Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore is on fire!!
It's a close call for best Rainbow Album. My preferred era is the Dio/Cozy incarnation of the band 1976-1978 and 'Rising and 'Long live... are within a hair's breadth for most classic album of rainbow's carreer. Many punters go for 'Rising' on the strength of the phenominal 'Stargazer' and 'Light in the Black; but I always plump for LLRAR. From Cozy's opening drum...
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by Doyle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull remastering of a great album
Great album bit I was expecting more from the remastering. Sounds rather dull and flat, no different really to the original I feel.
Published 16 days ago by Tim091


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blackmore is on fire!!, 2 Sept. 2010
By 
Doyle (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
It's a close call for best Rainbow Album. My preferred era is the Dio/Cozy incarnation of the band 1976-1978 and 'Rising and 'Long live... are within a hair's breadth for most classic album of rainbow's carreer. Many punters go for 'Rising' on the strength of the phenominal 'Stargazer' and 'Light in the Black; but I always plump for LLRAR. From Cozy's opening drum break in the title track, right through to Track 7, Sensitive to light, it is rockin at full tilt. There's Blackmore's trademark classical licks where he combines sweet and sustained tone as well as fast and furious flurries on the fretboard. 'Lady of the Lake' has a riff to die for, punctuated by Cozy's precise drumming. LA Connection has a great groove, a throwback to Blackmore's excursions in Blues and Funk circa Burn and Stormbringer, with Dio in fine voice. 'Gates of Babylon' has 'epic' stamped all over it, from the eerie keyboard intro to Blacknore's classical style riff, through Dio's sword and sorcery lyric to a storming climax, to fade out to a lone violin.
TRACK 5 (OR SIDE 2 in former days begins with a roar with the revved up killer riff of 'Kill the King' which contains arguably Blackmore's greatest solo with some deft interplay between guitar and drums. The Shed (Subtle) has a sleazy, greasy absolutely gorgeous groove, followed by some good time rock and roll with sensitive to light. Closing the album is one of the most beautiful rock ballads ever, Rainbow eyes which would bring a tear to your eyes. Dio shows he can do sensitive as well as total screaming rock out and Ritchies playing is tasteful, yet understated, leaving room for the strings to weave their magic and tear at your heartstrings.
One of the greatest classic rock/metal albums ever. Dio and Powell sadly no longer with us, but the key players, Blackmore, Powell and Dio absolutely at the top of their game. Probably neither ever got it as good again (with the possible exception of Dio on Sabbath's 'Heaven and Hell' so....if you like fast fluid guitar, thundreing drums, and air raid siren vocal classic rock/metal and you're not familiar with Ritchie Blackmore and Rainbow then this is the perfect place to start.
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rainbow: Long Live Rock & Roll Vinyl Reissue 2010., 23 Aug. 2010
By 
P. Kelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately this was the last studio album to feature Ronnie James Dio in Rainbow and for me the last classic Rainbow album made. In my view the rest that followed did not reach the same very high level set by the first three studio albums. This album caused some talking points at the time such as who did which bass tracks and the later revelation that the inside cover photograph was taken from a Rush concert. I manage to see this line-up of Rainbow playing live back in late 1977 and they were magnificent.

I still have an original copy of the 1978 vinyl record on the Polydor label but it is in very bad condition after extensive playing. I have been using the 1999 re-mastered CD version, which I consider to be more compressed and flat sounding compared to the original vinyl. For me vinyl still rules particularly with rock music and to find this album released on vinyl again was a dream come true.

So to this latest version, weighed in at 190g on clear vinyl vs the original standard black pigmented copy at 116g. Personally I prefer clear vinyl as adding black pigment to PVC always adds the risks of imperfections in the record due to the in-complete dispersion of the carbon black.

The double gatefold cover is perfectly restored to the original with relevant extra support in the cardboard structure to handle the heavier weight vinyl. The cover illustrations are tastefully re-printed on the record label. Unfortunately, as so often with record companies today, the weak link in the packaging is they try and save money by using a thin paper inner sleeve. This offers inadequate protection and high risk of marking the record surface when removed for playing. Very frustrating. I always replace this type of sleeve with a thicker, antistatic plastic coated paper sleeve.

The sound quality of this new version is more compressed dynamically vs the original but with significantly lower background noise it is a much better listening experience. A back to back comparison to the CD (including a second person's listening ranking) confirms it is enhanced sonically vs the CD version.

The music is still brilliant which ever format and version you listen to and this album produced in my view four Rainbow classics: `Long Live Rock and Roll', Kill The Kill (still confusing having this track 1 on side 2 rather than side 1) Gates of Babylon and Rainbow Eyes. Kill the King is for me a track I never get tired of hearing. The shear force and speed of the guitar and drums combined with magnificent vocals made it a popular live opening song long before and after this album was released. Then at the other end of the music spectrum is `Rainbow Eyes'. This was the Blackmore/Dio writing and musical combination at it's very best. Recently this track was re-done on the Blackmore's Night album, Secret Voyage. It is a very different and interesting remake of the song and worth checking out.

In conclusion, this new vinyl release of the classic Rainbow album falls short in sound quality vs the original but is better vs the last re-mastered CD version. Therefore, if you miss the sound of speaker rattling vinyl then the new 2010 vinyl version is what you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you'll never kill the king, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
The third and final Dio fronted studio album and for me its a hat trick of classic rock albums,in truth i love this as much as Rising,if you take Stargazer out of the equation you could argue this is a better more varied disc but thats for another day.

Opening with the anthemic title track(it should have been 'Kill The King') and the albums rockin from the off closely followed by the strutting 'Lady of the Lake' with sublime solo before 'LA Connection' kicks in ,'Gates of Babylon closed what was side 1 of the original vinyl and is an epic to rival 'Stargazer',all in all as good a quartet of tracks as your likely to hear,it gets better when 'Kill The King thunders in propelled along by Cozy Powells powerhouse drumming,'The Shed' is up next,it the weakest track although the opening minute or so from Blackmore still gives goosebumps while 'Sensitive To Light' is a precursor to the more commercial style that would surface in the future,which just leaves the beautiful 'Rainbow Eyes' a stunning ballad which hints at the area that Blackmore would eventually pursue with Blackmores Night.

I cant recommend this disc enough,i bought it the day it was released and couldnt believe all the negativity and disapointment expressed by fans at the time,depite the line up changes David Stone keyboards and Bob Daisley bass(although how much he played is debated as Blackmore played a fair amount on the album),the band never missed a beat.

Interesting re the gatefold sleeve photo,most fans spotted it during Rush's World tour 1980 it was in either the tour program or the word and pictures vol 1 book on sale,yet the press missed it for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Rainbow album, 14 Feb. 2002
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Together with "Rising" this is the second in a pair of two fantastic albums . Worth buying purely on the the strength of "Kill the king " where the guitar solo rates as one of Ritchie Blackmore's greatest.The album also includes the stargazeresque "Gates of Babylon" with another typical Rainbow combination of a string ensemble and a rock band, and finshes with the ballad "Rainbow Eyes" giving Ronnie Dio an opportunity to display another side to his of his vocal talents in his last recording with Rainbow.This really is Rainbow at the top of their form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars After the Risen but before the Sabbath..., 18 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Long Live Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
Dio and Blackmore. Two monsters of Classic rock. Shown here doing what they do best. If you look back at the family trees of these musicians you have a wide span from Deep Purple through to a later Black Sabbath. If Rainbow were a dog it would be thoroughbred.
Long Live Rock N Roll, does exactly what it says on the tin, Dio's Vocals are what you would expect from Rainbow in the early days, this is a different beast to the later Bent out of shape and Down to Earth.
Where as the later stuff is more main stream pop this feels much more uninhibited metal rock 1970's. -True classic
Lady of the Lake, has a Led Zeppelin meets Yes feel to it, although the sound is clearly distinct.

Richie Blackmore has always been a little strange and his most recent Black Night outings with the fairies and wizards are a little odd. When I saw him in concert with a re-formed Rainbow, he had his guitar too loud, so it distorted the pa, he did not give the performance on the Rainbow on stage album nor the quality this album.
Buy this album it's a great example of relatively normal Blackmore and a young pre Sabbath Dio!
If you like this you will love Rainbow on stage.*

*If you are a techie geek check out the spec of the "Rainbow light computer" in its day groundbreaking, however these days its got about the same power as a household toaster!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long live Blackmore & Dio! !, 3 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
These guys really knew how to make great rock n roll and this proves it. This would be the last Rainbow album to feature Ronnie James Dio and what a way to go out, this album is amazing everyone is playing at their best. The one that stands out is of course Ritchie Blackmore especially The Sheds(Subtle) the intro to it has made my idol alongside with Tony Iommi if i'm ever gonna be as good as these guys then i shall be in heaven. Ronnie James Dio has a great impact on this album as his lyrics and vocals are just perfect this Rock N Roll masterpiece.

The chemistry of the band is amazing as you can tell they all enjoy playing with each other. The best songs for me are Long Live Rock N Roll, Lady Of The Lake, Gates Of Babylon, Kill The King, The Shed(Subtle)(amazing intro) & Rainbows Eyes(amazing ballad sung beautifully by Dio).

All in all if you love rock and roll you must check out Rainbow their first 3 albums are masterpiece(all with Ronnie James Dio) which are Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow, Rising and this album. Also if you like this you will love Black Sabbath's Heaven and Hell which Ronnie James Dio is their vocalist and Tony Iommi is just a god at the guitar as I said if you love this Heaven and Hell must be your next purchase(if you can find it of course). Gods among Rock I tell you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live Rock 'N' Roll!, 29 Feb. 2004
By 
Peestie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
The third studio outing for the Rainbow boys, and the last one to include Ronnie James Dio on vocals, before Blackmore went for a more commercial style. This album is proper hard rock performed by a band of musicians that would be hard to rival. The legendary singer Ronnie James Dio, hailed by many (including me) as the best rock singer ever. Ritchie Blackmore, lead guitarist of hard rock legends Deep Purple (although his work with Rainbow is better). Cozy Powell, one of the best drummers to ever live.
The songs on this album are all hard-rockers with the exception of "Rainbow Eyes", which is, despite its different style, one of the best songs on the album.
The album kicks off with the title track which is one of Rainbow's best songs. Lively and energetic it is certainly a high point on the album and an excellent song that will get you hooked on the album as a whole.
After that comes "Lady Of The Lake" which, along with a great riff makes use of fantastic fantasy lyrics.
Then we move onto "L.A. Connection", which is in my opinion the worst song on the album. It is mid-paced song that chugs along quite enjoyably. Its a good song, just not as high a standard as the rest of the album.
"Gate of Babylon" is nearly seven minutes long and is another high point. It has a sort of Arabian feel to it and is a classic that seems to be forgotten by many people.
At the start of what was on vinyl the second side is LLRNR's best song. The blisteringly fast "Kill The King". This again makes use of the fantasy lyrics that Dio is so good with and the whole band shine on this song. The last 10 seconds is the best bit of the song, where
"Shed (Subtle)" starts off with a solo from Ritchie and then leads into a hard rocker with an amazing riff. After that is "Sensitive To Light" which is quite a short song (only 3 minutes) but it is still of very high quality. As you would expect from one of the best Hard Rock bands ever. The last song is not something you would expect though. This is a very slow, soft song and still one of the best.
This is one of the best rock albums ever, by some of the best rock musicians ever. A must have for any rock fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worlds Best Guitar Solo?, 27 Aug. 2004
By 
Ken Rawe (Coventry, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Nobody has mentioned that "Gates of Babylon" contains the worlds best guitar solo. Ritchie Blackmore at his best!
As for the rest of the album, the production is fantastic, but if I had to choose between this and "Rising" it would be "Rising" every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Hail The Mighty Rainbow, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Long Live Rock N Roll (Audio CD)
A nice two CD set - took long enough to produce - with the remastered original album and a bonus disc of 'rare' tracks. Much of the bonus disc are the rough tracks for the album and it is quite hard to hear much of a difference. What makes it worth having are those few extra bonus tracks of rehearsals and concert tracks. The 'On Stage' Deluxe edition' is far more worthy of the 5 stars than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Rainbow, 26 Jan. 2003
This review is from: Long Live Rock 'n' Roll (Audio CD)
Along with "Rising" this is surely the definitive Rainbow album and line-up. Blackmore and Dio are at the peak of their powers and in places both can make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Lady of the Lake and Kill the King are balls to the wall rockers and if Rainbow Eyes doesn't bring a lump to your throat, you ain't human. I bought this on vinyl way back in the dim and distant past of the late 70's and it has remained a constant within my favourite albums.
Whilst the current trend for Limp Bizkit and Papa Roach et al is all angst ridden dispair, the sound of a lot of these "Nu Metal bans owes alot to the like's of Rainbow, Black Sabbath and indeed Deep Purple, and those ionfluences can be clearly heard resonating loudly on this classic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews