Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wont forget this
This book was the best accident that ever happened to me. I picked it up because it was cheap and it stopped me reading Dean Koontz which can only be a good thing! It has a fractured, post modern narrative which leaps back and forth and the author brings into question who is writing and what is being created. The language he uses is amazing at times for it's sheer...
Published on 6 Jan 2003 by Miss L. M. Unsworth

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, but..
An interesting and thought-provoking novel. This was the first Kundera novel I have read and to an extent, I was impressed. The book is rather philosophical throughout and challenges issues such as political oppression, perceptions of sexuality and death. I am not one to typically choose philosophical reading, however this book has teased me to read more. There are many...
Published 1 month ago by Thomas271


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, but.., 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and thought-provoking novel. This was the first Kundera novel I have read and to an extent, I was impressed. The book is rather philosophical throughout and challenges issues such as political oppression, perceptions of sexuality and death. I am not one to typically choose philosophical reading, however this book has teased me to read more. There are many extracts I love from this book that I will remember and read over and over again for their strong metaphorical power and existential provocation (in other words many chapters are the trigger for a long thinking session about the way we perceive things in life) - however the whole book is not like this. I would love to say this whole book was gripping and interesting from cover to cover, but this is not the case. Despite there being many interesting parts, a lot of the novel is, in my opinion, a waste of words. There are long sections that are neither philosophical nor gripping, but a simple account of an ordinary event in a character's life. This is the sort of language Kundera uses frequently throughout the novel, and I was disappointed by the lack of "good parts". Therefore, for people willing to read a whole novel for only a handful of amazing metaphors and perceptions, this is the novel for you. But those looking for a constant thrill and a gripping book, I would stay away from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wont forget this, 6 Jan 2003
This book was the best accident that ever happened to me. I picked it up because it was cheap and it stopped me reading Dean Koontz which can only be a good thing! It has a fractured, post modern narrative which leaps back and forth and the author brings into question who is writing and what is being created. The language he uses is amazing at times for it's sheer simplicity. The words seem to dance around each other - quite literally at times as in the chapter where the whole world begins to dance in a ring which floats off into the sky. Kundera owes a lot to Kafka although he seems to have a more optimistic outlook on life. He also reminds me at times of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, as strange things begin to happen yet none of the characters notice anything strange! He creates fantastically interesting theories and perfect sentances. Read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 30 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book fascinating. It sent me on a journey and I had no idea where I went or what was going to happen at the end. Nothing happened at the end except that I knew I had been on a wonderful journey. Reading Kundera is like eating a bar of chocolate without the calories. His writing flows like a stream and you are gently taken along it and even if you do not understand all he says you dont really mind because its just such a nice journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars variations on a theme; experimental, amazing and unmissable, 15 Sep 2000
By A Customer
The Book of Laughter and Forgetting is a collection of similar short stories or, as Kundera explains it, a novel written in the experimental style of several variations on the same theme, and indeed all the stories/chapters are dependent on each other, and there is only one reasonable way of reading this book: from the first page to the end. The theme in question, as the title suggests, is that of laughter and forgetting, and this novel is worth reading just for its thought-provoking discussions on this subject. But all these discussions are just one of the several ingredients which make this novel a rich, enjoyable and unforgettable novel. Kundera's story telling and character crafting are at his best. Each plot is intelligent, funny as well as dramatic, evolves unpredictably and is delivered with great confidence. The novel is written very clearly and is immensely easy to read, although it is very hard not to stop often to think about what is written. All characters, and there are dozens of them, have a life of their own, are described in immense detail, and they often surprise the reader as well as the author. Kundera is also included in the character list, and this is his most autobiographic novel I've read. This novel is a must read for those who have enjoyed some of Kundera's novels. I also suggest this novel (and The Unbearable Lightness of Being) as an introduction to Kundera's works. This book is about laughter, forgetting, love, sex, history, politics, philosophy, beauty, ugliness, youth, old age and yourself, and is written by one of the most talented authors of our times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once again Kundera at his "Unbearable" best!, 15 Mar 2001
By 
Simply brilliant!
Kundera once again keeps you quite literally captivated for 312 pages and then has you just asking for more.This is most certainly one of his best and altough not probably as well known as "Immortality" or "The unbearable lightness of being" it certainly earns the right to sit up there alongside them as a Kundera classic.Once again all the usual Kundera hallmarks are there,his passion for Prague and his country,the brilliantly interwinning themes and characters and most importantly the pain that inspires his writing.This truly is a most thought-provoking read and once again just leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful writing, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent condition, fantastic price and timely dispatch.

The book is a beautiful piece of literature which will take you on a very unconventional narrative journey! Enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An absolute fantastic book.
Unique style of writing with each chapter appearing to be something completely different from the previous.
Really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHENOMENAL, FANTASTIC, INSERT YOUR OWN SUPERLATIVE, 28 Sep 2008
Having read this, it makes me regret either giving almost any other book a five-star rating or the fact that it's not possible to give six stars in special circumstances. And these are special circumstances. All those books that have the five stars, they deserve them: they're great reads. But this, this is just exceptional. A masterpiece.

Yesterday, I wasn't reading a book. I was spending time in the company of a great person or great people. The style is so personal and intimate. Not only in the sense that another's soul is being laid bare but also in the sense of your own life stories being revealed to you. Very, very moving and very, very thought-provoking.

If you are at all interested in the condition of being human, human identity or you just enjoy meeting great characters in a book, it is impossible for me to rate this highly enough.

Time to stop now before I gush too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second of Milan Kundera's books I've read. I'm starting to think that I've read all he has to offer.

This is not a bad book, but to call it a novel is a stretch. It's really a self-indulgent essay with fiction-y anecdotes strewn throughout. The whole thing in terms of its structure and its themes is very self conscious, so that you feel like you're being talked at rather than experiencing a story.

Having said that, the story elements are quite interesting and amusing. It's not, as one reviewer seemed to imply, meant to be a funny book on the whole. It's more political and social commentary than anything, disjointed, at times dry, but mercifully short and succinct.

A nice little distraction with a few things to say, but I felt hard done by again by picking out a Kundera "novel" in which the author's voice is overpowering and story is thin on the ground. I'm not sure if it's deliberate irony that Kundera makes a point about people only being interesting in their own thoughts, stories and perspectives when having a conversation - this is exactly what he does here, at the expense of fiction and the reader's patience.

It's not terrible. But it's not a novel or, in 2013, particularly insightful or daring.

5 / 10

David Brookes
Author of "Half Discovered Wings"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh, cry, forget, transcend, 29 Jun 2007
Seven stories intertwined by intent, fantasy and romance. Excellent and lean prose; epigrammatic, well-footed, lofty but not imposing.

If people didn't neurotically exhaust themselves reading crap they'd read Milan Kundera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews