Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detailed book with clear strategies clarified to illuminate your path and master your chosen field. A great Life /career read.
Mastery is a practical guide to achieving great success in your chosen path or career in life. Robert Greene describes a detailed journey of focus and commitment so intense, - that you cannot fail in reaching your full creative potential should you choose to embark on this mission of discovery.
The greatest Masters of all time are studied by Greene not in their...
Published 12 months ago by misspink

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting stories, but not a practical guide to mastery
Greene is a devoted researcher and a master of the historical anecdote. In this book, he tells some very interesting stories about some very interesting people (Einstein, Mozart etc.) If you like the author and his style, you may enjoy this book.

However, I wouldn't recommend this as a serious advice book. It's extremely long and Greene's list of things you...
Published on 2 Mar. 2013 by Evelyn


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously life-changing, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Seriously life-changing, excellently written, well worth the hype as really changes your plans in life - very motivating and great for both sexes but particularly men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Damian (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
After Napoleon Hill wrote his book in late 30's i thought no book on the subject could surpass it, but this "Mastery" could be one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mastery -, 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I'm currently reading the book, but it's such a great book. I always love how robert Greene is able to give a great insight on how the historians of our past were able to become masters of their craft without making it hard to understand as a reader. I advice anyone who wants to learn mastery to purchase this book and hold it like bible , and have the open mindedness to apply what is needed to ones life... #knowledgeisPower peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Know Thyself, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
Mastery by Robert Greene enables You to know Thyself.

As you read through the book, you will come to fully realize and appreciate the hard work that is needed in to accomplish one's Life's Task. You may call it your Definite Purpose in life-as famously coined by Napoleon Hill-and by right this book is somewhat an expression of a modern age "Think and Grow Rich". Contained in Robert's book is a seminal idea, borrowed from the wisdoms from ages past and present, whose time has finally come.

Anyway, the geniuses of the ages attained their eternal glory not on luck or talent alone but on constant challenges and diligence on becoming a master over their chosen field. For instance, Robert Greene gave detailed accounts on the precarious journeys taken by Charles Darwin-the famed naturalist-in his early years, ones which is marked by constant bitter dispute with the father and criticism from those who disdained his peculiar ideas. Here Charles were sent, unwillingly by his father, to the far corners of Africa. This to examine specimens.

Initially the young Darwin hated the idea of being forced to conform to the paternal standard(who doesn't?), but as soon past he quickly realized how it all became a blessing in disguise. It helped develop his spiritual metal to fend off critics for the years to come. And being sent to Africa attuned himself to his Life's task, on his setting the road for his masterpiece later on in his life entitled "On The Origins of Species".

Being only twenty years old makes me very fortunate to have this book, because the ideas contained in it forces me to think about my Life's Task. This by finding my "inner voice". Which as a child, possessed my thoughts, that steered me to write, imagine and sketch enterprises. This "inner voice" took a long time to retrieve nonetheless, largely thanks to the regimented schooling environment I was brought up in. On which being different meant being an outcast to your schoolmates, and punishment by your teachers. After three days reading the book, I got a clearer view on my Life's Task and finally connected more effectively with my "inner voice".

Please whoever you are, purchase and read this book. The investment made would be well worth it for you and your family's well being in the long run. I stand my ground on this given the amount of value I have attained, enabling me to know more about myself. And the points and examples mentioned in this review only cover a small fragment of the values of reading Robert's book! That is how golden it is.

*Mastery is my first ever direct Amazon book purchase(instead of the "used" option). Knowing full well that value rendered is well worth it in the long run for my career. Thank you Robert Greene. You deserve your success*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's mastered it . . ., 20 April 2014
This review is from: Mastery (Kindle Edition)
“The brain that we possess is the work of six million years of development, and more than anything else, this evolution of the brain was designed to lead us to mastery . . .”

In Mastery, Robert Greene (bestselling author of 48 Laws of Power) tackles an interesting subject: the principles of success and intelligence.

There are many people who believe success is down to good fortune, or nepotism, or it’s accidental—a by-product of dumb luck. They also believe geniuses are born that way, as if their intelligence and ingenuity is hardwired into their DNA. But the truth is we’re all designed to succeed; we can all reach a level of mastery. It doesn’t take talent—not entirely—but instead, success and mastery requires tenacity and discipline; and above all, a thirst for knowledge: a deep-rooted desire to chase your dream and acquire all the skills (and more) in your chosen field.

And Robert Greene, with this in mind, delves deep into this theory, drawing from an exhaustive well of past-and-present high-achievers and geniuses, flitting seamlessly between stories of Mozart to Einstein to Edison and Darwin. Writing with depth and conviction, and fusing his own beliefs with examples of success (along with the occasional neuroscience and psychology facts), Greene not only delivers on his premise, but also paints a wonderful picture of historical (and present day) figures, making this both a self-help manual and an entertaining history book.

The continual insights into mastery, gleaned from hundreds of years of past successes, add weight to the words, and the sense of authenticity bolsters Greene’s opinions, giving them an authority and power that another author might have failed to serve. The book is engaging throughout and teaches the audience in a relatable way, without boring or preaching. And, ultimately, the stories work to inspire the reader with a deep and inarticulate yearning to succeed, whether it be in everyday life or your career.

If you want to succeed in a particular field, this book will push you on the right path. And if you don’t want to succeed (what’s wrong with you?), read it anyway. It’s worth the journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Research makes a Great Book, 29 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
I started reading all of Roberts books starting with seduction quite recently and went on to mastery when it was released. I really enjoyed it and highly recommend it to anyone.
It's obvious that a lot of research was performed for this and you can see the levels of dedication on every page.

All in all a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Greene has done it again, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed reading this book, written in the compelling style of the 48 laws of power. Greene has clearly developed his thought process and has written another intuitively agreeable piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foundation is everything, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Kindle Edition)
Download the free sample on your kindle and after reading the introduction you will be hooked. Robert Greene is from the highest ranks of teacher. A great guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mastery, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Kindle Edition)
Really excellent read. Possibly the best personal development book i have seen. Very detailed and practical for real world application
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastery (Paperback)
This is a seminal book written on one of the most important subjects for humanity, and for the individual. Robert Greene has always had an extraordinary ability to see things as they are, not as we wish them to be. With this book, he takes that focus away from the 'baser' aspects of life, and points it at the most profound and noble thing a human being can accomplish, mastery of self, and of your purpose in life. I wish I'd had this extraordinary guide when I'd first started along the path to mastery, but who knows if I would have appreciated it as much then?
If you're content with just getting by in life, this book is probably not for you, it'll be entertaining at most. But for those dedicated to the path, this is essential reading. This will remain a classic work on the subject for a long time I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastery
Mastery by Robert Greene
£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews