Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars1,012
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2013
This film will make you smile, laugh, feel nauseated and think on about the horror of the times it's set in. Its a classic. Christopher Waltz stole the the show for me. His witty and clever comments and acting had perfect timing. Not to mention his facial expressions.
Jamie Foxx was great as the lead character but I enjoyed Waltz much more. It's fast and furious from the get go. It's gruesome, but in classic OTT Tarantino style.
The story is clever enough and superbly acted by one and all.
One exception is Samuel L Jackson. His performance was so overwhelmingly good there aren't words to describe it.
This movie's shocking and gory as I'm sure it would have been during that terrible time. BUT it's also very very entertaining and hugely funny. I can't recommend it highly enough. 10/10
22 comments74 of 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 January 2013
.

Django Unchained is supposedly a very loose reworking Sergio Corbucci's spaghetti-western Django. I believe it has a closer affiliation to the exploitation cult film Mandingo (1975) about a slave taught to fight other slaves - this movie for its time was somewhat an outrageous product, a film that Mr Tarantino has praised, while by and large the critics' have rejected the film with extreme disapproval.

The lead actor is played by Foxx, who plays the Django, a slave who is in a chain gang, across their path comes one Dr King Schultz, a German who is well-groomed and rather unconventional in his ways, he claims to be a travelling dentist; Schultz carriage is a small wagon with a huge model of a molar tooth on the top. Our Shultz, after some initial reluctance from the slavers, buys Django and promises him his freedom in return for a favour: he needs Django to help him track three white fugitives that have bounty on their heads.

As the narrative progress we find that Django proves himself a good assistant and a talented shot. Through some back story we find that Django was married and his wife speaks the German language and she was named Brünnhilde, unfortunately her current owners mishear her name and call her "Broomhilda". Due to her predilection for running away she is branded on the face and forced to work as a "comfort" girl. As mutual respect sets in between the eccentric German and Django, it is agreed that that will rescue his wife Brünnhilde.

Through the story we meet inept KKK posse the characters are somewhat reminiscent of the KKK in Blazing Saddles. We then meet with Candie (played rather eloquently by DiCaprio) the owner of Candyland Plantation his evil is only matched by his apparent need to sound and look charming. Django needs all his guile to pretend to be that of the most hated of things, a "Mandingo", a fighter-promoter his double dealing is only matched to Stephen's domestic bondage to his master and his family, aptly played Samuel Jackson.

There are moments of pure brilliant direction mastery of the rather over the top violence and I feel the overuse of the N word, was not needed. At two hours and 45 Django is a long film - undoubtedly, this film better than Tarantino's WW2 film Inglourious Basterds. The relationship between Schultz and Django is well managed and their friendship really looks convincing and their resulting comedic episodes are well done. Well worth a four star rating - with flaws.

I disagree with "Sal Mander" the "critic" colourful assessment of this movie.

.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 February 2013
This is Tarantino’s most successful film, making a cool 325 million $! He even gets a little cameo himself! The film won several top awards with Tarantino & Waltz winning Oscars.
There are plenty of films about concerning slavery; this is one of the more quirky ones!
The film is long at 165 minutes but is full of action with a decent enough storyline. There’s plenty of blood and gore mixed with the comical moments. I thought Waltz and DiCaprio were both excellent in their roles.
The Bluray version offers a very high class viewing experience.
Whilst there’s a lot of bloodshed here, overall the film is a very enjoyable watch if you don’t take it too seriously, it would appear that Tarantino sees it that way too. If you want a more accurate picture of slavery then ’12 Years a Slave’ is the one to watch.
22 comments1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the frosty south. He becomes associated with a bounty hunter, played by Christopher Waltz who gives a spellbinding performance. Together they form a friendship which leads them on a quest to find Django's wife. There are frequent moments of black humour between them, reminiscent of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

Along with his usual amount of splattered blood, Tarantino brings to the screen with amazing force the true horrors of black slavery, whilst sensitively building characters to bring these tortured people to life. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a chillingly friendly portrayal of Monsieur Candie - a slave trader involved in Mandingo fighting (two slaves fighting to the death). His appearance in the film changes the tone to one of overwhelming menace and racks up the tension.

The one criticism I have about the film is that Quentin Tarantino doesn't give a convincing performance in his cameo role. Quentin, stick to what you're good at, and leave the acting to those who can. :o)
33 comments21 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is a well spoken bounty hunter who acquires Django (Jamie Foxx) to find and kill some men who are wanted, "dead or alive." Dr. Schultz isn't too keen on the "live" part.

The film divides itself into two parts. After the bounty hunting episodes are through, our duo conceive a plan to rescue the wife of Django (Kerry Washington) by purchasing her from Candie Land plantation. Dr. Schultz has no stomach for slavery or slave owners. Leonardo DiCaprio doesn't enter the film until the second part.

Like Tarantino films it incorporates humor. The bag over the head scene was reminiscent of something we might have seen in "Blazing Saddles." The flashbacks are minimal and not confusing. There is of course the over the top climatic ending and plenty of blood.

I have to question the use of the MF bomb several times in this picture. The first known usage of the word is the 1930s. It is speculated the phrase originated during slavery as a way to describe white owners who would take black mothers as comfort women. The phrase would have a specific meaning and not used in the generic sense that Samuel L. Jackson tossed about.

Tarantino fans will not be disappointed. Great sound track.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb,N-word, nudity (Kerry Washington). No sex. Killing and slow motion blood splatter.
22 comments47 of 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
Tarantino is definitely on form in Django Unchained, delivering a film that's engaging, surprising, and enjoyable.

Django starts the film as a downtrodden slave bieng marched through the wilderess, but he soon gets his teeth stuck into a new career as a bounty hunter, driven by the hope of rescuing his wife.

There are some outrageous gun fights, some hilarious moments, some clever dialogue, and brilliant acting all round. It's an over-the-top western with a great storyline that really kept my attention right to the end.

There are some slightly horrifying moments though, so be prepared not to smile the whole way through.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Having read some of the long-winded 1 star reviews immediately after watching the film i have to disagree with most of the criticism.

THE GOOD: Well written and excellent performances from all the cast.....except Tarantino himself who should keep to the other side of the camera or just be a cameo in the background. The action in this film is very violent and over-the-top with all the red spray but hey it wasn't too over-the-top and i did enjoy it.

THE BAD: For me there was only one scene that should have been left on the cutting-room floor and that was the whole Klu-Klux-Klan hoodie part, i felt there was no need or justification for this scene at all...the leader was not shown in the film to be antagonised enough to get a large group of men together and the film would have been better without it.

One other aspect of the movie i wasn't really keen to swallow was the story the two main characters come up with to get Leonardo DiCaprio to release Django's wife, i felt they were beaten by their own over-complicated cleverness. A better story with DiCaprio being for some reason rather attached to Django's wife would have been more believable and improved the film in that respect. IN SHORT: Considering Django's wife was not considered anything special on the plantation it seemed strange that the two main characters should come up with such a needless complex plan.

THE UGLY: Certain characters in the film portrayed the ugly side to human nature rather well so that's about all the ugly there is.

OVERALL: This 2 hour 45 minute well-made film kept me riveted all the way through which is rare for me. I would have given this film 5 stars but for the reasons stated above so i take one star away but please do see this film, it is CLASSIC and you will more than likely enjoy this film very much. Thankyou for reading :)
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I bought the single DVD box set and it comes with very few extras to speak of but if, like me, you have a Flixster account and use ultraviolet, there is good value in the digital copy that comes with this set. The scarce extras themselves are pretty uninspired and even though it's hard to criticise any tribute feature, there is virtually nothing of interest on the disc for me and I find that most disappointing.

But the biggest reason to buy this set is for the film itself and it's an absolute blast. Quentin Tarantino's Southern about a former slave turned bounty hunter on a quest to a slave plantation to rescue his wife doesn't shy away from depicting the cruelty and brutality of slavery but '12 Years A Slave' it isn't. It cannot be taken too seriously as a film specifically about slavery when so much joy is taken from its over the top bloody violence and humour that is typically Tarantino but this is more of a spaghetti western at heart in tone and style. It's also excellent for the majority but Tarantino indulges himself slightly too much with the run time and misses what would be a better ending but it's still his most entertaining film since 'Kill Bill Volume 1' and no-one quite does these sort of films the way he does.

As a fan of Quentin Tarantino I did not hesitate in buying this, I think for newcomers it is probably more accessible a start than 'Inglorious Basterds' and 'Death Proof' but if it's a film about slavery you want then I would go for 12 Years A Slave instead. But if you're just browsing, you could do worse that take a chance on this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
You always know what to expect from Tarantino – a superb soundtrack, plenty of action, witty dialogue and, of course, a lot of graphic violence. This movie is no exception. We are great Tarantino fans but for some reason we never got around to buying Django Unchained, having been put off by the early very mixed review scores but thankfully it was recently aired on UK television. We will now definitely be adding the Blu-ray to our collection.

Like every other Tarantino film, even Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained is incredibly well observed and founded upon a deep understanding of and familiarity with the genre. He, like many of us, plainly grew up on a diet of Westerns and every genre tick-box is neatly checked but it is definitely an homage rather than a derivative pastiche. It is actually a tribute to a 1966 Italian film ‘Django’ by Sergio Corbucci whose star (Franco Nero) has a cameo appearance and the two films share the same theme song. (Thanks, Wiki, for that bit of info). Hitchcock style, Tarantino also puts in his usual appearance.

[Very minor spoiler alert] Dr. Schultz (Christoph Waltz), a bounty hunter posing as a dentist rescues Django (Jamie Foxx) from slavers as he can recognise Schultz’s current objective. It is soon evident that Django has a talent for the work and Schultz agrees to train him and to help in his search for his wife.

That is the nub of the plot and, like every other Western, it is pretty simple but the principle cast’s performance, the dialogue, pace, soundtrack and the incredible cinematography make this one of Tarantino’s most coherent and accessible films to date. There are some superb set pieces, the top of the heap being the masked lynch mob / KKK parody – simply superb and worth watching the film just for that. The film was justifiably nominated for a number of awards and is Tarantino’s most critically acclaimed and commercially successful film to date. Absolutely superb.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Dr. King Schultz buys the freedom of a slave, Django, and trains him with the intent to make him his deputy bounty hunter, but both have common intentions..

Instead, he is led to the site of Django's wife who is under the hands of Calvin Candie, a ruthless plantation owner...

One cannot deny the fact that Tarantino can write a brilliant screenplay, no matter what the quality of film (Inglorious good, Death Proof not so) there is fluid, almost poetic dialogue, that keeps you fixed to the screen no matter what the actors are talking about.

For example, Inglorious and the opening, Pulp Fiction and the pocket watch, and Reservoir Dogs and the beauty of Madonna.

Here is no different. From the explanation to the Marshall why King killed the Sheriff, to the facing screen explanation of a slave camp by Jackson near the finale. Ir's all electric stuff and is as good, if not better than what he has done before.

Again, one thing the director can do, is get performances from actors like no one else.

Dicaprio has never been better than he is in this, his Candie one of the most colourful and sadistic of Tarantino characters I have ever seen, and Jackson too, funny and Scary in equal measures, it's a shame the Academy hasn't recognised him for this, it's his best performance.

Waltz is on a par with Inglorious, and ironically Foxx is the weakest link here, having the blandest dialogue, and not really owning the film until Candie and King are long gone.

The action is intense, and the final act in the house is well worth sitting through the run time.

And this is one of the films biggest problems, it's way too long. we have a 105 minute cracking movie about vengeance, with an hour of bothersome exposition thrown in. Yes, we like the references to everything exploitation, but those movies didn't feel like a chore every now and again.

Then we have the obligatory director cameo, which is terrible, and ruins the flow of the film slightly.

Other than that, it's still a great movie, with some career best performances and dialogue that is too die for.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.