Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great orchestra, great conductor.
Lovely spacious sound, played with precision and feeling. Once again a real MP3 bargain.The drama, tension and romance are all apparent. The symphonies come across with great vigour, but also moments of considerable tenderness. Don't miss Mahler's "world of music" if you are not already in it!
Published 5 months ago by B. Fields

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe an Expensive Starting Point
I have given this 3 stars as 3 is the average and I don't want to disturb the overall rating this set has received, but if you are new to Mahler - perhaps thinking of dipping your toe in the mystical waters of possibly the greatest last Romantic composer - then you will notice this set has mixed reviews.

As a starting point I strongly suggest the Mahler set by...
Published 11 days ago by Hilton Bennett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe an Expensive Starting Point, 10 Aug 2014
I have given this 3 stars as 3 is the average and I don't want to disturb the overall rating this set has received, but if you are new to Mahler - perhaps thinking of dipping your toe in the mystical waters of possibly the greatest last Romantic composer - then you will notice this set has mixed reviews.

As a starting point I strongly suggest the Mahler set by Bertini.

Mahler: Symphonies 1 - 10, Das Lied von der Erde [Box set] : Gary Bertini and The Cologne Radio Symphony Orchestra.

Have a read of the reviews that Bertini's set evoked: much more even.

At under half the price of the Gergiev, it represents far greater value and is an excellent starting point to explore Mahler - it also contains the magnificent Das Lied von der Erde.

I should also mention that for anyone who likes Mahler, the Bertini is almost mandatory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great orchestra, great conductor., 7 Mar 2014
By 
B. Fields (Leics, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1-9 (MP3 Download)
Lovely spacious sound, played with precision and feeling. Once again a real MP3 bargain.The drama, tension and romance are all apparent. The symphonies come across with great vigour, but also moments of considerable tenderness. Don't miss Mahler's "world of music" if you are not already in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 19 Aug 2014
By 
Troika (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic quality and superior interpretations of some of the best music ever written. Gergiev is a favourite of mine. His approach is always most gratifying. I particularly love his 5th, 7th and 9th here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars download, 26 July 2013
By 
J. D. Ruddick - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1-9 (MP3 Download)
10/10 brilliant set of Mahler symphonies the L.S.O. under this conductor have never sounded better , buy this set .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mahler symphonies, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Dero (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's hard to get all this music ideally recorded in one box, and I don't think it's ever been achieved. The playing is fine however, and interpretation is a subjective issue (after all, it's very easy to get used to a favourite recording). The recordings seem rather distant to me, as I have previously enjoyed many LSO live recordings, e.g. Sibelius & Dvorak symphonies, various Berlioz, etc.).
In summary, at the moment I feel that some of the symphonies fare better than others but a) I need to spend more time with them; and b) they still represent good value for money and you certainly shouldn't discount getting hold of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty Mahler on Here, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1-9 (MP3 Download)
More Mahler on here than you will probably ever need in a lifetime. Well played and well recorded, but not something to have on in the background. This is no lift music - you have to actually listen to it. Will probably be able to give a better, more comprehensive review of this in about ten years time. In the meantime, glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1-9
Mahler: Symphonies Nos 1-9 by Valery Gergiev
Buy MP3 Album41.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews