Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars1,082
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2014
Or just unbelieveable - great script / good acting and extraordinary
action sequences - but these are taken to an extreme / almost cartoonish
level
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I ordered this before reading the negative reviews and became disappointed, feeling it would be a let down. However, I really enjoyed it. Plenty of blood and gore, as you'd expect; some really funny moments and touching ones. Excellent acting from Waltz, Foxx and De Caprio.. OK, it did get a little "comic book" towards the end but I could live with that.
The most disturbing thing was how the black slaves were treated, which I guess is mainly accurate. Some scenes where the plantation owners ill treated their slaves were truly pitiful.
To sum up, I'd say it was a cross between Pulp Fiction and The Good the Bad and the Ugly, if you can imagine that!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 July 2014
"Django Unchained". Was it really critically acclaimed? Started well but, god, did it go downhill fast. And too long a film. Anything after the entrance of Di Caprio and the exit of Christopher Waltz can be missed (although Samuel L's performance is noteworthy). An indulgence for Tarantino. A good homage to Spaghetti Westerns then loses its mojo. Definitely a film of two halves.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
I have been a big fan of Tarantino for as long as I can remember, and the Western being one of my favourite genres, I couldn't wait to see what his inimitable take on it would be.
I would not be disappointed.
A film that references with reverence, yet interspersed with parody.
It has become one of my favourite westerns instantly, and it has immense re-watchability, even at it's 165 minute running time.
Every actor brings an excellent performance to the table, although Leonardo Di Caprio steals the show through his repugnant slaveowner Calvin C Candie.
I was disappointed upon the bluray release however, to see that there were limited extras - a few featurettes revealing nothing new about the making of the film. What I would have liked to see would be a feature commentary by Quentin himself, although he is famously loath to make such extras.
A better set of extras would have propelled this to the full five stars, but as it is, the lack of said extras drags it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the frosty south. He becomes associated with a bounty hunter, played by Christopher Waltz who gives a spellbinding performance. Together they form a friendship which leads them on a quest to find Django's wife. There are frequent moments of black humour between them, reminiscent of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

Along with his usual amount of splattered blood, Tarantino brings to the screen with amazing force the true horrors of black slavery, whilst sensitively building characters to bring these tortured people to life. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a chillingly friendly portrayal of Monsieur Candie - a slave trader involved in Mandingo fighting (two slaves fighting to the death). His appearance in the film changes the tone to one of overwhelming menace and racks up the tension.

The one criticism I have about the film is that Quentin Tarantino doesn't give a convincing performance in his cameo role. Quentin, stick to what you're good at, and leave the acting to those who can. :o)
33 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
This is one of a kind movie .Just perfect! Nice story, Nice actors, Nice soundtrack, GOOD HOMOUR! 5 stars!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 July 2013
How would Judaism use this German? Give him a conscience and make him a hero. A tip of the hat to the director.

Americans were bad-ass too. In the days of slavery. The movie, and this is a movie not a film, brandishes its stylized violence and wraps it around the story of a man wanting to be reunited with his wife. But it's slavery versus what the Germans did in world war two. Inferred, implied and implicit. Loved it.

Intellectually fascinating as well as hugely entertaining as a movie experience. Beethoven's Für Elise once again gets associated with bad deeds as in Inglourious Basterds [DVD] (2009) a film which I found unappealing. But mixed in with the cool, verbal heroism of the German and his expert bounty hunting techniques, the music does jar as a stunning contrast to the gruesome scene-end.

Nothing like my favourite Tarantino output The Kill Bill Collection [DVD] but certainly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Wow, great fun and lots of OTT blood and guts. Fair play to DiCaprio for staying in character even though he cut his hand when he slammed it on some broken glass on the table. A great portrayal of racism in the deep south in the 19th century without the misery ride and torture porn that was "12 Years A Slave". I just hope judges realise that "issue" films which depict gritty reality aren't necessarily great films. Django Unchained may yet be seen as a great film. It's certainly better than 12 Years... There's definitely some great funny moments like the KKK gang complaining about their head gear.
Even Quentin's cameo as an Aussie ain't bad.
So yeah, pleasantly surprised and will definitely watch it again.
Jackie Brown was a bit too bitter sweet and Kill Bill was overlong and a bit too heavy handed, but Django is more focused and fun. Great to see Tarantino on form again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
Classic Tarentino with an interesting screenplay and script. One can see Tarentino's cultural references in his films this is a good tribute to the spaghetti westerns with a strongly European feel to the excellent storyline. Excellent casting Christoph Waltz as a German bounty hunter with a difference, his character and performances in all of Quentin's films are unique and memorable. Jamie Foxx plays a mean character and Leonardo de Caprio pulls it off. Lots of blood and shoot out as one would expect but its the conversational pieces with excellent dialogue that really makes Tarentino's films so interesting. Samuel L Jackson plays a strong uncharacteristic role, I won't give any more clues. For me 5 star is for Apocalypse Now, La Reine Margot, Cinema Paradiso, Pulp Fiction, Lawrence of Arabia or Killing Fields etc whilst this is not a Pulp Fiction it is certainly a must see movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
Tarantino fans will undoubtedly love this movie, however my personal opinion is that perhaps he should concentrate his obvious talents on movies with a more contemporary setting rather than attempting to span the time zones of history. If I watch a WW2 or a Western movie, I want to be swept away in the reality of the time captured on screen, unfortunately with this movie, and Inglourious Basterds, all you get is another Tarantino set up, to a different backdrop. His movies whilst reasonably good are too much alike and continually follow the same plot lines, inevitably ending in the Tarantino trademark gun fight. (YAWN!)

Anyway, personal opinions aside the purpose of this review is to attempt to save you money by advising you to buy the DVD rather than spend the money on the more expensive Blu-Ray. I own standard definition DVD's with better picture quality than the Blu-Ray release of this movie and would question as to whether the movie was filmed in HD to begin with. The Blu-Ray is a real mixed bag, with blurring and artifacting occurring throughout motion sequences and a definite variation in picture quality from scene to scene, ranging from ALMOST Blu-ray standard to soft focus broadcast standard, and could NEVER be referred to as High-Definition.

Personally I felt financially ripped off having met the additional costs of the "HD" version. Don't waste your money.

(I've noticed that over the years the picture quality of standard definition DVDs has deteriorated, and suspect that distribution companies have initiated this in order to make their poor quality Blu-Rays look better than they actually are. You only have to view some of the top quality Blu-Ray titles such as Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Bladerunner, Braveheart, The Outlaw Josey Wales and Gladiator and see what the format is truly capable of in order to realise that we're being supplied with poor quality Blu-Ray transfers at an over inflated price.)
55 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)