Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An improved read
Despite the typo errors, I found the paperback version a good yarn and a well researched story line. Reading the reviews of the first Kindle version I felt that the comments are somewhat harsh on the author. However I am pleased to note that the author has taken the previous reviews to heart and taken the trouble of producing an updated version which appears to have been...
Published 16 months ago by Carwyn

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame
An interesting and absorbing tale let down, as previous reviews mention, by a shocking amount of spelling & grammatical errors. I almost stopped reading because of this. Also, there are some scenarios that simply beggar belief, and I don't mean the supernatural elements. For example, could a teenaged student really leave home to return 6 short years later as a seasoned...
Published 17 months ago by Grogster


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wow, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
this was a great read did,nt want to put it down once i had started great story well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Judas Codex, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
The idea was good and the novel started promisingly. It might well appeal more to others but I found the characters two-dimensional and the narrative stale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Such a shame, 31 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and absorbing tale let down, as previous reviews mention, by a shocking amount of spelling & grammatical errors. I almost stopped reading because of this. Also, there are some scenarios that simply beggar belief, and I don't mean the supernatural elements. For example, could a teenaged student really leave home to return 6 short years later as a seasoned and outstanding SAS officer?!
However, despite some unnecessary filling (a brief history of popyrus, and of blood groups), this is quite a good, fun read. Some of the twists I figured out quite early on and, by the author's own admission, the central storyline isn't original. That said, the historical elements are well researched and the action sequences are well executed.
Given the author's background in teaching, I don't believe the obvious, glaring errors are his. Therefore, I'd say that this is a pretty good first novel. Good enough for me to give his second novel (the start of which is included) a read before giving up on this author. Three stars because it's a four star story but a one star editing/proof reading/publishing job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and frustrating, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
Undeterred by some of the negative reviews, I gave this book a try. It starts well and then sadly drops away into something that a schoolboy might have written; full of unbeleivable characters, contrived dialogue and too many coincidences. The story had promise, but this was never fulfilled by the time I gave up reading it. There are far too many spelling and grammatical errors to make this book in any way pleasurable. Missing words, wrong words, co-joined words. One character has a temporary name-change. The most frustrating thing was the random punctuation. Example - `A problem,' enquired Jared? Note the position of the question mark; one of far too many occurances.
It would be difficult to recommend this book for any reason - apart from giving an example of not how to write.
Does anyone proof-read any more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judas Codex by James Stevens - Personal review., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
fascinating story, quite well researched with some unexpected conclusions - but never in my life have I come across a publication which was so poorly proof read. I found this very embarrassing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, 6 Feb 2014
By 
TerryB (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
It was a good read, a bit like a Dan Brown. So I would recommend it although you might think it a bit second rate if you had read the 'original'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but could be improved, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
This is an unusual twist on a well-researched religious mystery. The reader is kept on the hook until almost the very end with plenty of action (some quite gory - not for the faint hearted) interspersed with enough historical background info to help keep the reader's disbelief in suspension. The central character, Jared, is a compelling character, not without his faults, but endearing nonetheless. I would have scored it higher but for the myriad of grammatical errors that proved to be a constant irritant throughout this ebook. It would benefit massively from a really thorough copy-edit.
Jim Turner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Read This Again - Proof Readers get A Grip!, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
I started this book quite impressed with the scene-setting, identifying the characters and the interplay between them. As the story progressed I became more and more irritated with the errors, words that run together; the wrong use of "there"/"their"/"they're"; incorrect apostrophes - when in doubt, don't use it! Incorrect use of "who"/"whose"/"who's". I don't know who is responsible for proof-reading kindle books, but in this instance they failed miserably! This has really spoiled my enjoyment of what I thought would be a good story. I tend to support the maxim that "If you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all", but this lack of editing is appalling.

I always read a book again as there's always the chance that I missed something the first time. I like to give it a second chance. Once again the dreadful editing was a real thorn in the flesh and detracted from what is a "Ripping Yarn", complete with intelligent scene-setting, dashing but flawed hero and a somewhat unlikely but engaging mystery. The story is a good one, but please Proof Readers GET A GRIP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read., 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, this is a fantastic idea for a work of fiction, I am looking forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Judas Codex - No secret remains hidden forever however well buried (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Creepy, sometimes dark story, kept me entertained, although I had figured out most of the plot before the end, prefer to be kept wondering, but nontheless a really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews