Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little aircraft tracker
This was purchased for ADS-B aircraft tracking with RTL1090 software and Planeplotter, performs just as intended; great!
(Don't run the CD if you want to use it in this way.)
Published 19 months ago by Pete

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works sometimes but not for quick movement.
Seems to work ok but not for sports. Even when connected to RF aerial which was connected to my VCR and old Freeview box, it can't keep up with changing image. Wouldn't recommend.
Published 15 months ago by Mr R.Dufall


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little aircraft tracker, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
This was purchased for ADS-B aircraft tracking with RTL1090 software and Planeplotter, performs just as intended; great!
(Don't run the CD if you want to use it in this way.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome SDR scanner/radio!, 20 April 2013
By 
S. Hather (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
Like several people, I ain't watching TV on this little device. Using it as a VHF/UHF SDR Radio, and works a treat!
probably can't put a link here, but if you want to know how to use it in this way, just google RTL SDR etc, and download the SDR# free program for windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent SDR, so-so TV tuner. Lots of fun at a great price. Huge potential., 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
Firstly, I would like to say that like many others, I did not buy this to watch TV on.

I did buy it to use as a software defined radio (SDR). That is a radio that can be controlled in software on your computer, meaning you can tune it to a wide range of frequencies (not just the TV frequencies) and run different radio based experiments on it. If you are looking for a review of it as a TV tuner, keep reading, this review won't help you on that.

The unit contains the necessary Realtek chip that the rtl_sdr project makes use of, which in turn can be used by bits of software like gnuradio or HDSDR or if you are on OS X you can try gqrx which contains drivers, code and a GUI application. Simply put, using one of these dongles and the right software, you can listen from 52 - 2200MHz (Approx - not same on all apparently) which covers a wide range. You won't however pick up much using the supplied antenna, and will probably want to either build yourself one or purchase a good scanner aerial like a discone that can pick up a wide range of frequencies.

Great fun, try adding one to a raspberry pi and making a handheld scanner or handheld spectrum analyser at fraction of the cost of an off the shelf one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
Using items for SDR radio application and they work well being a communications engineer by profession I have tested all on various radio test equipment and for the money cannot be faulted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aircraft coverage great, Freeview, not so much!, 9 July 2013
By 
Jamie D. (Bridgend, South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
I bought this with the main intention of providing real time aircraft info to Flightradar24, and to be able to monitor the information myself!

And for that purpose, the included mini antenna does a great job for the beginner sitting on a windowsill! However if you are planning to use this with Freeview signal to watch and record TV, I had no luck getting this to work for that at all!

Otherwise it's well packed and of reasonable quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nifty product but zero support, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
I bought this with the intention of using my PC when the TV was in use by others. In the event after installing it I needed an authorization code but none was provided. I contacted the S/W supplier but they referred me to the manufacturer. Having written twice to them by Email and having had no response I am left with a useless product and a waste of money. Steer clear!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the job for my needs - which is not as a TV tuner., 8 Jun 2013
By 
A. G. Price (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
I didn't use this as a TV tuner but wanted to use it for an SDR radio and ads-b receiver using well-known software available on the net. It does the job I wanted it for perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ADS-B on a budget, 19 May 2013
By 
C. Smith (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
I don't own and have never experienced a 'real' ADS-B device that is specifically designed for the purpose. I can't therefore make any comparisons with this dongle.

What I can say though, is that for under ten pounds and after only a short international delivery wait - I have the ability to see ADS-B traffic. The aerial in the kit does work although things would be improved by a proper tuned 1090 antenna I'm sure.

So with the little whip against a 1st-floor window, I can see aircraft to about 50 miles. Any less than about 10,000 ft and that range tapers off. It is able to read very approx. 300 messages a second and appears to have a very good signal strength. I can't see why a decent aerial with a 360 degree horizon view wouldn't be brilliant. What's more, you can offset the obvious cable losses at these high working frequencies by mounting the dongle closer to the aerial and increasing the length of the USB cable. After all, you don't need access to the dongle.

I took the advice of not letting Windows install any drivers and instead used 'zadig' and rtl 1090 software (free download).

Considering this was a very quick test with no proper antenna, things can only get better! You simply cannot go wrong at this price.

Get one before somebody realises they are 15 times less money than a 'real' one and sticks the price up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works sometimes but not for quick movement., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
Seems to work ok but not for sports. Even when connected to RF aerial which was connected to my VCR and old Freeview box, it can't keep up with changing image. Wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tuner, 30 Jan 2013
This review is from: KEEDOX« DVB-T USB TV RTL-SDR FM+DAB Radio Tuner Receiver Stick Realtek RTL2832U+R820T
Excellent did everything I wanted it for. Price cannot be beaten. Delivery good. All in all would definately recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews