jayden is at that age when he is ready for his initiation, so that he can prove that he is now a man, though his father doesn't see that yet, so when Will smith is disabled, Jayden has his chance, and does it with all the gusto of a teenager on a mission. He went out a boy and came back a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 185 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 3 July 2013
By 
J. Kirby (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Firstly I apologise to people who think that "reviews" should only be for the actual product you have in your hand (i.e. the blu-ray disc) as it has not been released yet, but having seen this travesty at the cinema, the most imaculate transfer ever will not save this film. I am trying to save potential purchasers the heartache of wasting around 18.00 and 1 hour 40 minutes of their life, in my case, time I will never get back.

I love sci-fi films, I generally like Will Smith, but even this could not prepare me for the bad acting by both "Smith's" and the general feeling of boredom I felt while watching this film. This is no "Men in Black" 1, 3 or even 2!

The reason Earth was abandoned and general scene setting was over quicker than a bolt of lightning, the character building was virtually non-existent and tedious. While there are special effects, post Avatar and Star Trek : Into Darkness, they are extremely poor and fairly shortlived.

Much of the film is a sort of Predator for kids in that the bulk of the film is Jaden (Smith Junior) running through a jungle trying to avoid an escaped alien they brought with them on their spaceship which crashed on the long ago abandoned planet of Earth. With Predator however you really did fear the alien and care about the humans, in this film, I did start to wonder if humanity would have been better off dying on Earth all those years ago. At least they wouldn't be able to make films as bad as this in the future!

It could have been a good film given the huge budget and a decent actor however this is Will Smith at his worst supported by, what could easily prove to be Jaden's final film (lets hope so). I would suggest buying Star Trek if you like Sci-fi and want to pre-order a great Sci-fi Blu-ray. This one will be in the bargain bins shortly and personally I won't even be watching it on Freeview.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST WATCH ARRRRRHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Sep 2013
Thank you very much will smith for lying to millions of people by promoting this load of vomit by saying it is an amazing adventure film...I believed you and went to see the film at the pictures.............what a waste of time,money,life. Has to be the worst film i have ever seen, and i am not joking. shame on you smith and your untalented son.
I feel so much better now that i let that out.....and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AFTER EARTH, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After Earth was a bit disappointing. The family gathered around to watch this but it was only of two people mainly and the story line was a little boring,sorry not for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good as the hype made it out to be, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I expected more from this film, it looked great on the trailers but is really disappointing in the end, I wish I hadn't paid so much for it as I felt a bit cheated so much is unexplained and you have to try to guess what is going on, I have seen much better films that didn't have so much on screen hype, it is technically good in places but the plot is a bit thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid!, 25 Nov 2013
Ok I'm very pleased I only rented this film , I could give it 1 star but that's a little mean so I gave it an extra star as I did finish watching it till the end.

The story is dull its just so boring which makes be wonder how I did watch it all.

Don't waste your hard earned money on this , instead rent it like I did and you will be pleased you did only rent it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Smith's blandness ruins movie., 24 Sep 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: After Earth [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Positive.
Not One.

Negative.
Bland, Pointless, Awful CGI, No tension or pace & very little plot, Even Will Smith seems bored & feels like a co-star in his own movie.

Jaden Smith lacks any of the emotions that he expressed so well in The Karate Kid remake, Coming over as a very bland performance.

Set on a barren earth were the inhabitants are now creatures a father & son crash land on Earth & while awaiting a rescue must fight for survival with the horrors of the once habitable planet earth.

You'd think Will Smith would knock this sort of movie out the park, But no he seems instead to let his son carry the majority of the movie instead, Ok no doubt he to give his son equal screen time but this could've been a lot better than the end result.
Having
Will Smith take a more supporting role is a bad idea as this movie could've been exellent if Smith Snr had bothered to inject any pathos into the movie.

Nothing stands out in way of action, Scale or tension a better script was needed to improve the movies action beats & characization.

M.Night Shyamalan hasn't made a decent movie since Signs, With this he had a chance to return to former glorys yet completely wastes the opportunity given him, Were is the great director hom gave us The Sixth Sense, Unbreakable & Signs???.

To sum up the movie it's disappointing as a Will Smith movie, Disappointing as a M.Night.Shyamalan Film & disappointing as a SciFi action adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

After Earth [DVD] [2013]
After Earth [DVD] [2013] by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2013)
4.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews