Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 extremely well documented, inspiring stories of the London 2012 Olympics
I saw this film at a preview screening, and wasn't too sure what to expect. If anything, I expected to relive excerpts of the Olympic games, nicely edited with an appropriate soundtrack. But...
From the first scene I was gripped. Prepare yourself to discover the real story of 12 young athletes competing for the first time. This is not just about winning; it's also...
Published 23 months ago by AndreLB

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars First, but not among equals
The official film of the London Olympics follows 12 gold-medal hopefuls on their journey from their homes through qualifying and build-up all the way to their moment on the biggest stage in world sport. All well and good but I'd have preferred lots of highlights across all sports personally. The BBC and C4 collections are well-worth buying if highlights are really what...
Published 5 months ago by AglishWD


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 12 extremely well documented, inspiring stories of the London 2012 Olympics, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film at a preview screening, and wasn't too sure what to expect. If anything, I expected to relive excerpts of the Olympic games, nicely edited with an appropriate soundtrack. But...
From the first scene I was gripped. Prepare yourself to discover the real story of 12 young athletes competing for the first time. This is not just about winning; it's also about losing, about their personal lives, family, hardship, self belief and extreme motivation. I felt connected to each and every one of the starring athletes as we follow them from their hometowns and accompany them through the Olympic journey. It is extremely inspiring and motivational, it very much spoke to me. The score was also perfect, it couldn't have been picked any better.

After having experienced such an important summer of sport, all of a sudden I felt like there wasn't so much to look forward to in that respect. This film allowed me to relive fantastic moments of the Olympic games and put me right back in the mood!

It's a feel good, emotion triggering count of 12 very inspiring athletes competing at the 2012 Olympics. I will buy the DVD not only for myself but also for a lot of friends/family who I know would be touched by the film.

I strongly recommend this film. To everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and really worth a watch, 2 Nov 2012
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
I too was lucky enough to see this at a preview screening, it really gives a unique view of one of the greatest moments in recent British history. I felt it captured what it was like to be there as a fascinated fan in the stands
I was moved by the personal stories from the athletes and their families and I liked the fact it's not all about the medal winners, it really does capture the joy, elation and heartbreak as families and athletes work towards their 2012 Olympic dreams.
I loved the fact I could relive 2012 but in a new way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Moving Documentary On Twelve Amazing Athletes, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary film grips you from the start, with excellent camera work and an engaging storyline. It features twelve amazingly talented athletes and follows their journeys to the London 2012 Olympics; the storyline gives you a real feel of the emotions and challenges faced by the athletes, thanks to superb director of this film. This story gives everyone something to remember about London 2012 and is a credit to everyone who organised the games, competed. Overall, a excellent documentary with a gripping storyline and brilliant camera work. A must watch for anyone interested in sports or the Olympics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Olympics, 7 Nov 2012
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful stories told to bring alive the human side of the first time Olympians. Beautiful for the eye and the soul. A unique way to remember the wonderful Summer Games of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First - an olympics highlights dvd it isn't, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a Olympics highlights DVD this isn't it. If you want to re-feel the raw emotion of the games, understand what drives people to achieve greatness, First is for you. Caroline Rowland is a story teller with the fantastic ability to produce the most incredible emotional responses from her audience - she was part of the UK Olympic bid winning team and produced the video the arguably helped the UK win. First, gives you a taste of that Olympic winning spirit, directed by someone who knows how to win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliving London 2012 from a new perspective, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
I received the DVD of this film as a Christmas present and I love it.

The film follows the stories and olympic fortunes of 14 first time olympians (not 12). The 14 athletes are:
James Ellington (British sprinter)
Laura Trott (British track cyclist)
Katie Taylor (Irish boxer)
Christophe Lemaitre (French sprinter)
Majlinda Kelmendi (Albanian judo player)
Missy Franklin (American swimmer)
John Orozco (American gymnast)
Queen Underwood (American boxer)
Bruno Fratus (Brazilian swimmer)
David Rudisha (Kenyan runner)
Chad Le Clos (South African swimmer)
Heena Sidhu (Indian shooter)
Qiu Bo (Chinese diver)
Caroline Buchanan (Australian BMX cyclist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet film, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
Bought on an olympic high as 2012 was such a great year. Film was a sweet reminder of the spirit of London 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region-free, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's an amazing movie. And it does not say in the product description, but the Blu-ray disc is *region-free* - that's important for the ones who live in South America!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased to have this memento of a great British year Am not best pleased to be required to say more than I want to about the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars First, but not among equals, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD] (DVD)
The official film of the London Olympics follows 12 gold-medal hopefuls on their journey from their homes through qualifying and build-up all the way to their moment on the biggest stage in world sport. All well and good but I'd have preferred lots of highlights across all sports personally. The BBC and C4 collections are well-worth buying if highlights are really what you seek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First - The Official Film of the London 2012 Olympic Games [DVD]
£2.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews