Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't even hide in your home...
Recommended by the frankly amazing Andy Nyman, this quick, quirky ghost story is perfect Halloween fodder. Written in the style of a personalised letter from a former resident of YOUR home, it spells out the horrors they experienced while living there. Horrors that you will surely face, if you haven't already. It's a really clever concept, and ridiculously chilling. Fans...
Published 21 months ago by Tracey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay
I got this as a freebie and have to say that I've read worse. It wasn't a bad story, quite creepy. But I thought the way to "get rid of the problem" (trying not to give the ending away) let it down as it seemed less plausible. But I didn't think it was as bad as some of the 1* reviews said. I read it to the end and that's not always a given.
Published 3 months ago by Galning


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't even hide in your home..., 24 Oct 2012
By 
Tracey "Horror, fiction, comedy and theatre-l... (Manchester, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
Recommended by the frankly amazing Andy Nyman, this quick, quirky ghost story is perfect Halloween fodder. Written in the style of a personalised letter from a former resident of YOUR home, it spells out the horrors they experienced while living there. Horrors that you will surely face, if you haven't already. It's a really clever concept, and ridiculously chilling. Fans of the work of authors such as Jeremy Dyson, Stephen Volk, MR James, Susan Hill and Elizabeth Jane Howard will love this. However, it may result in some sleepless nights, and wanting to seek out new accommodation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh. Well. Thanks., 22 Oct 2012
By 
J. Armstrong "jamesls12" (heckmondwike) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
Thanks for creeping me out Mr. "Josef" Arnopp - it was bad enough getting your Twitter messages of doom on a daily basis, but now you've made quite sure that I won't sleep tonight. Or again.
Don't read this at night. Or alone...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insidiously Scary, 4 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
I got the letter version of this as a present (from [...] ). The letter is personalized, which makes it more creepy, but the basic story is a classic horror (& creepy enough!). It reminded me of old Pan Horror anthologies, Alfred Hitchcock's short story collections and H.P. Lovecraft with its mix of a normal (until it isn't) domestic setting, traveling to uncover an ancient(-ish) evil, and a macabre professional dilemma.

I loved it. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Terrifying but OK, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
Its only a short book but its only a small price - its OK , its certainly NOT as scary as some of the reviews would suggest . If you live in a new build house, then it won't be scary at all and yes, its well written and quirky but for true ghost story fans , its not quite 5 stars - read it in one sitting (or lying down) late at night , slept like a log , no nightmares at all .
The kind of thing that would make a really good Dr Who episode or two but certainly not as frightening as some of the reviews would have you believe . For the price of 97pence , worth a look .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the insomnia, Mr Arnopp, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Margo Milne (Borehamwood, Herts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
This paranormal horror story takes the form of a letter from a former occupant of your house, warning you about the danger you will face there. I read it in one sitting, simultaneously excited and terrified to discover what the next page would bring. I don't want to say too much about the plot, for fear of spoiling the surprises, but suffice it to say I don't think I'll sleep well tonight! The suspense builds up wonderfully as the letter proceeds.

A bargain at the price, and ideal for Hallowe'en or for horror fans at any time of year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead lucky, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this story not read any thing like it before very short but do give it a go .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An original take on an old tale, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story, it was a brilliant twist on the classic ghost story and was creepy and unnerving but I read it in one go as i wanted to know what happened!!! Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
A highly original story, loved this, it could have been stretched into a full novel but I enjoyed the fact it cut to the chase! Will now be reading more by Jason Arnopp, if other books are as spooky as this I'll be very happy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different style of writing really enjoyed, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
Im really glad that i hadnt just moved in to my house, because after reading this I might very well have been moving straight back out. Liked how the book was written like a letter to me personnaly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amanda, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sincere Warning About The Entity In Your Home (Kindle Edition)
Cool short and too the point but a bit wishy washy in my opinion this could have been a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews