Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Health Warning Required
This is the kind of friendly jazz that gets nominated for the Mercury Prize, and that is no bad thing.

GoGo Penguin are a genuine trio (rather than a pianist with a couple of other guys to make up the numbers) and this gives the album plenty of depth and variety. Be sure to listen past the opening (presumably) e.s.t. homage (as good as it is) because there is...
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PPPPICK UP A PENGUIN
Go go penquins are an enigma,i had never heard of them untili saw a youtube clip of them perfoming an astounding version of "Come together"on youtube,gives me the impression that GGP are a band to watch.
1.....S even sons of Bjorn.......5.15 ......an uptempo start to this album,has a shade in evidence here.
2......Las t words......3.03.....a supremely enjoyable...
Published on 24 Nov 2012 by Finbar the looney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Health Warning Required, 24 Nov 2012
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
This is the kind of friendly jazz that gets nominated for the Mercury Prize, and that is no bad thing.

GoGo Penguin are a genuine trio (rather than a pianist with a couple of other guys to make up the numbers) and this gives the album plenty of depth and variety. Be sure to listen past the opening (presumably) e.s.t. homage (as good as it is) because there is plenty more original material here as well.

The album should though come with a health warning as 'Last Words' is a powerful ear-worm that will still be going around in your head at 3AM on a tuesday morning!

An excellent debut that only doesn't 5 stars because I am waging a one man war against review-star-inflation, it would get 4.5 if that were an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great band, 21 Dec 2013
By 
vicki "vicki" (manchester, england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
watch this space this band is going places. really enjoyed their gigs this year and looking forward to more next year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really like the style of ths music., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
found it after hearing one of the tracks on a Jamie Cullum Radio 2 show. Hopefully that indicates that type of jazz music that I like listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
Great album, not many today like this on the market. Simply Love it. Unusual sound. Boys from Manchester are doing great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. M. Allen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (Audio CD)
Came to this via E.S.T. Brill, check it out. They seem to be gigging a bit at the moment so need to see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent first recording, worthy successor to E.S.T?, 15 Dec 2012
By 
quazy wabbit (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (Audio CD)
I went to see the Penguins back in August, before the cd had come out. The band played with so much energy and such a mature understanding of the jazz idiom that I was instantly a fan. I was really looking forward to this, & I wasn't disappointed. Excellent stuff, if piano trio's are your thing you could do a lot worse then shell out on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (Audio CD)
item as expected - many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable! !, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
Nice fun album. Good jazz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GoGo & check this out, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (MP3 Download)
Jazz............ a genre I know nothing about,owning only John Coltranes A Love Supreme & a Miles Davis complilation, its something i've always tended to avoid. But for no longer, this album has opened my eyes & ignited a curiosity to delve deeper, because its fantastic. The opening tracks, Seven Sons Of Bjorn & Last Words, draw you in & then you're hooked, & i've found myself reccommending it to all my jazz apprehensive friends. Brilliant !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PPPPICK UP A PENGUIN, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fanfares (Audio CD)
Go go penquins are an enigma,i had never heard of them untili saw a youtube clip of them perfoming an astounding version of "Come together"on youtube,gives me the impression that GGP are a band to watch.
1.....S even sons of Bjorn.......5.15 ......an uptempo start to this album,has a shade in evidence here.
2......Las t words......3.03.....a supremely enjoyable tune with great playing by all concerned.
3......Unconditionl.......5.115..... a bass led tune that remins me of Peter Gabrriels "Don't give up"
4......Fanfares......4.45.....the albums title track
5......I am that.......4.04.....sounding like a more extreme Portico Quartet.this is good stuff indssd.
6.......Akasthesia......6.01.......again another bass led voyage into the musical maelsstrom that is Gogo Penguin,
7.....HF.......6.36......brings this likeable CD to an end.

35.15

GONDWANA RECORDS
RELEASED IN 2012

CHRIS ILLINGWORTH......PIANO
GRANT TURNER .....BAS S
ROB RUSSELL.......DRUMS

VALUE FOR MONEY.....£££
B EST TRACKS.....FANFARES
PACKAGING.....JEWEL CASE
PRODUCTION......GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fanfares
Fanfares by GoGo Penguin
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews