Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmm
Not a great film,but not a bad film,some action little Gore,watchable not a lot of zombies,has its moments and all depends on what you want in a zombie film
Published 3 months ago by the reader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect action all the way
State of Emergency initially unfolds using flashbacks, all of which are cleverly done and easy to keep up with. The plot basically is: An unstable chemical plant has exploded, releasing a toxic nerve-mutating cocktail into the atmosphere of a rural american community. Certain people are not susceptible, and must survive among the zombified residents who are.

In...
Published 9 months ago by The Green Eyed Devil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect action all the way, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
State of Emergency initially unfolds using flashbacks, all of which are cleverly done and easy to keep up with. The plot basically is: An unstable chemical plant has exploded, releasing a toxic nerve-mutating cocktail into the atmosphere of a rural american community. Certain people are not susceptible, and must survive among the zombified residents who are.

In comparison to other zombie movies State of Emergency has a noticeable lack of over-the-top gore. Jay Hayden plays the lead role here very well. The zombie action scenes are few, but the ones you do get are quality edge-of-your-seat stuff. The ending is a little mundane though, and somewhat of a contradiction to the solid main part of the film. Still, this is only one issue in a reasonable but somewhat plodding zombie horror.

There are no Extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No humanity, 16 Oct 2013
By 
G. Hanks "hanks1980" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst there have been a glut of Zombie related films and videogames over the last few years there is always room for either a fresh new take on the genre or just a film that does the current tropes really well. State of Emergency does try to be fresh but falls down in too many key areas to be anything other than watchable at best.

The film focuses on human drama rather than all out zombie action and the narrative is kept simple, centred on main protagonist Jim's battle for survival. Don't expect an action blasting gorefest or zombie's that look like the box art (what was the marketing department thinking?) These are 28 Days Later running zombies so expect red contact lenses and some make up, nothing special but they do the job. The opening 15 minute section creates decent tension with no dialogue as Jim finds an empty building to hide along with a tense zombie encounter. The film unfortunately starts to go south when Jim meets up with three other survivors in a warehouse which provides the basis for the rest of the film.

For a film that focuses almost entirely on human drama the characters are really poorly drawn and the script and performances mostly substandard. Husband and wife team Scott and Julie never really feel like they're husband and wife and Alix ("call me `Ix'") seems to be the only one with any dimension even if she's completely drawn from the stereotype of moody vulnerable girl who has a heart of gold inside. The film certainly leans towards the male power fantasy side of things, Julie is just the mother role, healer and cook, we barely see any of her in the film. Ix exists to do nothing other than give Jim someone to connect with and drive some of the plot, although her performance is better than the others and her character probably the most fleshed out. The women are really poorly represented on the most part, playing the fifties helpless maidens which has no place in modern film making. There's even one point where a zombie attacks and one of them runs off with the guns!

This leaves us with Jim and Scott leading the charge in any of the real "doing" which subjects the audience to several emotionless discussions which sound more like two gamers talking co-op tactics on Xbox live than two real humans stuck in a dangerous situation fighting for their lives. This poor execution combined with Scott Lilly's incredibly flat performance as Scott (failing to play himself convincingly?) leaves a film that lacks any real weight and flattens the majority of dramatic moments. Scott's description early on of seeing his neighbour's husband eating his wife's has the same amount of emotion as describing a walk to the shops and seeing a dog urinating on a lamp post. Whilst Jay Hayden gives a better performance as Jim, he's given so little to work with in the script.

This is a shame as the rest of the film has real potential. The scenes are well shot to a budget and the cinematography is consistently decent, Turner Clay can certainly direct good scenes visually, even if he can't write them. There's even a unique take on a zombie that I haven't seen before but sadly this was not explored for more than the 30 seconds it lasted as this could've really helped the film. If Clay can get good writers in I'd like to see more of his work but as it stands this film lacks any believability within its own narrative.

For me this film can be filed under those I'm glad I watched but with far too many flaws to be considered good and really squandered some interesting potential. With a script that could handle proper human interaction and performances to match it this may have even been great. Sadly, it's one that really only belongs in the bargain bucket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mmmmmmmm, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great film,but not a bad film,some action little Gore,watchable not a lot of zombies,has its moments and all depends on what you want in a zombie film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THAT DARN CAT!, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens up with a rather lame scene, then gives you a 4 days earlier.

Jim (Jay Hayden) is the center of this film as he manages to survive a zombie outbreak caused by an explosion at the Montgomery County chemical storage facility. He meets up with three other people held up in a warehouse. It takes 19 minutes before the first zombie attack. The zombies are fast moving people with bad makeup and red contacts. Jim attempts to get the attention of the CG helicopters overhead, but cannot. And that is pretty much it.

What this film had going for it was the realism of the situation and how it was handled. On the downside, it was boring due to the realism of the situation and how it was handled. The dialouge was also boring. No quirky characters in pirate outfits, wearing an eye patch, or pretending to be Bill Murray. And they had a chance to do this with Ix (Tori White) and instead they made her moody and quiet. The whole film was on the dull side.

Parental Guide: No sex or nudity. No f-bombs that I recall. 2 1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more, 11 April 2013
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
I read some of the other reviews for State of Emergency and was pleasantly intrigued. All seemed to talk about it having less gore and more story. And I'm cool with that. As a fan of zombie films in general, I've seen gore in all its forms, so a film based around a decent story would also suit me.

It's about a viral outbreak which turns most of a town into zombies (or perhaps I should say `infected' as they run and behave a lot more like the creatures from 28 Days Later, or Dawn of the Dead 2004 edition).

Sadly, I couldn't see much evidence of a story. The first quarter of an hour has no dialogue. We just follow our hero after his girlfriend has died (somehow) and now he's left creeping around a barn and, on the few occasions he encounters a zombie, he always manages to drop or leave behind his weapon (really bugged me!). However, he's saved when he hikes across a field and takes refuge in a warehouse with three really boring and unlikeable characters. Once inside, they spend their time watching zombies standing there in fields (I didn't get this bit!). Not only that, but his previous girlfriend may have only been dead a few hours, but - by an amazing coincidence - one of the other humans is a suitable girlfriend replacement.

It's a short film and kind of feels like it's set at the same time as 28 Days Later, or rather Dawn of the Dead 2004 (but minus the budget of either). There's the (seemingly obligatory) CGI blood added to the few zombie deaths we see on screen.

It's not a bad film. I just didn't find it as good as some of the other reviews were making it out to be. Ironically, people don't seem to like the ending. I thought the ending made a nice change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good low budget movie, 25 Dec 2012
Only a short film, and yes it is low budget, but did find it enjoyable. Well acted, characters who you do find your self rooting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant way to spend 86 minutes, 13 Jan 2013
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks to some skillful direction, this tense zombie flick does not come across as a low budget movie at all. Indeed it's very well made all round with nice tension, good cinematography, excellent pacing & competent acting.

Jay Hayden broods his way through a zombie outbreak caused by an explosion at a local chemical plant. He ends up holed up in a farm with a few other survivors waiting for military rescue, while fighting off his former neighbours. Being a rural community, there aren't massive zombie hoards roaming round but the ones there are move fast & are dangerous even on their own (wannabe directors note - this is how to not overstretch your budget!). So while it's not as OTT as most other zombie flicks, I felt this actually gave it a greater sense of realism.

While I enjoyed all 86 minutes of this movie, once it ended I felt slightly deflated. That's because there's nothing new in terms of plot ideas & because it doesn't really have much to say, it isn't particularly memorable. State Of Emergency is an enjoyable zombie film which does what you'd expect it to do but it's lack or originality makes it one to rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little Zom-Flick, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Ms. Theresa M. Derwin (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
Released on Boxing Day, this lower end budget zombie film surpasses its budgetary constraints with a strong script, equally strong performances and solid direction.
Jay Hayden as Jim evokes the panic and grief inherent in the zombie apocalypse as he attempts to survive. Revealed through a series of flashbacks and news footage, we find out that an explosion has occurred at a chemical plant in Montgomery County releasing a toxin that has transformed a majority of the locals into zombies.
This film is a nice addition to the zombie genre, oozing atmosphere through use of sepia tones, an escalating tension and a sense of isolation, particularly before Jim manages to find other survivors to interact with. There is an air of sombre decay to the film and the zombies themselves are very realistic in a 28 Days Later way and half way through, as we learn more about the zombies, there are intriguing surprises in store for the viewer. The script is character focused, and though the action is comparatively low key, this is an original, intelligent slant on an overpopulated genre.
We do have the clichéd 'go outside to fetch medicine' scene and it would've worked better overall if the film hadn't started with the knowledge Jim is alive four days after the apocalypse, these minor quibbles do not detract from the impact of this DVD.
Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly surprised, 18 April 2013
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
Over the years, I have watched many zombie movies and have probably had enough of them by now, so I had some reservations about watching this film. However, it was an enjoyable viewing experience, probably because it was not so much about the 'creatures' as about the central character's development. He was too old for it to have been a coming-of-age movie but he was certainly on a voyage of self-discovery. I cannot say any more than this without giving the plot away.

If you are looking for a blood-and-guts zombie movie, then is probably not the film for you. If you are looking for something which takes a more leisurely pace, I would give this film a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not great either, 12 Mar 2013
By 
S. Turnbull - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: State of Emergency [DVD] (DVD)
This is a decent attempt at a unique zombie movie. It falls a bit flat at times but there is a sufficient amount of action to keep you entertained until the end. The acting is adequate but nothing special, and in some cases a bit below par but the leading actor manages to carry the movie, just about.

All in all I would say this movie is worth a watch if you can pick it up cheap and is probably more worthy of being in your zombie movie collection than a lot of the rubbish out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

State of Emergency [DVD]
State of Emergency [DVD] by Turner Clay (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews