Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crowner John, 18 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book series is excellent, a good read with historical content to boot. It would help if the books were numbered in some way so the reading order could be easily identified
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a superb series, 23 Dec. 2011
By 
Bz (Cheshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series should be read in sequential order, which can only be achieved by checking the publication dates. However, 5 minutes of research is worth the effort ........ Once achieved, you'll find the over-all picture gradually revealed throughout the series : a picture painted with a subtlety rather than a harsh, in-your-face, historical lecture. Each story is 'self-contained', the foreground if you wish. The middle-ground is Crowner John's family story which develops gradually, whilst the background or third level is a view of life in the late 12th Century -a time when England was settling into an organised society one hundred years after the Conquest. The author is building a '3 dimensional' story in a rather clever way, subtle enough to inform by placing the story within a time-line of historical events.
The stories are well told, the books easy to read - overall, it's like sitting with an old friend telling yarns. By the end of the series, you're left wanting more. Surely, the sign of a 5-star series ...... Well, it is in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracker - best so far, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is the ninth in a series of novels by Bernard Knight, featuring Sir John de Wolfe. Knight and former bodyguard to Richard the Lionheart, now coroner for the county of Devon. John and his squire Gywn, and scribe Thomas, are called to a local manor after the Lord, a well known tournament knight and general bad egg is found murdered. There are a host of suspects and John is at a loss to find the killer.

The quality of storytelling in this particular novel, makes this, in my opinion,the pinnacle of the series so far. There are many twists and turns and the characters have a greater depth than previously.

There is the usual problem of repetition to bring any new readers up to speed. This, however is only a minor annoyance in what is an excellent series set around the town of Exeter and its surrounds.

'The Elixir of death' is the next in the series. Watch this space...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DOGGEDLY ONWARDS - VILLAINS BEWARE!, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Ninth in the series and one of the best, knightly contests this time to play a key role.

It is hard to believe barely a year has passed since Sir John Wolfe became Coroner for Devon. Now it is October, 1195, crowds flocking to Exeter for its celebrated three day fair. At once a murder sets in motion events which bring Crowner John into conflict with the powerful Peverels - not to mention his odious brother-in-law Richard de Revelle, still a pain although no longer sheriff.

As ever some will feel an overload of detail slows down the plot, lingering descriptions given even of people and places that barely feature. For others these are part of the novels' attraction - a painstaking, evocative recreation of the times. All will agree the pace picks up about a third of the way through, when a really nasty piece of work is killed. There is no shortage of suspects, for many wished the man dead.

Fans will delight in meeting again old friends: burly companion Gwyn, conscientious clerk Thomas, Nesta - she with much to offer at The Bush Inn. Then, of course, there is Crowner John himself. Although so austere, one warms to him, he so determined justice will prevail.

Much to enjoy here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent medieval who-dunnit, 22 July 2013
By 
Roger Eynon "dodger" (Bristol, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another in the Crowner John series by Bernard Knight - again he doesn't disapoint. Good narrative and plot, with the characters being nicely fleshed out against a real insight into the life and strife of the medieval era, showing the gulf between the haves (the Normans) and the have nots (the English Celts & Saxons). Really proves that 1066 WAS a disaster for the English.

Great Read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reading, 18 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love historical mystery's, and this is a new author to me. I find her stories exhilerating, the convoluted way the story is told, finishing with a solution, that isn't always what one thinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Figure of Hate, 29 Aug. 2011
By 
Mr. A. J. Clarke (Gloucester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Utterly engrossing, well written, such a pleasant read. The only downside is that the story ends. Life in medieval England is so well described and so well explained. Truly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
J. E. Benee (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received with Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 July 2007
By 
A. Roobottom (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
discovered two john crowner books at tescos and was hooked had to order all the others. What great books husband discovered them when i took them on holiday nice to find a book that men and women can enjoy takes me back to my history lessons at school carry on writing mr knight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews