Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprise win!
Lovely! I approached this book with a certain amount of ariness, I must admit, after the disappointment of Justin Richard's needlessly complicated and rather condescending though admittedly entertaining Clockwise Men. Steve Cole has hardly been my favorite of Who authors as I usually find his writing to be stilted and dry, overall rather boring prose and difficult to...
Published on 19 Aug 2005 by RomanaTimelady

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Slitheen
The second of the initial three 9th Doctor novels features a momentous occasion that was bafflingly left out of the TV series - the 9th Doctor and Rose's first trip to an alien planet. Despite this momentous event however, it's not long before we're back in familiar territory, as the Doctor and Rose are captured and put into two separate prisons, and all the familiar...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by Jane Aland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Slitheen, 6 Jun 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The second of the initial three 9th Doctor novels features a momentous occasion that was bafflingly left out of the TV series - the 9th Doctor and Rose's first trip to an alien planet. Despite this momentous event however, it's not long before we're back in familiar territory, as the Doctor and Rose are captured and put into two separate prisons, and all the familiar prison-drama clichés are wheeled out.
Just when it looks as though The Monsters Inside is going to be a dull prison- breakout drama however, the Slitheen turn up, and things become a lot more interesting. Despite a rather nice costume design I'm not 100% convinced by the rather juvenile farting antics of the Slitheen on television, but their ability to disguise themselves as human drives much of the drama and suspense of this novel, with Rose never quite sure just who is human and who isn't. To add to the complexity we also have another family of Raxacoricofallapatorians on the loose, and Cole manages to blur the line between the traditional roles of good guys and bad guys to good effect.
It's by no means perfect, with an overabundance of technobabble and some rather bland supporting characters, but The Monster Inside is a fairly decent effort, and is recommended for all those who are frustrated by the fact that on television a Time Lord with a machine that can travel anywhere in the universe cant seemingly escape Earth's orbit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprise win!, 19 Aug 2005
By 
RomanaTimelady "Jean" (Gainesville, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
Lovely! I approached this book with a certain amount of ariness, I must admit, after the disappointment of Justin Richard's needlessly complicated and rather condescending though admittedly entertaining Clockwise Men. Steve Cole has hardly been my favorite of Who authors as I usually find his writing to be stilted and dry, overall rather boring prose and difficult to read. Maybe it was the simplicity of writing for a younger audience (which of course they're denying they're doing but is quite obvious from the prologue that manages to explain the Doctor, the TARDIS and the general idea in not offensively simple terms) but I must say, he has pulled off what fellow 9th Doctor authors Rayner and Richards couldn't: a fun story, written in the style of the show with no needlessly complicated or unneccessary side-plots or characters.
The fact that it turns out to be a Slitheen story obviously means a fair amount of humor and most of the rather rude kind (the so-called SCAT-house being my favorite example!) and hearing Rose mention Justicia onscreen in Boom Town gives one a little bit of a smile as if you're in on the joke having read about their adventure within the penal colony system. Seperating the Doctor and Rose at first seems rather sketchy as I wasn't sure if he could manage to make the original characters they're obviously going to have to interact with interesting. And if he made even the smallest mistake with the main characters to begin with, the whole thing would collapse.
I'm happy to report that he doesn't make one misstep in his portayals of the regulars nor in his original characterizations. Flowers in particular was a delight to read about in her interactions with the Doctor, with Dennel coming off less well as a stand in companion for Rose, though not enough to be bothersome.
The plot is wonderfully straightforward though that's not to say it doesn't hold its fair share of surprises. Unlike the muddle of Clockwise Men or the mess of Winner Takes All, this really seems like it could be brought to life on the small screen. Not that it isn't grand in scope but it keeps the tone and the format of the show well in mind.
An overall win! And the hardback format, I must say, was wonderful! I'd like to see BBC use it more in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who The Monsters Inside, 15 April 2013
The TARDIS takes the Doctor and Rose to a destination in deep space - Justicia, a prison camp stretched over seven planets, where Earth colonies deal with their criminals. While Rose finds herself locked up in a teenage borstal, the Doctor is trapped in a scientific labour camp. Each is determined to find the other, and soon both Rose and the Doctor are risking life and limb to escape in their distinctive styles. But their dangerous plans are complicated by some old enemies. Are these creatures fellow prisoners as they claim, or staging a takeover for their own sinister purposes?

Featuring the Ninth Doctor and Rose as played by Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper in the hit Doctor Who series from BBC Television
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, my 13-year-old still enjoys reading it but I would recommend to any children over eight who like adventure, doctor who and the solar system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good book but why them, 11 July 2009
ok i love dark books the darker the better this book is no exception the doctor and rose lands on what looks egypt but turns out to be one of many prison planets this one a slave planet it dosent take long befor the two time travelers become involved and seperated the doctor to a planet where they are forced to work on various experements and rose to a girls prison planet this divece works fine as it allows the charecters to develop rose is traped with maniacs prison guards and fellow inmates ( as soon as she arrives a group of them wants to scalp her ) the doctor is forced to work on a gravity thing his fellow prisoners is an imagenations dream as some of the most beutifull things are there for you to think of including the guards wich are like bubbles lik globs wich attach to you if you make any trouble the 2ndcondery charecters are a mix match and can ether make you want to kill them youre selfs or just live with them now the bad part i wont mention their name but i could do without the toliet stuff ( sould give a hint as to what iam talking about ) i personally feel that the book and story would have been great without them i mean how about a haunted prison wiht the gelth ( unquite dead ) but nope its them i really dont like them and kinda ruins the story with all the refrences to their main trait but aside from this book is really good dark humor and setting esepechally the planet rose lands on ( wont say more than that ) but the nightmaresh images is outstanding

so *** for the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, with enough complexity to challenge, 23 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. M. Jones "Jonesmz" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An entertaining book, lively and exciting. Most of Doctor Who's adventures seem to confine him to earth, so it is nice to have one with a smattering of alien environments and ideas. I enjoyed trying to work out who the bad guys were among the prisoners, warders and aliens, and enjoyed the idea of a prison with a range of experiments to find a better way of dealing with offenders.
There is a fair amount of technobabble and towards the end a lot of different groups to keep track of, which can be a little confusing if you can't read the book all in one go, but the tone and pace is quick enough to get over it's inadequacies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Monsters Inside, 7 May 2006
This was the first book of Doctor Who I ever read and I wasn't disappointed.

In the past I tended to avoid Sci-Fi books but as a big Doctor Who fan, I couldn't resist but try these written series out. I found this book hooked me in the moment I read the first paragraph.

I did find that the writer had written certain well-known phrases that the doctor used, from the TV series and after a while it became a little bit repetitive trying to work out where he's used it before but the story it self still captured that energy and enthusiasm the Doctor and Rose have on their travels, even when it does leads them in to trouble!

I found one of the good things in this book, that all technical terms are broken down so the reader isn't lost, even in the long explanations.

About 2/3s of the way in I did find the writer rushed a little bit towards the end but it still had that energy flowing and I couldn't resist getting stuck into their adventure, enjoying the jokes along the way. In fact, I couldn't put it down and read it in just over 12 hours, a new personal record for me. Well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a novel surprise, 3 Aug 2006
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Others in this range have read like TV episodes on the page. This actually reads more like a real novel. And since it comes from Stephen Cole, whose previous real who novels have never quite worked for me for one reason or another, it was quite a pleasant surprise.

An okay plot lands the doctor and rose in prison, where they quickly find there's more to certain inmates and the worlds they are on that meets the eye. The supporting cast are quite well drawn if unxceptional characters, but there's very good use of a certain lot of monsters that we saw on the tv show. A far stronger book than the clockwise man, and not a bad read at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the doctor and rose learn to fend for themselves!, 22 May 2005
By A Customer
This book is a great light read where we see the doctor and rose try to cope with out one another. This brings a light relief from rose being miss "Help me doctor!" and instead finding her own two feet fighting to survive. We also get to see the doctor try to be as devious as possible in order to reunite the pair. It gets a bit confusing towards the end but don't let that put you off. The best bit is seeing an old "friend" in the book but i won't spoil it especially the bits where you know that they are right!
Good book which forces the characters to go beyond their normal routine and actually have to shine for themselves - for once! Have fun reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews