Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb keyring torch
I've owned Maglites torches since 1990 and this included a long lost Solitare Incandescent.
It was nice, and practical but far too dim for this day and age.

I understood Maglite were releasing an LED version which promised to rectify the light output
issue. Even so my keyring torch (a Fenix E15) was doing me-until the battery ran out yet again...
Published 6 months ago by P. R. MacCabe

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maglites. Good in the 80's. Rubbish now.
37 lumens and a type II ‘soft as butter’ anodized finish for £15-20! They must be having a laugh. You can get a Thrunite TiS for £5.95 with 60 lumens and Type III finish that is much harder and won’t wear off anything like as fast. A tenner will get you a Thrunite Ti2 with a dual output of 3 and 81 lumens. More than double the power for almost half...
Published 23 days ago by Jay R


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb keyring torch, 19 April 2014
By 
P. R. MacCabe (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've owned Maglites torches since 1990 and this included a long lost Solitare Incandescent.
It was nice, and practical but far too dim for this day and age.

I understood Maglite were releasing an LED version which promised to rectify the light output
issue. Even so my keyring torch (a Fenix E15) was doing me-until the battery ran out yet again.

So I spotted this at a bargain tenner and decided to buy it. And what a great buy!

It retains all the advantages of the original Solitaire, such as sturdy build, AAA battery source
(No expensive CR123A's to go flat without warning) candle mode where the head can be removed
and the unit placed in it (ideal for illuminating say a small tent), and a flood-to-spot option simply
by twisting the head.

The biggest improvement is in the beam. 37 Lumens as opposed to the original 2 lumens.
A nice beam which is the right colour, right intensity for close up work and has the very
useful spot to flood. It also has just the right spread.

The LED part has revolutionised a design almost 35 years old which is one Mag Instruments got right first time.

So far, this torch is proving a superb little unit and at the price I paid for it has got to be one of the best bargains I've come across in ages.

I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back on top, 5 Feb 2014
By 
G. J. Owen (Cleethorpes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
I've had a Solitaire for years. Yeeeeeaaaaaaaarrrrssssss. It tucks in beside my Leatherman nice and snug.
It was always available for having a squint under the stairs or under the sofa.
Then a friend presented me with a LED Lenser V8 which blew the Solitaire out of the water.

I recently found the Solitaire again and considered converting it to LED as a project. After a bit of research, this looked to be expensive and most internet torch gurus pointed to just buying the new LED Solitaire.

Wow. This is a seriously bright torch, not just for it's size but in comparison with many hand-held examples.

The LED Lenser is now lying beside my original Solitaire and the LED Solitaire is my new 'chosen one'.

The only downside is the battery life - under 2 hours with a 'copper coloured top' in - but AAA are easy enough to find if you need a replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maglite Solitaire LED Torch, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
With the LED, this torch is now many times brighter that the original Solitaire and is more than adequate for everyday uses. It takes a single AAA battery, which are cheap and easy to obtain, and it is very small (8cm long), so can be attached to a keyring. Due to it's size, if not attached to a keyring, I would recommend a wrist strap (not provided but can be purchased or made from a length of thin cord), to avoid dropping it. Reasonable price at the £10 I paid, but too expensive at the full price of £20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maglites. Good in the 80's. Rubbish now., 2 Oct 2014
By 
Jay R (Windsor, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
37 lumens and a type II ‘soft as butter’ anodized finish for £15-20! They must be having a laugh. You can get a Thrunite TiS for £5.95 with 60 lumens and Type III finish that is much harder and won’t wear off anything like as fast. A tenner will get you a Thrunite Ti2 with a dual output of 3 and 81 lumens. More than double the power for almost half the price. The manufacturing quality is better on the Thrunites as well. Don’t get a Maglite just because 35 years ago they used to be ok. The only reason they are still in business is because people remember they used to be good and assume they still are. Buying a Maglite now would be like fitting out your office with a fax machine instead of e’mail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love this little torch, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
I love this little torch. The battery lasts well and i managed to almost blind myself with it the first time i turned it on. The twist to turn on function is my favourite aspect of this torch, as it lives in my pocket all the time, it will never get turned on accidentally.
The one worry i have about it is that the lens does not feel very strong and my keys might pop it out. This has not happened yet and may not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The light that burns twice as bright, burns half as long...", 15 July 2014
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
Pretty good. It's bright and the perfect everyday carry torch. The light doesn't last too long however it takes a standard AAA battery so good to go wherever you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly bright, 6 Jun 2014
By 
R. McCoy (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maglite Solitaire LED Blisterpack Flashlight (DIY & Tools)
What a difference to the old Solitaire, this Maglite is seriously bright by comparison and focusable too. Maglite claim 1 hour 45 minutes which to me is very good for the light output. Construction is identical to the previous Solitaire, except for the LED head. Maglite are catching up with modern technology now and as always their torches are built to last. A good purchase and I'm looking forward to using it in the dark winter nights when they arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crikey it's bright when turned on! Awesome power and brightness - size really isn't important...miles better than the incandescent ones (old bulbs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good LED update for classic Solitaire, 30 April 2014
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are a number of these AAA small key chain sized lights on the market now and maglite were perhaps late to the party with updating their classic solitaire model to LED. The old incandescent version was only two lumens. This new LED version is 37 lumens, a massive upgrade in brightness levels in comparison. So that's 37 lumens and a run time of 1hr45mins on a single tripple A battery, which is a good compromise. It's a good bright medium level setting. You can focus the beam a bit, from being a thrower with a round hotspot to more of a flood without one. This light is definitely bright enough to see your way ahead on a muddy path and get you home in the dark. Tripple A batteries are cheap and this little torch fits nicely on a keyring with your house and car keys. Always there when you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is not the best torch in the world, 28 July 2014
This is not the best torch in the world, nor even in its class, the battery life is poor, but its my daily carry, so for that I give it 4 and half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews