Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex read but well worth it...
Not a book for the beach or holidays but it is one the finest books ever written on European monetary union. It should be read by all those who want the UK to adopt the euro or who are members of the Euro. However, it isn't a simplistic 'euro bashing' book . At its core it is an entertaining analysis of how the Exchange Rate Mechanism was cobbled together and how fell...
Published on 18 Jan 2010 by A. Sweeney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Get out now while we can
If, as I imagine the author wishes to tell as many British people as possible, (before it's too late) the truth behind the" criminal" goings on of the un-elected heads of the so-called European Union, and how much ours and the rest of the countries throughout Europe are being conned, hoodwinked and blatantly lied to.,then I beg him to publish an abridged version...
Published 2 days ago by Mr. Ja Seston


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex read but well worth it..., 18 Jan 2010
By 
A. Sweeney "NO40" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a book for the beach or holidays but it is one the finest books ever written on European monetary union. It should be read by all those who want the UK to adopt the euro or who are members of the Euro. However, it isn't a simplistic 'euro bashing' book . At its core it is an entertaining analysis of how the Exchange Rate Mechanism was cobbled together and how fell asunder. Laser like analysis focuses in on the its fatal flaws that everyone just wanted to look over. His analysis exposes the petulant nationalism that is at the heart of attempts at European Monetary Union. The verbal pictures he paints of the egotistical and arrogant eurocrats is worth the price of the book alone. It has been a number of years since it was first published but its predictions for difficulties within the Euro area have proved true. He highlights the simple fact that without political union there can never be monetary union but did not stop those intent on trying to achieve it. The ERM fell apart but this was swept aside and the answer was even close with the actual monteary union and a common currency. However, the slowly shifting techtonic plates of nationalism are grinding and tearing at the seams of the Euro now. The outcome is difficult to predict, but in effect the eurocrats built a cinema without a fire escape on the suppostion that this realisation would prevent anyone from ever risking starting a fire...but now there is smoke and panic is setting in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book!, 20 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This is one of the best books that I have read. I am studying an Economics Degree and this is exactly the sort of analysis that is needed on the EMU/ERM. Although Connolly has strong opinions on this subject, these are always backed up by facts and logical arguments. His knowledge of economics is first rate, and I only wish he would write a new edition so that I could understand the present day politics of EMU!
My only warning is that this is a fairly technical book. In order to be able to really follow the arguments you need to have a grounding in macroeconomics. It will be heavy going without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for anyone who believes in European integration, 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book offers a frightening insight in the dirty dealings and hidden, political and personal motives behind the continued push for further European integration, and the single currency in particular. Anyone believing in this must be wearing blinkers not to do some serious reflection after having read the book, written by a former insider and top official of the European Commission. The book may appear a bit heavy from time to time when it gets down to monetary and financial theory, but the author has clearly made an effort not to lose the casual reader, and while one may not understand every detail, the book largely hammers home the point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read!, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This is, perhaps, one of the best books I have read. The book is convincing in that it draws on so much economic analysis, there are few points that are not soundly backed up. A tough read, and one that will probably require a good knowledge of economics, this book should still be read by anyone who is undecided over europe, I am certainly converted into a "eurosceptic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rotten Heart of Europe: Dirty War for Europe's Money (Kindle Edition)
I now feel I have some impression of how things proceed in the EU. Clearly the author is one of those people who has been in a position to see, at first hand, the unsatisfactory motivations and machinations of people who's greatest aim is to make a name for themselves. You would like to think that procedures exist for testing and proving plans for progress but, in truth, it seams that they are just winging it from one catastrophe to the next. I.E. Do something and see what happens then try to fix it. I do not believe there are many people who can get their head around the problems of Europe and I do not believe many of them are in a position to do anything about it! Clearly nobody in power realized that the Euro would take away a country's ability to devalue in order to become more competitive. The pattern repeats itself over and over. For me, its time to get out. I have read a number of books on this subject and I would recommend this book very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotten indeed!!, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rotten Heart of Europe: Dirty War for Europe's Money (Kindle Edition)
About 20 years ago I told some friends that EU was the new Soviet Union and we would all lose our freedoms and our democracy, I was ridiculed. Well here is the evidence that the EU is an idea based on French and German political lines, in other words do as we say or else.
The book is well written and extremely interesting as an insight into how the EU works political and what those political and economic objectives really are. The technical financial stuff can be confusing but a full understanding of it is not essential.
Some of the information related is truly astounding, and reveals just how cynical the EU project is.
If you want to properly informed about the EU before we get our in/out vote, read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No wonder they tried to ban it ..., 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Mr. Connolly's credentials are impeccable. Having worked at the "Commission" for many years, he is in place to write the most detailed and therefore damming account of the lies and treachery surrounding the whole "Europe" project. This book illuminates not only the historical but also the current U.K and European political scene. With this book still available, there can be no excuse for ignorance on the subject of Europe. The E.U. called the book "blasphemous": I would call it "the truth" and if one has been reading anything about Mr. Connolly and the European Courts, one would realise his strength under duress. At some point, and I hope it's soon, Mr. Connolly will be seen as a Crusader for truth and justice. Once you have read this, Europe will NEVER seem the same again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written 1996 but could have been written today - why the Euro is about to die, 30 Mar 2013
Connolly's economics are nothing original, but his conclusions are ignored by the whole European elite. The story of how the first steps towards the common currency were manipulated are interesting in themselves but to me even more interesting was the unarguable explanation of why the Euromis bound to fail. Any economist who tells you the contrary is talking politics not economics. If you want to see a debate where Connolly is pitted against the worst sort of blind Eurocrats watch this. [...]
It will change the way you view the current crisis - but the news is not good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 4 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Absolutely fantastic. A comprehensive trashing of both the ERM (and by implication, EMU) and the limp-wristed "wait-and-see" euro policy of Major and Blair.
The protagonists are brilliantly drawn, and the story becomes gripping as the ERM hurtles towards its spectacular, inevitable end. The book is also good on the wider strategic aims of the major EU countries, which it places in historical context. Reading some passages makes you realise just how widely the debate in the UK is missing the point, based as it is around name-calling and scare-stories of "missing the boat".
The author isn't afraid to support the narrative with some fairly sizeable chunks of theory. These can take a while to work through, but the effort is well rewarded.
The conclusion of the book is clear: ERM/EMU is bad for the economies of the EU, but is being advanced to further the political ambitions of the member states' governing elites. It's something to bear in mind as we brace ourselves for the post-Christmas barrage of pro-euro propaganda masquerading as even-handed information.
Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will this be reprinted or censored?, 15 Dec 2011
By 
Haven't actually read this book, except for excerpts quoted in The Times Online, because I see it costs £560 for a second-hand paperback. Now that all Connolly's predictions are coming true and the euro is imploding, will the book be reprinted? Or will the euro elites keep it quiet? Let's wait and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews