Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (222)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quest continues...
I impatiently counted the days until the release of part two in the trilogy, and having watched it, at first, had a problem with some bits of the film that differ from the book. The biggest change being, as people have said already, Faramir's desire for the Ring, which was unexpected and disappointing but I think required. To have Faramir not attempt to seize the Ring,...
Published on 20 Sep 2003

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new..
The 3 stars rating is for this edition rather than the movie.

For what concerns the movie.. It's GREAT! Worths 10 stars in its extended version, and I would reccomend this to anyone who still haven't seen it.

BUT

This new edition is not adding much to the previous ones. The ONLY difference is this documentary (that you can find elsewhere...
Published on 10 Oct 2006 by Charles Wolf


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quest continues..., 20 Sep 2003
By A Customer
I impatiently counted the days until the release of part two in the trilogy, and having watched it, at first, had a problem with some bits of the film that differ from the book. The biggest change being, as people have said already, Faramir's desire for the Ring, which was unexpected and disappointing but I think required. To have Faramir not attempt to seize the Ring, and yet not go into his mental outlook, which wouldn't have been possible given the time limits of a film, would have been like Faramir saying to Frodo 'Oh whats that in your pocket? Oh its only that 2000 or so year old ring capable of world domination. Keep it.' The only person you can credit having the restraint to ignore the Ring's power without question or explanation is Gandalf, well he's a wizard isn't he? But when faced with the unknown face of Faramir its a different story, therefore to have followed the book strictly in this instance would have undermined the crux of the story which is the Ring's power and the threat to middle-earth from Sauron and basically be a damp squib to the unfolding story line.
I personally didn't feel there was anything else missing from the film (apart from discovering the nazgul weren't mounted on winged-horses - I hadn't read return/king yet, which describes the beasts how they logically would have to look to be capable of flying) and consider it to be a faithful adaptation especially when you consider what a huge under-taking it must have been to plan a film from such complex books, the result is all the more staggering.
At the risk of sounding ungrateful, I suppose it would have been good if the trilogy could have been on TV and be as long as '24' and have a whopping 18hrs at its disposal but hey, thats just being greedy (and breaking it up would spoil it anyway).
At the end of the day you have to accept a book is one thing and a film another, and in this case I don't think it humanly possible for LOTR to have been brought to life more impressively than it has been. The Two Towers is an excellent film like The Fellowship before it and like The Return of The King will be after it.
The special features are really good aswell and make you appreciate the work involved even more, I spent all night watching them all. 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Extended Version, 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Extended Version' might rasie a few eyebrows when one sees how long the extented version is, however the extra 40 minutes added to the theatrical cut actually make the 'The Two Towers' a better film to enjoy as a lord of the rings and/or film fan.
The extra footage, adds depth and suspense to the story, which makes it more gripping, particularly during some of the extended scenes during the battle of Helm's Deep. There is more character evolution, which gives one a more indepth view of the more mystical sides of the main characters (their backgrounds and their power), particularly Aragon and Gandalf.
Furthermore, the extended material gives a larger role to Merry and Pippin, to which many hardcore lord of the rings fans is a great boost to the story. They are a greater aspect of the story and unlike in the theatrical cut, don't just sit in a tree all the film.
What I enjoyed most however, was the realism of the film that the extented edition gave to Tolkein's writings, though true some aspects were not entirly accurate to the 'The Two Towers' book, the extended editon gave one the feeling more that they were in Middle-Earth, than the theatrical cut.
'The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers Extended Version' is an ideal viewing for any lord of the rings fan, but furthermore, it is a great epic to watch of any person, even those who saw the theatrical cut, before reading the book. That is why I give this great extended edition of an epic five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far superior to the theatrical version, 24 Sep 2005
When I watched the Two Towers in the theatres, I was slightly dissapointed. The Fellowship of the Ring was just so good, and after watching the extended version of that film, I couldn't imagine that the Two Towers would raise so high in my esteem, with just fourty minutes of extra material. But it did!
Honestly, there is no need what so ever to watch the theatrical version after you got your hands on this one. Almost every single added scene raises the overall quality of the movie; things are explained that I could never understand after watching the original movie (and I have read the books countless times). Scenes such as the Voromir-Faramir realation in Osgiliath or the Huorns attack on the orcs after Helm's Deep add so much to the storyline and characters of the movie, that I can't understand they were not in the theatrical version.
The DVD-box also contains tons of extra material; documentaries, commentaries and information on the reserach job, that makes your understand the beauty and quality of these movies even more than the movie itself does. In other words: this is a great box, well worth its price. If you are a fan of the Lord of the Rings, there is simply no excuse for not getting your hands on this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Because I have to believe that he can come back...", 28 Nov 2003
I was already in love with the original version of "The Two Towers," but now, this extended version has insured that I will never go back to the original ever again. The additional 40 minutes really brings more out of the movie and transforms it into something magnificent. "Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended Edition)" is a must-have for anyone who was a big fan of the original version but wanted a little more.
Once again, I was amazed with the added footage. Even the smallest differences are able to bring out the most from the film. One of the great things about this edition is that we get to see more of the Hobbits (which the story is supposed to be centered around in the first place). Seeing more of Frodo and Sam, and Merry and Pippin' was a great way to balance the film with action and drama (I'm always more interested in seeing what's going on with the Hobbits, anyway). The smallest differences are very noticeable and tie up some of the loose ends that were presented in the original.
What really stands out to me the most in this film are not the epic battle scenes (although they are extremely fantastic and perfectly executed). No, what stands out to me the most in this movie is the relationship between Frodo and Sam. "The Two Towers" is a much darker film than the first one, and the cinematography does an exceptional job of establishing this. We really begin to see Frodo lose himself more and more to the Ring. We fear it because we know what is has done to Gollum. In fact, one of the most touching scenes (even though this wasn't an additional scene; it appears in the original) is when Frodo tells Sam that he wants to help him. When Sam asks why, Frodo somberly replies, "Because I have to believe that he can come back." This is a crucial moment in the story, because Frodo is slowly beginning to realize what the Ring is doing to him, and if he isn't careful, he will end up exactly like Gollum. Also, if Gollum can't come back, then Frodo knows there's no way he can ever help himself out of the darkness as well. Seeing more of Frodo and Sam really does make the film that much better, or at least that's the way I see it.
The four-disk set is loaded with extras, featuring a number of documentaries. One in particular stands out (I believe it is the second one on the third disk) because it features the director and writers going into great detail to explain why things were changed, moved around, or removed altogether. And I have to admit, a lot of it made sense. There were just some things in the books that would not have translated as well onto film. So, I highly recommend that fans of the books or films check out that particular documentary. Commentaries are also featured as well as a very neat "Easter Egg" on the first disk (hint: look deeper into the "scene selection" page). The movie also looks and sounds incredible, as well.
"Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Special Extended Version)" is the only way to watch this movie. What was once a great movie is made into something even better. This is shaping up to be one of the most incredible epics on film (and boy, do we ever need one with the horrific things happening with the new "Star Wars" movies!). While people may be satisfied with the original version, this new extended version is something that should not be missed. I loved every minute; all 223 of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Not Perfect, 7 Sep 2003
What can I say...? Exciting, entertaining, close to the book, but somewhat lacking. The film itself is brilliant with exciting battles at Helm's Deep and at Isengard and the Ents. The costumes are superb and how you'd imagine them to be. The characters are generally faithful to the book. If you haven't read the book and loved the book you will love the film - but if you loved the book you might be disappointed for these reasons;
Peter Jackson has ruined Faramir - Faramir in the film takes Frodo to Osgiliath (where is that in the book?). In the film Faramir wants to take the ring which I think ruins his character. In the book Faramir is a great example of the men of Westernesse, and one of the more honourable characters.
Theoden doesn't argue with Aragorn so much if at all in the book although he does in the film...but it's understandable in the film as Theoden is frutrated. But in the film (unless I didn't hear him saying it) Aragorn doesn't reveal himself as the King of Gondor and Anarion.
In the film the ents decide not to go to war at the entmoot and it is not until Pippin leads Treebeard past Isengard that the ents go to war. However, in the book they decide to go to war at the entmoot.
Maybe it is in the extended version (available in November), but it doesn't show Saruman creeping about Fangorn forest when Legolas and Aragorn are sleeping and Gimli is keeping watch which I think would make for a tense scene but possilbly a bit irrelevant to the main story.
Finally Eomer is banished from Rohan in the film... but in the book he was just killing invading orc and uruk-hais and was welcome at his uncles court.
These things will only really annoy purists and if you're like me you wont mind these changes but wonder why they were done the way they were.
As for the DVD it has loads of special features (I haven't watched them all yet) but the documentaries are good and there is even a preview/documentary on The Return of the King which will be the best of the trillogy...
To be honest, if you haven't already got this on DVD, I'd wait for the Extended version which looks to be loads better but as a film it is one of the best films that is based on a book in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Any fan must have this, 29 April 2004
By 
If you are a fan of LOTR, then this 4 disc DVD edition is well worthhaving.
The extended version of the film makes the story more complete, andexplains storylines just that little bit more, particulary theFaramir-Boromir-Denathor family connection, which helps to explain partsof ROTK.
I personally thought that the extended version of the film alone was worthbuying it for. Though there are also two other discs of extended features.As with the FOTR EE, this is mainly explaining the conceptual designs,minatures and general behind the scenes things. These can drag on quite alot, they last for quite a few hours.
Other features which ipersonally enjoyed were the filming parts, which had interviews with theactors and actresses, which a lot of people are likely to be interestedin.
The film itself, is of course amazing. Great acting. Great directing.Great set. Great graphics - and of course the great story continues. Thisfilm has everything in my opinion.. there are the characters which you getattached to, there is intense battle scenes, the emotion, and of coursethe wonderful story. The actors did a brilliant job, particulary ViggoMortensen, Elijah Wood, Sean Astin... well actually every singleactor/actress was cast perfectly.
Anyway, what I'm saying is - if you appreciate the Lord of the Rings, thenI would strongly advise buying this edition of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10x better than theatrical version, 19 Dec 2003
By A Customer
My Missus bought me this for my birthday. I was well chuffed as she usually buys me things that get stuck away in boxes. Not this. Apart from needing a very careful procedure to extract Gollum from the box without completely crumpling it to pieces this product has stood up to all my expections, and is easily the best birthday present I’ve had in ages.
The film was wonderful. I’ve seen the theatrical version several times at the cinema and DVD, but this film was much more whole! After my wife and I had completed watching the film, the first words she said were, “that made more sense”. Obviously knowing the story anyway, I was already clear of the plot, but I still know what she meant. Also DTS makes the viewing experience all the better.
Anyway, I’ve now got two extras discs to watch. If they’re as good as the fellowship extras I’m in for another treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The benchmark for all DVDs., 21 Nov 2003
By 
Mr. J. J. Noble "JimJNoble" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Though there is something distinctly despicable about New Line/Entertainment in Video's policy of releasing two DVD versions of 'Rings' three months apart, they have nevertheless delivered a second astonishing collector's edition. The 42 minutes of extra footage worked into the film provide a denser, fuller viewing experience - of particular note are extended comedic scenes featuring Merry and Pippin (one of which pays homage to the controversially-excised characters of Tom Bombadill and Old Man Willow), and more screen-time for Faramir (which allows for a superb flashback scene involving Sean Bean's Boromir). J.R.R Tolkien's dense, rich world is explored further in this version of the film, and the result is immensely satisfying.
The DVD extras are just as dense - four commentary tracks on the movie that further enrich viewers' understanding. The standout track is from director Peter Jackson and writer's Phillipa Boyens and Fran Walsh, which is illuminating and often funny. The supplementary appendices provide further insight into the writing of the book, the adaptation for the screen, as well as translating Tolkien's epic vision to a visual medium, with especially fascinating features on action chereography, the animation of Gollum and the use of 'Bigatures' (get the DVD and you'll see what I mean!)
'The Two Towers' is an essential DVD in that it has a long shelf-life - a film well worth repeated viewing, with four extremely entertaining commentary tracks, and many hours of enlightening features. The sheer wealth of material make the thirty-odd quid price of the DVD seem like spare change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't wait - buy now!, 19 Nov 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading some of the reviews on Amazon, I sometimes feel that I have watched a different film, and indeed read a different book. Peter Jackson has done a wonderful job on the adaptation of Lord Of The Rings, and the trilogy will stand the test of time to become a defining moment in movie history. All of you out there who are griping about petty differences between the book and the films should be on your knees thanking God that Hollywood didn't get their hands on the project. (i.e. U571, Enigma etc. Need I say more? Arnie as Aragorn? Bruce Willis as Legolas? Pamela Anderson as Arwen perhaps?) I've read the book countless times in my 48 years, and have no complaints. And to answer one reviewer - Gollum is perfect. Read the book again. We SHOULD feel pity for this poor tortured soul, as Frodo does, and understand that it is the power of the ring which has made him this way, not any inner badness. The scenes where Gollum is at war with his former self are some of the many highlights of this fantastic film. The casting is perfection, the costumes and armour are excellent and the locations - my God - New Zealand is so beautiful!! Mr Jackson and his team have done one awesome job on this incredibly difficult project.
I have bought the first two parts of the trilogy in their boxed presentation form, and have not been disappointed. Fellowship was great, but Two Towers was outstanding. The statuette of Gollum is a work of art, and the boxed bonus DVD of the creation of Gollum was an unexpected extra which makes fascinating viewing.
Whatever you do, be sure to buy the extended versions of these movies. They are more much complete. Fellowship was much improved by putting back the gift presentations by Galadriel, and Two Towers benefits greatly by having a more complete ending than the cinema version.
I can't wait for next November and the release of the final boxed DVD set of The Return Of The King. Can I place my order now please Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential purchase, 29 Mar 2004
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Almost 3/4 of an hour of extended scenes - some brief and subtle, others surprisingly important, was an absolute delight and brought Jackson's masterpiece even closer to Tolkien's. The commentary offers many great insights and is often genuinely amusing. The bonus disk and book, devoted to the creation of Gollum, is utterly fascinating in its own right. The Gollum statuette is beautifully detailed, satisfyingly heavy and now has pride of place in a display cabinet in my lounge!
What else is there to say about the movie itself that hasn't already been stated? Surely THE most spectacular battle scene ever filmed vies for your attention with the most stunning and convincing non-human creature ever to grace the big screen! Gollum is utterly believable and the alternating pity, tragedy and horror that Tolkien wished us to feel, is conjured forth with astonishing skill by Jackson. Sumptious, sweeping landscapes and not a duff piece of acting in sight complete this marvellous movie experience.
This edition is SO much better than the 2-disk theatrical version, that it is indispensible to the Tolkien fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1306780)

This product

The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (Extended Edition) [Blu-ray] [2002]
8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews