Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars34
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2010
Not a book for the beach or holidays but it is one the finest books ever written on European monetary union. It should be read by all those who want the UK to adopt the euro or who are members of the Euro. However, it isn't a simplistic 'euro bashing' book . At its core it is an entertaining analysis of how the Exchange Rate Mechanism was cobbled together and how fell asunder. Laser like analysis focuses in on the its fatal flaws that everyone just wanted to look over. His analysis exposes the petulant nationalism that is at the heart of attempts at European Monetary Union. The verbal pictures he paints of the egotistical and arrogant eurocrats is worth the price of the book alone. It has been a number of years since it was first published but its predictions for difficulties within the Euro area have proved true. He highlights the simple fact that without political union there can never be monetary union but did not stop those intent on trying to achieve it. The ERM fell apart but this was swept aside and the answer was even close with the actual monteary union and a common currency. However, the slowly shifting techtonic plates of nationalism are grinding and tearing at the seams of the Euro now. The outcome is difficult to predict, but in effect the eurocrats built a cinema without a fire escape on the suppostion that this realisation would prevent anyone from ever risking starting a fire...but now there is smoke and panic is setting in.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
About 20 years ago I told some friends that EU was the new Soviet Union and we would all lose our freedoms and our democracy, I was ridiculed. Well here is the evidence that the EU is an idea based on French and German political lines, in other words do as we say or else.
The book is well written and extremely interesting as an insight into how the EU works political and what those political and economic objectives really are. The technical financial stuff can be confusing but a full understanding of it is not essential.
Some of the information related is truly astounding, and reveals just how cynical the EU project is.
If you want to properly informed about the EU before we get our in/out vote, read this book.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
If, as I imagine the author wishes to tell as many British people as possible, (before it's too late) the truth behind the" criminal" goings on of the un-elected heads of the so-called European Union, and how much ours and the rest of the countries throughout Europe are being conned, hoodwinked and blatantly lied to.,then I beg him to publish an abridged version with all the facts re-told in clear and precise wording.
Then I think if enough people read the truth we, the British public will give a resounding thumbs down to this whole fiasco of European integration.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Connolly's economics are nothing original, but his conclusions are ignored by the whole European elite. The story of how the first steps towards the common currency were manipulated are interesting in themselves but to me even more interesting was the unarguable explanation of why the Euromis bound to fail. Any economist who tells you the contrary is talking politics not economics. If you want to see a debate where Connolly is pitted against the worst sort of blind Eurocrats watch this. [...]
It will change the way you view the current crisis - but the news is not good....
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
I now feel I have some impression of how things proceed in the EU. Clearly the author is one of those people who has been in a position to see, at first hand, the unsatisfactory motivations and machinations of people who's greatest aim is to make a name for themselves. You would like to think that procedures exist for testing and proving plans for progress but, in truth, it seams that they are just winging it from one catastrophe to the next. I.E. Do something and see what happens then try to fix it. I do not believe there are many people who can get their head around the problems of Europe and I do not believe many of them are in a position to do anything about it! Clearly nobody in power realized that the Euro would take away a country's ability to devalue in order to become more competitive. The pattern repeats itself over and over. For me, its time to get out. I have read a number of books on this subject and I would recommend this book very highly.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2001
This is one of the best books that I have read. I am studying an Economics Degree and this is exactly the sort of analysis that is needed on the EMU/ERM. Although Connolly has strong opinions on this subject, these are always backed up by facts and logical arguments. His knowledge of economics is first rate, and I only wish he would write a new edition so that I could understand the present day politics of EMU!
My only warning is that this is a fairly technical book. In order to be able to really follow the arguments you need to have a grounding in macroeconomics. It will be heavy going without it!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2000
Mr. Connolly's credentials are impeccable. Having worked at the "Commission" for many years, he is in place to write the most detailed and therefore damming account of the lies and treachery surrounding the whole "Europe" project. This book illuminates not only the historical but also the current U.K and European political scene. With this book still available, there can be no excuse for ignorance on the subject of Europe. The E.U. called the book "blasphemous": I would call it "the truth" and if one has been reading anything about Mr. Connolly and the European Courts, one would realise his strength under duress. At some point, and I hope it's soon, Mr. Connolly will be seen as a Crusader for truth and justice. Once you have read this, Europe will NEVER seem the same again.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2000
This is one the finest economic books written in the last decade and should be read by all those who want the UK to adopt the euro - but it isn't a simplistic 'euro bashing' book . At its core it is an entertaining analysis of how the Exchange Rate Mechanism was cobbled together and how fell asunder. But the author is also painting on a broader scale and he exposes the petulant nationalism that is at the heart of attempts at European Monetary Union. The verbal pictures he paints of the egotistical and arrogant eurocrats is worth the price of the book alone. Not an easy read unless you're an economist but you will be glad you did when you are finished it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
Absolutely fantastic. A comprehensive trashing of both the ERM (and by implication, EMU) and the limp-wristed "wait-and-see" euro policy of Major and Blair.
The protagonists are brilliantly drawn, and the story becomes gripping as the ERM hurtles towards its spectacular, inevitable end. The book is also good on the wider strategic aims of the major EU countries, which it places in historical context. Reading some passages makes you realise just how widely the debate in the UK is missing the point, based as it is around name-calling and scare-stories of "missing the boat".
The author isn't afraid to support the narrative with some fairly sizeable chunks of theory. These can take a while to work through, but the effort is well rewarded.
The conclusion of the book is clear: ERM/EMU is bad for the economies of the EU, but is being advanced to further the political ambitions of the member states' governing elites. It's something to bear in mind as we brace ourselves for the post-Christmas barrage of pro-euro propaganda masquerading as even-handed information.
Essential reading.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
Haven't actually read this book, except for excerpts quoted in The Times Online, because I see it costs £560 for a second-hand paperback. Now that all Connolly's predictions are coming true and the euro is imploding, will the book be reprinted? Or will the euro elites keep it quiet? Let's wait and see.
55 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)