Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking Good Yarn from Norway.
This is from the much talented Jo Nesbo and is another fine adaptation of one of his books. This is about Oscar Svendson (Kyre Hellum), he wakes up under a fat lap dancer covered in blood, surrounded by dead bodies and holding a pump action shot gun in the not so up market `Pink Heaven'. Unfortunately for him the cops are already there and after a half arsed escape...
Published 17 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
Not as good as Headhunters, but then not every movie can be an academy award winner. I'd recommend it to Jo Nesbo fans and others with a sense of dark humor and who enjoy good entertainment.
Published 2 months ago by A. Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollicking Good Yarn from Norway., 7 Feb 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
This is from the much talented Jo Nesbo and is another fine adaptation of one of his books. This is about Oscar Svendson (Kyre Hellum), he wakes up under a fat lap dancer covered in blood, surrounded by dead bodies and holding a pump action shot gun in the not so up market `Pink Heaven'. Unfortunately for him the cops are already there and after a half arsed escape attempt, he sort of comes quietly.

Once back at the cop shop Inspector SolÝr (Henrik Mestad who is great) starts to interrogate him and we start to piece the story together. He works for a company called Evergreen that makes those fake Christmas trees out of recycled rubbish. They specialise in employing ex offenders and to say there is a mixed bag is a tad of an understatement. Any way the new recruit gets him and three others to go into a syndicate on their football pools with a fail safe plan to win. Needless to say they do and get the life changing sum of 1.7 million kroner. So like all self respecting Norwegians, they celebrate with far too much booze, then the fun begins as does the headcount.

This is billed as a comedy and there are some comedic moments but not the sort to give you face ache. It is humorous especially in how inept everyone is and the completely over the top performances from all concerned, which is a compliment by the way as that was the only way to play something like this. There is a fair amount of gore and some up close and personal violence, the cops are all absolutely nut jobs or useless and his best mate Thor is a great sidekick.

This is a really good film but there is an issue with the sub titles as they are all white and that causes them to be hard to read on occasions, but that did not really detract from the enjoyment. It just whizzed by and kept the surprises coming right until the end. I ruddy well loved it, so for some fun, violence, gore and lap dance fun Norwegian style you need look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
This was a rarity for me inasmuch as I rarely if ever buy movies that i haven't already seen and liked. This came up as one of those "you might like this" suggestions you get when browsing. I read the synopsis and found it quite intriguing and as I'd seen Headhunters and really enjoyed it and also read The Leopard I took a punt on it and wasn't let down. Yes it's a thriller and a very violent one at that but it's a crime movie in the same vein as Fargo and has a real Coenesque vibe to it so that between cringing at the gore I was laughing fit to bust as an incompetent group off one another with the intent of being the last man standing to secure the whole of a large betting win. The whole story is told in series of flashbacks as one of the group is questioned by a police detective with, shall we say, unconventional methods. Needless to say the ending is not what you expect as the whole sequence events is finally revealed. At 86 minutes long it doesn't outstay its welcome and there's not a spare moment in the entire movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another Nesbo gem, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
Headhunters was one of my favourite laugh out loud films of last year and this is just as good ; gorey cartoon violence, great plot and total bizare story . Just wait for the american remake to ruin it . I wonder why this too wasnt a cinema release, as I would have loved to enjoy the capers on the bigger screen ; although it may be too laddish for some who like their world cinema to be serious and the subtitles will put off those with a black humour taste . My favourite film of the year so far .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly Entertaining, 5 Jan 2013
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
I love how the Norwegians can spin a thriller yarn with hilarious comedy elements. I loved the film version of Nesbo's Headhunters book, but think this film even tops that.
I am converted to Nordic cinema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant black comedy -- not the Norwegian norm, 6 July 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
You wouldn't necessarily expect one of the masters of Nordic noir to come up with a laugh-out-loud comedy-thriller, but Jackpot just demonstrates that author-turned-scriptwriter Jo Nesbo has more than one trick up his sleeve.

Jackpot is bleak and bloody, subtle and understated, in your face and riotously funny. Sometimes all at once. It blends some outstanding performances from Scandinavian actors (the investigating officer is particularly brilliant) with a neatly twisty-turny plot. Somehow, even though Jackpot involves sawing up dead bodies, disposal of said dead bodies by porcine methods, corpses who aren't quite dead yet, masses of arterial spray, a sleazy strip joint, a machine gun shoot-out and an unfeasible number of blow-up dolls, it's all done in the best possible taste. Some of the gags rely on the lowest common denominator, but they're all handled with a wry flair which Hollywood could learn a lot from.
It helps that this story is an intriguing one and it's cleverly presented. We see most of the plot in flashback, so we know the outcome from the start. Or do we?

A surprisingly spiffy evening's entertainment for people with offbeat tastes. No special features on our disc, sadly. The subtitles are a bit tricky to read (and I still want to know what 'farn' actually translates to...)
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Norwegian film, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
Author Jo NesbÝ has come up with another winning story here.
A group of ex-offenders win the football pools and then the story starts about their division of the million kroner plus jackpot. Set in a border town near the Swedish border we see some very funny situations and the film moves along at a very good pace.
If you liked Headhunter from Jo NesbÝ, you'll like this just as much.
Most of the dialogue is in Norwegian (some in Swedish) with English subtitles throughout.
Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving and very stylish black comedy, 20 July 2013
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Think Pulp Fiction meets Shallow Grave with a dash of Fargo thrown in.

Jackpot may not be entirely original, but is a thoroughly entertaining tongue-in-cheek thriller, all played by some truly quirky characters and with a couple of pretty clever twists along the way.

There are some bloody, wince-making moments and laugh-out-loud moments in equal measure. Great rocking soundtrack too! If you don't mind (sometimes slightly clumsily translated) subtitles, then Jackpot is a lot of fun for all of us with a twisted sense of humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rip-snorting black comedy: not the Norwegian norm, 9 July 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
You wouldn't necessarily expect one of the masters of Nordic noir to come up with a laugh-out-loud comedy-thriller, but Jackpot just demonstrates that author-turned-scriptwriter Jo Nesbo has more than one trick up his sleeve.

Jackpot is bleak and bloody, subtle and understated, in your face and riotously funny. Sometimes all at once. It blends some outstanding performances from Scandinavian actors (the investigating officer is particularly brilliant) with a neatly twisty-turny plot. Somehow, even though Jackpot involves sawing up dead bodies, disposal of said dead bodies by porcine methods, corpses who aren't quite dead yet, masses of arterial spray, a sleazy strip joint, a machine gun shoot-out and an unfeasible number of blow-up dolls, it's all done in the best possible taste. Some of the gags rely on the lowest common denominator, but they're all handled with a wry flair which Hollywood could learn a lot from.
It helps that this story is an intriguing one and it's cleverly presented. We see most of the plot in flashback, so we know the outcome from the start. Or do we?

A surprisingly spiffy evening's entertainment for people with offbeat tastes. No special features on our disc, sadly. The subtitles are a bit tricky to read (and I still want to know what 'farn' actually translates to...)
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
Am a big fan of Jo Nesbo having read all his books. I already have Headhunters on DVD but I hadn't heard of Jackpot. It's brilliant there are some truly gory scenes as well as lol and as usual it keeps you guessing until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Violence with Humour, 5 Jan 2013
By 
C. Colley (Lincs) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jackpot [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really good dark comedy film about a group of ex-criminals who fall out after winning some money on the football pools.
The plot is fast-paced, very gorey and funny.
A very enjoyable film that's entertaining throughout. Don't be put off by the subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jackpot [DVD]
Jackpot [DVD] by Movie (DVD - 2013)
£3.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews