Customer Reviews


169 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but I prefer the other 2 series
Each episode was enough to keep me watching, and was mildly amusing, but it didn't find it nearly as funny as when Karl was on his own, as he was in the first two series. The addition of Warwick and the subsequent slight change to format is something which will either make the show better or worse for you. For me, I preferred the show when Karl was on his own. Still a...
Published 23 months ago by A human

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Pleased with the first two series but this now seems to be struggling. Similar format as before, but Warwick and karl don't seem to gel somehow. Also running time is much shorter than previous two series and so felt a bit cheated. I think this series is hoping to cash in on the popularity of series one and two.
Published 22 months ago by Peter Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Pleased with the first two series but this now seems to be struggling. Similar format as before, but Warwick and karl don't seem to gel somehow. Also running time is much shorter than previous two series and so felt a bit cheated. I think this series is hoping to cash in on the popularity of series one and two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but I prefer the other 2 series, 23 Dec 2012
Each episode was enough to keep me watching, and was mildly amusing, but it didn't find it nearly as funny as when Karl was on his own, as he was in the first two series. The addition of Warwick and the subsequent slight change to format is something which will either make the show better or worse for you. For me, I preferred the show when Karl was on his own. Still a funny show though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Really enjoyed it - it was different to the others in some ways; it was useful having someone else to measure their experiences against. The Chinese food scene really shows Karl has come a long way from pickled onion monster munch.

Warwick Davies is a fantastic guy - very down to earth and a great performer - some of the stuff he puts up with in pretty extraordinary. Life's Too Short will hopefully mean we see more of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the others., 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This was no where near as good as the other 2 series. Very much still worth the watch tho. If your like me it adds to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting end to a great trilogy of AIA, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly, I just want to say how impressed I was with how quickly it arrived. I ordered it on Boxing Day, it was Dispatched the next day, and arrived this morning when I arrived to work! Nice one!

As for the show, being a huge Karl Pilkington fan, I was massively impressed with the series when I watched it on Sky1 HD, and I think the addition of Warwick was a great choice and paid off really well, with the bickering, arguing, and eventual friendship and laughs. The last episode was hilarious, but also quite sad, with us all knowing this is the end of Karl's Journey.

For anyone thinking of purchasing this, then do it now. I haven't had a chance to watch the Extras yet until I get home, but it's been a brilliant series, even at only 3 Episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet (no reference to Warwick), 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
This series was on par if not better than the first two. I originally had concerns about Warwick joining Karl but the arguments between the two are some of the best bits of all three series. The series is shorter than the other two but so much happens in each episode that it makes up for it. If you liked the other two series than you are guaranteed to love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not as funny as the series where he travels alone, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable but not as funny as the series where he travels alone . would advise to view the series first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Being an avid fan of series 1 and 2, I was very excited to get my hands on series 3, but found it very disappointing. I believe Karl is better on his own, sharing his experience (and moans) with the viewing audience rather than with Warwick. It was also disappointing that Ricky was less involved in this series. I hope Ricky finds a new adventure for Karl that we can enjoy as much as series 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought it was extremely funny but there is only 3 episodes, really would of like to see some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had low expectations but delivered on quality!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With the addition of Warwick Davies to the show, I felt that it might turn Idiot Abroad into a more contrived show than its more organic roots. Apart from a couple of contrived moments the show managed to evolve into something new and fresh without breaking too far away from how it started in the first two series.

Karl seems more comfortable in front of camera. He knows what he wants to do, or not to. He does seem more aware of his whit than usual. Davies seems a pretty genuine character as well. There's some genuinely funny moments too that will have you laughing out loud.

Also, on blue-ray this show looks amazing. The idiot abroad series is by far the best travel show out there right now. Nothing is hidden or covered to making something look good or bad. It is what it is. Thoroughly recommend it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD]
An Idiot Abroad - Series 3 [DVD] by Karl Pilkington (DVD - 2012)
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews