Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Challenges you like no other book......
This is a Marmite book, you will either be cheering on John Galt, Dagny Taggart and Henry Reardon - or you will not. This is a story set in the dystopian future that pits the world's inventors, entrepreneurs and free thinkers against those that seek to thwart them by misappropriating their invention, ideas and wealth. These people are labelled as 'looters' - invariably,...
Published 2 months ago by Mike Thomas

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Starts well but increasingly becomes little more than a vehicle for a political rant
This is a very long book, over 1200 pages. The first half is intriguing, well-written and very well structured. The second half is still structured but even those appearing somewhat heroic in the earlier part of the book increasingly lost my sympathy until there was nothing attractive left about the characters or the political philosophy they espoused. What finally...
Published 14 months ago by S M Fowler


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the People's Republics of Europe, 4 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Europe was once the center of learning and culture of the world. Part of that magnificent period is still alive. It can be found in the works of Ayn Rand and in particular _Atlas Shrugged_. Once European intellectuals were optimistic, benevolent, eager to discover the world. They were talented, tenacious, honest and good. They took pride in knowing that they could "Know". They were single minded and courageous - not easy to back down or discourage. They heroically rescued Europe from the "Dark Ages" - they were the hope of the world! They were once innocent and eager to meet another independent mind, much like the characters of Atlas Shrugged. Atlas Shrugged creates the same expectations for the future of the world as did the Renaissance for the future of Europe. Atlas Shrugged is the beginning of the "Second Renaisance"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item in excellent condition, thank you., 28 Feb 2010
By 
This is a book written a long time ago 50's, which shows from someone who had insider info at the time, what the plan was for the future we are living now!!! everyone needs to read this one.
What is the plan from the secret government, illuminati?

Great book in excellent condition, thank you for an excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book I've ever laid my eyes on, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a lot of book on various subjects. This is the only book i have bought to give as a gift on more than one occasion.

A work of genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Suspended Reality, 8 Oct 2013
This is a fantasy love story masquerading as a philosophical treatise and promoted by those with far right wing views although Rand's atheism continues to presents the ultra-conservatives with a problem.
As a literary work it is generally accepted that it fails at every level and is at least 500 pages too long. The story requires a suspension of reality by the reader on a par with reading Hans Christian Andersen.
Proposing simplistic solutions for complex problems is usually the domain of the far right and this book is no exception and although it continues to be reasonable popular in the US due to promotion by right wing groups it engenders little interest elsewhere and is generally discredited in academic circles.
This book promotes "freedom and liberty" like Mein Kampf promotes Zionism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As thrilling as 40 years ago, 16 Jun 2011
By 
I. Kutemann (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read Atlas Shrugged again and again 40 years ago. My copy was damaged over the years so I ordered this new one. Glad I did as reading this copy with bigger letters was a joy. Still as thrilling and
compelling though the constant repetition of Ayn Rand's vision became boring.It didnt bother me then.
Now it did. I still enjoyed reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even great for a poor reader, 20 Feb 2011
I find it difficult to get into the simplest of books, this book is incredibly smart, entertaining and thought provoking, the characters are fantastic and complex yet she makes the book so accessible that I find it hard to put down. The topics of the book are controversial and extreme, although I don't agree with all of the points she makes, it's a nice affront to the blindly Marxist nature of much popular literature.

Already my favourite book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heeeaaavvvyyy!!!, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i liked the book. i came to think of it as an adult version of 1984. coincidentally written about the same. who copied off who is the big question
, or is it.
i dont read popular fiction, only books i consider 'of worth'. this was in this category, a tad over long, but evoking of that 50's worldview that i (we?) love so much. would love to see this book filmed, but kept far away from hollywood.
type of book that makes you think, what a refreshing change!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On time, very good cond., 6 Nov 2011
Very pleaed with book, lovely cond and came very quick too. Not had chance to read as yet, but happy with overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading., 17 Nov 2009
By 
R. Mcculloch "Jazz Chicken" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It might seem archaic, but this book is more relevant now than when it was first published. A long, sometimes repetitive epic, but the most satisfying book I've ever read. I'll probably wait about ten years before tackling it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book for those who do., 18 Jan 2000
By 
phil451 (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Ayn Rand's book makes me feel that i can rip trees up by their roots. Or at least if i really want to i can. This is a book for people who don't wait for life and opportunity to come knocking at the door, and moan that life's not fair when it doesn't, but go out and seize opportunities for themselves. I do not agree entirely with Ayn Rand's crypto-Darwinism as i believe everybody should share some degree of social responsibility. But that doesn't mean that the books central philosophy of objectivism cannot be used in projects to help the least well off. Certainly by providing improved, cheaper and more accessible adult education. The Open University is the best example, i can think of. This gives people meaningful state assistance, although it is still prohibitively expensive for some. And effectual state legislation is needed in the field of discrimination. Whether it is racism, sexism of as i am beginning to experience ageism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 21 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews