Customer Reviews


645 Reviews
5 star:
 (454)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD I HAD TO WATCH IT TWICE!
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the...
Published 8 months ago by Linda

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DON'T BUY THE BLU-RAY!
Tarantino fans will undoubtedly love this movie, however my personal opinion is that perhaps he should concentrate his obvious talents on movies with a more contemporary setting rather than attempting to span the time zones of history. If I watch a WW2 or a Western movie, I want to be swept away in the reality of the time captured on screen, unfortunately with this movie,...
Published 10 months ago by Freddie Del Fuego


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO GOOD I HAD TO WATCH IT TWICE!, 24 Mar 2014
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD)
This is one of the most complex and compelling of Tarantino's films, and will appeal to his dyed-in-the-wool fans and also those interested in the subject it addresses - slavery. Django is the story of a runaway slave who was caught and punished. When the film starts he has been separated from his wife and sold, and is chained to other slaves being dragged across the frosty south. He becomes associated with a bounty hunter, played by Christopher Waltz who gives a spellbinding performance. Together they form a friendship which leads them on a quest to find Django's wife. There are frequent moments of black humour between them, reminiscent of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

Along with his usual amount of splattered blood, Tarantino brings to the screen with amazing force the true horrors of black slavery, whilst sensitively building characters to bring these tortured people to life. Leonardo Di Caprio gives a chillingly friendly portrayal of Monsieur Candie - a slave trader involved in Mandingo fighting (two slaves fighting to the death). His appearance in the film changes the tone to one of overwhelming menace and racks up the tension.

The one criticism I have about the film is that Quentin Tarantino doesn't give a convincing performance in his cameo role. Quentin, stick to what you're good at, and leave the acting to those who can. :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino at his absolute best, 25 July 2013
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
This film will make you smile, laugh, feel nauseated and think on about the horror of the times it's set in. Its a classic. Christopher Waltz stole the the show for me. His witty and clever comments and acting had perfect timing. Not to mention his facial expressions.
Jamie Foxx was great as the lead character but I enjoyed Waltz much more. It's fast and furious from the get go. It's gruesome, but in classic OTT Tarantino style.
The story is clever enough and superbly acted by one and all.
One exception is Samuel L Jackson. His performance was so overwhelmingly good there aren't words to describe it.
This movie's shocking and gory as I'm sure it would have been during that terrible time. BUT it's also very very entertaining and hugely funny. I can't recommend it highly enough. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino, 2 April 2014
By 
C. Larsen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love him or hate him, he makes action movies with a twist. This is one of my favorites. Up there with "Pulp Fiction". Not quite, but damn close. The supporting cast carry this movie. Leonardo DiCaprio, Samuel L. Jackson, and that little German guy, what's his name? Excellent performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Django Unchained, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
A gripping story with theatrical violence and some comedy elements, an entertaining, but sometimes shocking film. Definately for over 18's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a shootout, 23 July 2013
By 
DK-BUYER (LAS VEGAS, NEVADA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't able to go to the big screen to watch Django, but now that I've seen it on Blu Ray I'm impressed.
It is clearly one of the best films from Tarantino! (From my perspective).
The plot is PERFECT!
Waltz deserves his Oscar. Dicaprio does some of the best acting I've seen from him. Samuel L Jackson's role is just f..... funny!
The black humor and ridicule of the classic westerns, the major unnatural amounts of blood and wild camera zooms help make this film one of my absolute favorites!
It is a bit long-winded, but otherwise it's just a new masterpiece from Tarantino!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars django, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
a very entertaining film, action, brutal, very funny, its got it all. keeps you on edge of your seat throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally absorbing, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD)
Every emotion, every type of suspense and of course Tarantino's humor - all is present, all is beautifully portrayed. Script, music, visuals - all exceptional- just loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Broomhilda?, 10 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Django Unchained is supposedly a very loose reworking Sergio Corbucci's spaghetti-western Django. I believe it has a closer affiliation to the exploitation cult film Mandingo (1975) about a slave taught to fight other slaves – this movie for its time was somewhat an outrageous product, a film that Mr Tarantino has praised, while by and large the critics' have rejected the film with extreme disapproval.

The lead actor is played by Foxx, who plays the Django, a slave who is in a chain gang, across their path comes one Dr King Schultz, a German who is well-groomed and rather unconventional in his ways, he claims to be a travelling dentist; Schultz carriage is a small wagon with a huge model of a molar tooth on the top. Our Shultz, after some initial reluctance from the slavers, buys Django and promises him his freedom in return for a favour: he needs Django to help him track three white fugitives that have bounty on their heads.

As the narrative progress we find that Django proves himself a good assistant and a talented shot. Through some back story we find that Django was married and his wife speaks the German language and she was named Brünnhilde, unfortunately her current owners mishear her name and call her "Broomhilda". Due to her predilection for running away she is branded on the face and forced to work as a "comfort" girl. As mutual respect sets in between the eccentric German and Django, it is agreed that that will rescue his wife Brünnhilde.

Through the story we meet inept KKK posse the characters are somewhat reminiscent of the KKK in Blazing Saddles. We then meet with Candie (played rather eloquently by DiCaprio) the owner of Candyland Plantation his evil is only matched by his apparent need to sound and look charming. Django needs all his guile to pretend to be that of the most hated of things, a "Mandingo", a fighter-promoter his double dealing is only matched to Stephen's domestic bondage to his master and his family, aptly played Samuel Jackson.
There are moments of pure brilliant direction mastery of the rather over the top violence and I feel the overuse of the N word, was not needed. At two hours and 45 Django is a long film - undoubtedly, this film better than Tarantino’s WW2 film Inglourious Basterds. The relationship between Schultz and Django is well managed and their friendship really looks convincing and their resulting comedic episodes are well done. Well worth a four star rating – with flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THE WAY YOU DIE, 7 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is a well spoken bounty hunter who acquires Django (Jamie Foxx) to find and kill some men who are wanted, "dead or alive." Dr. Schultz isn't too keen on the "live" part.

The film divides itself into two parts. After the bounty hunting episodes are through, our duo conceive a plan to rescue the wife of Django (Kerry Washington) by purchasing her from Candie Land plantation. Dr. Schultz has no stomach for slavery or slave owners. Leonardo DiCaprio doesn't enter the film until the second part.

Like Tarantino films it incorporates humor. The bag over the head scene was reminiscent of something we might have seen in "Blazing Saddles." The flashbacks are minimal and not confusing. There is of course the over the top climatic ending and plenty of blood.

I have to question the use of the MF bomb several times in this picture. The first known usage of the word is the 1930s. It is speculated the phrase originated during slavery as a way to describe white owners who would take black mothers as comfort women. The phrase would have a specific meaning and not used in the generic sense that Samuel L. Jackson tossed about.

Tarantino fans will not be disappointed. Great sound track.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb,N-word, nudity (Kerry Washington). No sex. Killing and slow motion blood splatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino at his best, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] (DVD)
Excellent movie that I've watched a few times. Gripping and exciting if a little violent. Great entertainment with a message and sound observations by Tarantino. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django Unchained  (DVD + UV Copy) [2013]
Django Unchained (DVD + UV Copy) [2013] by Quentin Tarantino (DVD - 2013)
£5.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews