Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Ireland, Church Music
While Ireland's output can be said to have been served fairly well on disc, especially his piano music and songs, his music for the church seems to have failed to ignite the imagine of record producers, although faced with this disc you can't really understand why, as this disc firmly places his music at the forefront of the `great Anglican tradition'!
Yes, his music...
Published 16 months ago by Stuart Sillitoe

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Church coral works
The title hymn is one of my favourites, hence my order. The sound is somewhat muffled though, probably the acoustics of the cathedral
Published 14 months ago by M. Dugdale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Ireland, Church Music, 19 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
While Ireland's output can be said to have been served fairly well on disc, especially his piano music and songs, his music for the church seems to have failed to ignite the imagine of record producers, although faced with this disc you can't really understand why, as this disc firmly places his music at the forefront of the `great Anglican tradition'!
Yes, his music for the church is available on other discs, but I can't think of another single disc purely devoted to his music, this makes this disc very welcome indeed, especially as it comes at the end of his anniversary year! From the very opening of the Te Deum in F you get the feeling that this is going to be a special disc, and you are not disappointed. The perennial favourites such as My song is love unknown, Greater love hath no man and The Holy Boy are here, but it is the more rarely recorded music, such as the two settings of the Evening Service (in C and F) and the Communion Service in C where Ireland really shows himself to be a true successor to the likes of Stanford and a master of the tradition of English church music.
This disc would have been most welcome if sung by a second rate choir, as it is, we are afforded Lincoln Cathedral Choir on top form, I do have quite a few of these works on other discs, but none of them compare to this recording. The choir is a modern choir in that it is mixed, with both boys and girls singing alongside the men, and while I am usually a traditionalist when it comes to this sort of music, this recording has gone a long way to win me over to the concept of mixed choirs. The tone of the choir is beautifully rounded and well balanced, one could not wish for better!
This is beautiful disc, and one which I have no hesitation in recommending, indeed I would go as far as to say that it is the finest choral disc that I have heard this year, a disc which I will be enjoying for many a year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ireland Choral Music, 19 Dec 2012
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
Although not best-known for his church music, John Ireland (1879-1962) nevertheless enjoyed a long professional association with the Anglican church, holding the position of organist at St. Luke's, Chelsea, for 22 years, and producing a fair body of church music, including communion and evening services, hymn tunes, and occasional pieces, that spanned his career. This new Naxos CD presents a broad selection of this work, including a mix of the familiar (such as "Greater love hath no man") and the lesser-known ("Four Unaccompanied Carols", for instance).

The earlier pieces, such as the Te Deum of 1907, although not startlingly original, and somewhat derivative of Ireland's RCM teacher, Stanford, nevertheless display a consummate craftsmanship, and are attractive on the ear. Rather different in style are the Four Unaccompanied Carols, one of which is a setting of words by Herbert Brown, using Ireland's most familiar and popular tune, The Holy Boy. The other texts date from the 16th. century or earlier, and are set in a suitably "medieval" style.

There are two contrasting organ solos. "Elegiac Romance", written in 1902, but revised in 1958, is a meditative piece which reaches a powerful climax, while "Capriccio" (1911) is altogether more buoyant, presenting some challenges for the performer. Of the few hymn settings recorded here, Samuel Crossman's "My song is love unknown" is easily the most familiar, and has become part of the staple diet in Anglican worship as well as in other denominations. Ireland's melody for "I am trusting thee, Lord Jesus" (Frances Ridley Havergal), although not the one most people will be familiar with, is nevertheless attractively simple and direct, and made for community singing.

Ireland's church music is well-rooted in the soil of the English Choral tradition, and the present disc will be welcomed by all who warm to the traditional high-church repertoire. The Lincoln Cathedral Choir, conducted by Aric Prentice, puts on a polished performance, with Charles Harrison providing the organ accompniment, and revelling in the solo works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rarely recorded, beautifully performed, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
Lincoln Cathedral Choir is in top form on this disc, fantastic treble sound and very exciting performances of some fairly rarely-recorded (some of it probably isn't available on CD anywhere else) music. The morning and evening services in F, the organ works and the four carols are particular highlights - as is Ex ore innocentium, which is stunning. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Disc, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Graham (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
I agree with everything that Edj has written This is a truly delightful disc; beautifully sung and very well recorded. I have always loved the music of John Ireland. The piano music is superb and I would say that he is probably the finest English composer for the instrument.Then there are his songs, which are worthy of comparison with those of Vaughan Williams and Finzi in the treasure house of English song. On this disc we see his great gifts as a choral composer. Some of the earlier pieces reveal the influence of Stanford and are none the worse for that. There are one or two pieces which are well known: My song is love unknown and The Holy Boy (originally a piano piece and also arranged for string quartet), but most of the other works will be unfamiliar to most people. Don't let this put you off. There is delight after delight on this superb disc. Yet another winner from Naxos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good delivery thankyou, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
This CD from the Lincoln Cathedral Choir records very special music "My Song Love Unknown" and I thought it would make an appropriate Valentines Day present! (not played yet)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Church coral works, 13 Feb 2013
By 
M. Dugdale (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ireland: My Song Love Unknown (Lincoln Cathedral Choir/ Aric Prentice/ Charles Harrison) (Naxos: 8573014) (Audio CD)
The title hymn is one of my favourites, hence my order. The sound is somewhat muffled though, probably the acoustics of the cathedral
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9d26aa14)

This product

Only search this product's reviews