Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another rollicking good read from Robotham...
After the disappointment of my last crime read it was heartening to seek sanctuary in the criminal bosom of Michael Robotham. Robotham is a firm favourite of mine and once again provides a fine lesson in the craft of crime fiction with an utterly absorbing read. Drawing closely on real-life incidences of child abduction Robotham weaves a compelling tale focusing on the...
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by Raven

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work. Very predictable.
First Sentence: My name is Piper Hadley and I went missing on the last Saturday of the summer holidays three years ago.

Two girls went missing. After three years, the body of one of the girls is found, frozen and mutilated. Is the other girl still alive? A family has been murdered in a farm house and the house torched. A young man is accused, but...
Published 10 months ago by L. J. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another rollicking good read from Robotham..., 16 Sept. 2012
By 
Raven (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After the disappointment of my last crime read it was heartening to seek sanctuary in the criminal bosom of Michael Robotham. Robotham is a firm favourite of mine and once again provides a fine lesson in the craft of crime fiction with an utterly absorbing read. Drawing closely on real-life incidences of child abduction Robotham weaves a compelling tale focusing on the case of two missing teenage girls and the changing public perceptions of the both the case and the two as individuals under the glare of media scrutiny and the heightened sense of purpose the police investigation gains when one of the girls turns up dead. Once again clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin is called to assist in this troubling case and with the help of retired policeman Vincent Ruiz, seeks to determine the whereabouts of the remaining missing girl. The plot is taut and throws up many a quandary for our loveable duo as the investigation unfolds in different directions but what this book highlights more than most is Robotham's consistently great characterisation.

This was particularly noticeable in Robotham's portrayal of Piper Hadley a sporty and slightly ungainly teenager but who during her enforced incarceration is revealed as a very perceptive and thoughtful girl grappling mentally and physically with the challenges of the danger she finds herself in. The sections of the book where she narrates her day-to-day suffering at the hands of her abductor are truly moving and incredibly well-realised. I liked the way that her experiences are offset by the traumas caused by Joe's own teenage daughter Charlie as she navigates her way through these difficult years, at times to the chagrin of her father, as she herself has been held captive in a previous criminal investigation involving Joe. Hence Joe draws on the feelings he had when his own daughter was abducted to aid his own mission to try and ensure the safe return of Piper to her family. On the theme of characterisation we are once again witness to the good-natured ribbing and heartfelt friendship and respect between Joe and Vincent. I adore Vincent despite his propensity for being an eminently unsuitable husband but totally counterbalanced by his mix of intuitive and ballsy approach to police work retired or not. Joe also finds himself involved in a little extra-curricular romantic action which added another facet to plot as well highlighting his slightly rusty skills with the fairer sex!

All in all this is a great read with a perfectly balanced plot, skilled characterisation and dialogue and just a twist or two along the way to add to the tense and thrilling denouement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A class apart, 12 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Say You're Sorry is one of the most gripping thrillers I have read in years. Dealing with the story of abduction and the way young women are seen in our society the book not only delivers toe-curling thrills but also takes a long hard look at sexuality and societal expectations. Throughout the book we not only see it from Joe O'Loughlin's POV but also have sight of the diary of Piper one of the young women who was abducted. Reading her story I was reminded of 'The Collector' and although the books are very different I think Robotham surpasses Fowles in delivering a wholly realistic narration of a young girl struggling in the most extreme circumstances. Cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another good one from a favourite author, 9 April 2013
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Hardcover)
Clinical psychologist Joe O'Loughlin is back helping the police deal with the case of two girls who disappeared three years earlier. Vincent Ruiz, his ex-policeman buddy, plays a cameo role in providing support. The story is told here in two first person accounts, one being Joe's.

I have to admire Robotham's consistently high levels of skill as a narrator. The plot is well-constructed and throws up a number of viable contenders as possible kidnappers. He also writes with great insights and throws in occasional gems of wit. Joe is flawed, and medically burdened by Parkinson's, but remains such a likable character. His interactions with his friend Vincent also round things off for his followers, like me.

Some Amazon.com reviewers have criticised Robotham for writing a book about abuse. Although the core theme is disturbing, there is nothing graphic in the writing.

Robotham is a very impressive author and this book is up there with his best novels. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb thriller, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author is a well accomplished writer within the thriller genre. Say you are sorry proves the point clearly.The psychological aspect is insightful and well researched. It is a complex subject, as it gives you an insight into the human mind and what triggers their behaviour. The tonne is straight away set from the opening pages. It is all ready, set and go from the first page, as if you are in a race circuit. The plot is gripping, thrilling and enthralling. It concerns the disappearance of two teenagers in a small town. What prompted their sudden disappearances? Clinical psychologist works in conjunction with the police force to assist in the investigation. His approach is different from the police. There are few suspects in the picture. It is a guessing game, as you never know what to expect. The trail becomes warm. The pace increases, as you flip every page.The author knows how to keep readers interested with a cracking plot. It is filled with a dark atmosphere and high levels of suspense. Michael Robotham's forte is writing quality thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, 24 Jan. 2013
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Hardcover)
This is the first book I've read by Australian crime writer Michael Robotham. I found it very hard to put down - as evidenced by the fact that I read it in two sittings. The main character, Joe O'Loughlin, is a clinical psychologist who assists the police with criminal profiles. He has featured in several of Robotham's previous books, the events of some of which are referred to over the course of this book, but I did not find it a problem to have not read the others previously (nor feel that they are now spoiled for me).

O'Loughlin is asked to consult on a the mental stability of a suspect who has been arrested after the murder of a husband and wife in a remote farmhouse. He begins to suspect that there may be a connection between this case and the disappearance of two teenage girls from the area three years previously. At the same time, one of the missing girls is narrating her story from captivity. It's not the most original plot formula in the world, but it's very well told and holds your attention from the first page through to the last. I enjoyed it very much and will definitely be tracking down other books by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work. Very predictable., 7 May 2014
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
First Sentence: My name is Piper Hadley and I went missing on the last Saturday of the summer holidays three years ago.

Two girls went missing. After three years, the body of one of the girls is found, frozen and mutilated. Is the other girl still alive? A family has been murdered in a farm house and the house torched. A young man is accused, but psychologist Joe O’Loughlin believes he is innocent and that the murder and the girls are connected.

The book starts off very well with a compelling opening of the situation from the perspective of a 15-year-old girl. Robotham captures the voices and personalities of his characters. He does have a compelling voice filled with wry humor and pragmatism.

Joe is an interesting character; very human with his own shortcomings and insecurities. Robotham does a good job of bringing readers, new and old, up to date on Joe’s life.

The story is about two cases; one which began in the past, one in the present. The threads are joined together very well and with a good building of suspense.

Where the story falls down is in its predictability. Because of its structure, you can guess the outcome, although not the villain, very early on.

“Say You’re Sorry” is not Robotham’s best work, which is sad. He is a very good writer who has written some wonderful books. Unfortunately, this is not one of them.

SAY YOU’RE SORRY (Lic Invest/Psychologist-Joe O’Loughlin-England-Contemp) – Okay
Robotham, Michael - 6th in series
Mulholland Books (LB&Co), 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Thriller, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
atticusfinch1048 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Not Sorry about Reading this!
Michael Robotham has written another brilliant psychological crime thriller with Say You're Sorry. This is a fast past thriller that literally keeps you guessing all the way to the end of the book for the reveal as to who the perpetrator is but unlike other books we are not given a hint as to who is and by then it is too later and everything is literally against the clock to rescue and save the victim before she dies. To solve a double murder case the police need to solve an old case of two missing teenage girls to enable them to find their murderer.

Professor Joe O'Loughlin is a Clinical Psychologist who splits his time between the NHS and the Crown Prosecution Service assessing those accused or found guilty of crimes. He differs in that he suffers from Parkinson's and it is in the main controlled by prescribed medication. One weekend before Christmas he is Oxford with his daughter, he is there to deliver a lecturer at a conference while his daughter will go shopping. As he waits to check out of the hotel the police come and ask him to review a suspect accused of a double homicide that has mental health problems.

From here he is drawn in to the murder case and then a cold case of two missing teenager girls who have been not been seen in three years. Somehow and from somewhere one of the girls turns up dead, frozen to death and only recently. The Police need Joe, who helps guide them in their investigation and search, especially as he has been asked to review the original missing persons' case. Joe realised that this is now a race against time to find the other girl, whether she be alive or dead. The suspects come and go but there is no clear perpetrator the clues are there and it is Joe who eventually reveals the who it is, whether he saves the girl you will have to read for yourself!

This is a brilliant psychological thriller that sees the police trying to use all techniques to find their perpetrator and Robotham does not make it easy for the reader to see who is the guilty man. This is an exciting read that in parts is heart-breaking and you wonder if there is any hope left for the victim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Read, 21 Sept. 2013
The cover of my edition of "Say You're Sorry" asks,"Have You Discovered Robotham Yet?".A good question as too often the response to my enthusing about his talents to friends has been,"Who?".Like Graham Hurley, Michael Robotham has for too long written excellent book after excellent book somewhat in the shadow of authors like Ian Rankin,Val McDermid and a whole plethora of better known authors while at least matching the quality of their output.
Previous reviewers have given an idea of the plot so I'll spare you the repetition.As with Robotham's previous books,all of which I'd recommend,"Say You're Sorry" is well-written and well-plotted tale with his usual excellent characterization.Other authors can ramble on without you ever really "knowing" their characters,Robotham's come to life and even those who appear on the edges of the story are often complex characters and cleverly make readers wonder if they play a bigger part in the story further on.
My only criticisms aren't Robotham's fault.I seem to have read a lot of "women captured and held against their will" stories in recent crime fiction and did have a slight sense of ,"here we go again".Also I guessed the "Perp" quite early on,won't say any more than that so as not to spoil anyone else's enjoyment.Having said that I probably spend far too much time reading crime novels,bordering on "Get A Life" and there are only so many plotlines "out there". At least with this book you can work out whodunnit if you pick up on a few clues without feeling the need to almost scream at the fictional Cops ,"Are you totally dense?"as is the case with Camilla Lackberg and a few others.
An excellent read as ever from Michael Robotham,it seems the word is out and he's now receiving the attention and praise that his books fully deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be sorry, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
Luanne Ollivier - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Say You're Sorry (Hardcover)
Oh boy! I'm a big fan of Michael Robotham and his latest book - Say You're Sorry - is absolutely one of my top thriller reads for 2012.

I was hooked from the opening chapter....

"My name is Piper Hadley and I went missing on the last Saturday of the summer holidays three years ago."

In Say You're Sorry, Robotham brings back recurring character Joe O'Loughlin, a clinical psychologist, in the sixth entry of this series. Joe is in Oxford to give a lecture to his peers. "Only in the last few years have we begun to investigate the psychopaths who hide successfully among us."

Joe is asked to stay on to assist when a snowstorm turns up not two, but three bodies. A married couple in a farmhouse have been brutally killed. A young man with mental illness seems to be the likely suspect. Another body is found beneath the ice, just beyond the house. And when this body is identified as that of Tash, a young girl who went missing three years ago with her friend Piper, all the stops are pulled out - could Piper be possibly still alive?

Robotham cuts the narrative between the current search for Piper and the journal she has been keeping during her captivity. We become privy to the details of the girls' imprisonment, but we also come to know Piper herself. Robotham has done a fantastic job of bringing this character to life. I had a hard time stopping for the night as I wanted to get to the next entry in Piper's story.

Joe's personal story is engrossing as well - his battle with Parkinson's Disease, his failing marriage and a teenage daughter determined to live older than her fifteen years. Joe is especially well drawn and comes across as a real person, not a character in a book. Retired cop Victor Ruiz is also back, but in a supporting role. These are both characters I've really come to like.

This was a breakneck read for me - I literally couldn't put it down. The plot is great, the action never lets up, the suspense is palpable and and I adore twist endings! If you love suspense/thrillers you've got to add Robotham to your must read list. Trust me - you won't be sorry......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just about four stars, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Frances Stott (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since I read this author's brilliant Shatter (arguably the most exciting thriller I've ever read) I've been hoping for a repetition. Certainly, this novel is exciting and well-written, but still not in the same league.

Tash and Piper, teenage friends, disappeared three years ago, and hope for their safe recovery has faded. Until, that is, a fire in a farmhouse and the serendipitous presence of the psychologist Joe O'Loughlin, cause it to be reopened (O'Louglin is a character known to fans of Rowbotham, and very likeable). The storyline is divided between first person narrative (O'Loughlin) and Tash's diary, and this works well. I did find the first two thirds of the novel a little slow, but the last part more than makes up for them as the story builds to its gripping climax. The novel is as much whodunnit as thriller, and when the final denouement came, I felt a little cheated. Some may have guessed the ending; I certainly wouldn't have (and so, no "oh, of course!" moment for me!). Also, one piece of extreme cruelty did strike me as unncessary - and would it really have happened? (no details to avoid spoilers. Anyone who has read the novel will know what I'm referring to).

But in conclusion, a good, enjoyable - in some parts, thrilling - read, although I'm still waiting for another Shatter!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews