Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read
Believable alien contact is one of my favourite subject matter and Iam always on the lookout for new authors, however the books still need to be well written, of decent book length and the right price.

I first came across this author when I read his book 'Invasion' which is also an excellent read, I couldn't believe the value for money aganist some of the...
Published on 24 Oct. 2012 by philswan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A tad too patriotic...
Christopher Nuttall's Outside Context Problem is the story of an alien invasion, specifically, an alien invasion of the USA. The plot is fairly standard, although there are a few nice takes on cliched storylines (that I cannot reveal without spoilers).

My main problem with this book is how... American it is! The entire book centers around America, with the rest...
Published 23 months ago by Ms S. J. Burden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
Believable alien contact is one of my favourite subject matter and Iam always on the lookout for new authors, however the books still need to be well written, of decent book length and the right price.

I first came across this author when I read his book 'Invasion' which is also an excellent read, I couldn't believe the value for money aganist some of the rubbish kindle books out there which where higher priced and poorly written.

This book is the first one in the Trilogy of what happens when a superior race comes to Earth and wants the planet for themselves, if you like that sort of book you will love this.

My only comment being from the UK is that I hope in the coming books what happens in the rest of the world is included, its briefly touched on in this book and I have no problem with that as at the end of the day its a US book for a US market.

An excellent read and one that I couldn't put down, please Mr Nuttall release the sequel ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent near future alien contact and military scifi, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really gripping. As other reviewers have noted all the action is very believable. It strikes the right balance between the aliens being technologically advanced but still being subject to basic physics and therefore human weaponry! It is one of the few novels where humans give a good account of ourselves without resorting to ridiculous hero tropes or unbelievable weaknesses in the aliens.

I have only given it four stars due to the odd typo and, to my eye, the too often repetition of certain phrases and memes, which detracts a little from the overall writing which is very good.

I got the book while it was free, but was so impressed I'll be heading to the author's website to donate. I await the next installment of the trilogy impatiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A tad too patriotic..., 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
Christopher Nuttall's Outside Context Problem is the story of an alien invasion, specifically, an alien invasion of the USA. The plot is fairly standard, although there are a few nice takes on cliched storylines (that I cannot reveal without spoilers).

My main problem with this book is how... American it is! The entire book centers around America, with the rest of the world shown as helpless bystanders, something that begins to grate after a while. The book is not especially PC either, with lines such as:

"The body was male, with a faintly Arabic appearance. Nicolas wondered whether it was a particularly infamous missing terrorist"

"Will felt a certain measure of sympathy for everyone who had faced the USAF. The experience of facing a vastly superior foe was humbling."

"The African Governments were, as a general rule, corrupt and their leaders looted as much as they could before rebels desposed them... ...the continent was a hopeless disaster area." (This is BEFORE the alien attacks)

Lines such as these undermine the entire book, and create a faint air of silliness about the whole thing, a deadly flaw in science fiction.

The aliens, likewise, feel a bit OTT, with almond-shaped eyes, grey skin and a generally stereotypical appearance. I would also appreciate it if Christopher Nuttall *didn't* keep on throwing his political opinions into the book at every opportunity. Lines such as "he was alright, even if he was a Democrat" and "the gun control nuts" are just irritating and severely hampered my limited enjoyment of the book.

In summary, the book has a solid, if unoriginal story, passable description and dialog, and an extremely irritating writing style that, as a non-American, pissed me off no end.

2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a mashup of Turtledove's Invasion series and TV's Falling Skies, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
This review is attached to Volume 1 but applies to the three books in the series. I'll try to avoid spoilers.

First though the editing - like most self-published books this needs a good editor. There are not too many typos for once, but even so an editor would have picked up the multiple use of the same phrase by different characters - 'teaching the horse to sing' for an unlikely event, 'knowing they've been kissed' for a successful military action. Other than that the story telling is pretty robust. I'm sure an editor would have tightened it up, but overall a good robust page turner.

The plot lines are derivative. As I said in the review title it reads like a mashup of the Harry Turtledove alt-history series of an alien invasion during WW2 with some of the plot lines from Falling Skies. I haven't checked publication dates against TV scheduling, so can't be entirely sure about the TV series, but Turtledove is clearly an influence. The battle for Chicago, the cross-cutting between USA, Britain and Israel are all common elements, even if handled in a different way.

Despite that I enjoyed the series much more than any other self published work on the Kindle. I bought Volumes 2 & 3 before I had finished Volume 1 for example.

A good holiday read, not too demanding, a story that races along, some genuine tension but not too much in the way of character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs better editing, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
The Outside Context Problem trilogy is an epic, enjoyable and very believable depiction of a hostile alien force coming into contact with humanity. Refreshingly, this is one science fiction book where the characters are very much aware of science fiction plots about alien invasions, from "Independence Day" to Niven & Pournelle's "Footfall" and many other references. A large part of the trilogy deals with the uncomfortable aspects of occupation and collaboration, sandwiched between the action packed beginning and endings of the series.

However, the books could do with some "Outside" help of their own in the shape of an editor. Parts of the story are inconsistent or have errors in them, the author insists on repeatedly using the book to political points about NASA and Israel (for example).. the sort of thing that you can get away with once or twice, but it gets repetitive. And I lose count of how many times I read "like a bad movie" in the book. And come to think of it "tits on a bull" is something that should only get one outing, if that.

But overall this is a very enjoyable trilogy, even if some of it is quite a tough read due to the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This review was inadvertently posted for the Trojan Horse but is meant for this book., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
Oops! Made a mistake and put in my review of this book as a review of The Trojan Horse (which I haven't as yet read) for this book, which I reviewed through sheer boredom halfway through.

As it happens Outside Context Problem turns out to be a decent story - once you've nearly reached the end. Restored my faith in Christopher Nuttall as a page turning author. Just a pity about all the flannel for nearly three quarters of the book. I ended up skipping page after page as I am SO not interested in the make up of the American military services or the various characters' deep background history. He's come up with an invasion idea which he perceives could be true, hitting America as the "most important country in the world" first before the baddie aliens turn to the rest of Earth. True America has more armaments, more people, more everything so odds are they would try and knock them out first, and good ol' American know how will doubtless knock them back in the next books. If you want a quick read don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read from Chris Nuttall, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Mr. G. D. Cheal (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
Like all of Mr Nuttalls books availale on Kindle this one is great value for money. I have noted another critic rightfully pointing out a similar concept involving Falling Skies, of which i am also a fan, this book was written prior to that TV series...Like his other books, this one has strong believable characters and he tells the story from multiple viewpoints. It is well thought out from a world political stance and in my mind is quite plausible. I am now watching the skies for first contact and preparing my go bag ;-)It covers various aspects of human nature and is certainly food for thought and makes the reader question what path they might take. It also has various moral issues to contend with which as ever are cleverly covered. Mr Nuttall writes accurate military actions and doesn't beat about the bush with sensitivities which is a relief when compared to other more cautious authors. He also doesn't give in to techno babble. All in all it's a good read and i look forward to seeing how the story carries on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good (and mine was free), 31 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
Plot description has already been given, so I'll just comment that this book is a good 'page turner' in the action department, although the cast of characters is perhaps a little large (and some of them are rather 'thin' .. not that they live very long in many cases). Many nods to previous books, films and TV series, but none the worse for that. Note that this is book 1 of 3 though, and you'll have to wait until mid 2013 (and pay, probably) for the conclusion (assuming Mr Nuttall sticks to his deadlines better than some I could name - yep, GRRM!).

As a free book (that week) this was very good .. I'll probably even pay real money for the other instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outside Context Problem, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
very very long winded but I stuck with it as I thought it had potential, if there is a follow up it needs to pick up the pace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outside Context Problem, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outside Context Problem (Kindle Edition)
The first in a series of books dealing with a possible alien invasion scenario. Chris Nuttall manages to convey a sense of realism into his plots so that they seem quite believable.
By far my (current) favourite author in this genre, I bulk-purchased this title along with all his other released work after reading another of his e-books and I'm glad to say he hasn't disappointed me so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outside Context Problem
Outside Context Problem by Christopher Nuttall
£2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews